Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
will not bootup completely (Solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JROCK2004
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 450
Location: PA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:52 pm    Post subject: will not bootup completely (Solved) Reply with quote

Not sure if this is a kernel error or what. During boot up I get grub and select it. It starts the process and I get this::

ERROR: Problem starting needed services/ "netmount" was not started

then I get this after a few lines

INIT: ID "c1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: ID "c2" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: ID "c3" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: ID "c4" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: ID "c5" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: ID "c6" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: no more processes left in this runlevel
INIT: ID "c1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: ID "c2" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: ID "c3" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: ID "c4" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: ID "c5" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: ID "c6" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes


Any ideas on what this could be, thanks?


Last edited by JROCK2004 on Tue Mar 29, 2005 4:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nard`
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I doubt it's to do with the kernel. What happens is the boot loader loads the kernel, the kernel does it's stuff and then runs a program called INIT. INIT then handles loading things from there (including running Gentoo RC scripts). Once INIT has finished that it runs programs for each run level specified in /etc/inittab. By default that's agetty. Can you post output of /etc/inittab (mount it from LiveCD) and also, you wouldn't happen to be using serial ports or anything else nonstandard for your consoles would you?

Oh, and what arch is it? (x86, amd64, sparc, etc)

and can you actually login to the system, or does it just never launch agetty?
_________________
Programming is the process of putting bugs in.
Debugging is the process of attempting to take bugs out, doing an ugly hack, hitting your computer, then claiming insurance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JROCK2004
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 450
Location: PA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok first what I am going to do is basically go thru the startup here and list the errors I am getting:

Starting devfsd....
/sbin/rc: line 271: /sbin/devfsd: No such file or directory !!

fsck.ext2: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/hda1
/dev/hda1:
The superblock could not be read or does not describe correct ext2 file system.

now I do not know if this is what is causing all the problems or what. I hit control D and

Some local filesystems failed to mount

then I get to the error descibed above.

No I cannot log in

I have a pentium 4

I do not have anything serial or parallel plugged into the system

going back the the livecd

With what I have given should I type out all of my inittab? I am on a different pc. My other pc has gentoo on it. Let me know and I will type it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JROCK2004
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 450
Location: PA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok I emerge devfsd and now I get to login prompt. There are some other things that popup but I will work on them. thanks for the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2915
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Addendum to those who have this problem:

You can also put "udev" on the line that specifies your kernel to load in grub.conf.

The line would look similar to this (replace other kernel options with your own, except for the part in bold blue letters):
Quote:
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r4 root=/dev/ram0 init=linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda3 vga=0x317 splash=verbose video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1024x768-32@85 udev

_________________
Murphy's Law of Gentoo installation: If a compile can fail, it will.

MacGillicuddy's Corollary: At the most inopportune time.

Please search and read the FAQs before posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please see https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-315935.html

Moved from Installing Gentoo.
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum