Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
install finished, problem on 1st boot [solved!]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
elusive-dragon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 39
Location: jax, fl

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 4:28 am    Post subject: install finished, problem on 1st boot [solved!] Reply with quote

heres my setup 1st

hda1 - boot
hda2 - swap
hda3 - * (everything else!)

ive got an ide 10gb ide hard drive, 256mb ram, athlon xp, gentoo 2005 disks to install

fresh/1st install, rebooted for first time and this is the error i get:

>> Mounting filesystems....
>> Mount: Mounting devfs on /dev failed: no such device
>> Error opening file: ".devfsd" No such file or directory

>> Determining root device...
>> Block device /dev/hda3 is not a valid root device
>> The root block device is unspecified or not detected


any thoughts on what i can do? i did some reading on devfs & devfsd but it hasnt helped me yet because im still such a newb. just looking for some tips & advice if anyone has it.

thanks in advance :D
_________________
Mike - elusive-dragon

"a waste is a terrible thing to mind"

my system:
Gentoo box
Athlon Xp 2000
512mb pc 133 ram
10gb ide hard drive
120gb Samsung ide drive
3dfx agp video card
built in NIC
Turtle Beach 5.1 USB sound


Last edited by elusive-dragon on Thu Mar 31, 2005 4:44 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fangorn
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 1886

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

This sounds like a known issue to me. I heard the 2005.0 is using UDEV as standard. In former releases you had to migrate from devfs if you wanted udev (there is still a guide on that). Didn't try the 2005.0 yet (will this Weekend), so I don't know how they implemented UDEV. One way to solve your problem should be to
Code:
 emerge devfs
. But I don't think that's the way preferred by the developers :?

fangorn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JROCK2004
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 450
Location: PA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

basically what you will have to do is go back and boot to livecd and get to a prompt. When there follow this:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-315750.html
Then do as in previous post:
Code:

emerge devfsd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weyhan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JROCK2004 wrote:
basically what you will have to do is go back and boot to livecd and get to a prompt. When there follow this:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-315750.html
Then do as in previous post:
Code:

emerge devfsd
Or just add "udev" in the kernel options. There is a thread on this already at here.

BTW, you did a "genkernel --udev all" right?
_________________
Han.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elusive-dragon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 39
Location: jax, fl

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm going to go add the udev into lilo.conf

problem im having now is trying to chroot back into my box lol trying what i originally did from instructions but its not working...is it different now that everything is installed?

- and yes i used --udev all

im sure just adding udev to my lilo.conf will fix my problem but as stated above i cant chroot back in, still learning :oops:
_________________
Mike - elusive-dragon

"a waste is a terrible thing to mind"

my system:
Gentoo box
Athlon Xp 2000
512mb pc 133 ram
10gb ide hard drive
120gb Samsung ide drive
3dfx agp video card
built in NIC
Turtle Beach 5.1 USB sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weyhan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

elusive-dragon wrote:
hmm going to go add the udev into lilo.conf

problem im having now is trying to chroot back into my box lol trying what i originally did from instructions but its not working...is it different now that everything is installed?

- and yes i used --udev all

im sure just adding udev to my lilo.conf will fix my problem but as stated above i cant chroot back in, still learning :oops:

Don't need boot from the installcd. Just select the gentoo entry when you are at the lilo screen during boot and type " udev" should do the trick. :wink:

When you have successfully booted into your new and shiny gentoo box, then add it in to your lilo.conf and run lilo again.

HTH
_________________
Han.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elusive-dragon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 39
Location: jax, fl

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

couple of other questions, and thanks for the help so far!

i was able to get into a prompt, no GUI yet though.

- my lilo.conf 1st line says ...

boot=/dev/hda <-- should that be hda1? hda1 was setup as my boot

- where do i add "udev"? is it after this....

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 <--- how do i insert udev? just simply type it? no dashes etc...?

- lastly do i have to unemerge devfs & devfsd?

thanks all!!!
_________________
Mike - elusive-dragon

"a waste is a terrible thing to mind"

my system:
Gentoo box
Athlon Xp 2000
512mb pc 133 ram
10gb ide hard drive
120gb Samsung ide drive
3dfx agp video card
built in NIC
Turtle Beach 5.1 USB sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2915
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

elusive-dragon wrote:
i was able to get into a prompt, no GUI yet though.

Yipee. :D
elusive-dragon wrote:
- my lilo.conf 1st line says ...

boot=/dev/hda <-- should that be hda1? hda1 was setup as my boot

No, "/dev/hda" tells lilo to load from the boot sector of /dev/hda.
elusive-dragon wrote:
- where do i add "udev"? is it after this....

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 <--- how do i insert udev? just simply type it? no dashes etc...?

Can't be of help here, as I am unfamiliar with lilo options.
elusive-dragon wrote:
- lastly do i have to unemerge devfs & devfsd?

Unmerge devfsd only after your system is guaranteed to boot correctly.
_________________
Murphy's Law of Gentoo installation: If a compile can fail, it will.

MacGillicuddy's Corollary: At the most inopportune time.

Please search and read the FAQs before posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elusive-dragon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 39
Location: jax, fl

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ive got it!

i just tried it lol if it didnt work i would fix it, i LOVE gentoo! this thing is making me work lol

im emerging KDE right now, then will start unpacking other things i want to use. I love the fact I get to pick what I want installed on my system from the first moment....I dont have to have 4 different GUI's installed every time that I never use!! I am fond of KDE so thats all im going to load.
_________________
Mike - elusive-dragon

"a waste is a terrible thing to mind"

my system:
Gentoo box
Athlon Xp 2000
512mb pc 133 ram
10gb ide hard drive
120gb Samsung ide drive
3dfx agp video card
built in NIC
Turtle Beach 5.1 USB sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2915
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

elusive-dragon wrote:
im emerging KDE right now, then will start unpacking other things i want to use. I love the fact I get to pick what I want installed on my system from the first moment....I dont have to have 4 different GUI's installed every time that I never use!! I am fond of KDE so thats all im going to load.

Remember to use your USE flags wisely. ;)
_________________
Murphy's Law of Gentoo installation: If a compile can fail, it will.

MacGillicuddy's Corollary: At the most inopportune time.

Please search and read the FAQs before posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TuffSoundinName
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Mar 2005
Posts: 102
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, after the kernel options, go to a new line and type
Code:
append="udev"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weyhan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

elusive-dragon wrote:
couple of other questions, and thanks for the help so far!

i was able to get into a prompt, no GUI yet though.

That's the default. :wink:
elusive-dragon wrote:
- my lilo.conf 1st line says ...

boot=/dev/hda <-- should that be hda1? hda1 was setup as my boot

Leave that alone. It means that you want the boot info to be writen in the master boot record in your first hardisk on the first IDE channel.
elusive-dragon wrote:
- where do i add "udev"? is it after this....

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 <--- how do i insert udev? just simply type it? no dashes etc...?

Guys, I hate to say this but you should really read the handbook more closely. From the handbook:
Code:
If you need to pass any additional options to the kernel, add an append statement to the section. As an example, we add the video statement to enable framebuffer:

So in your case find the append line and add udev there. e.g:
--> append="append="init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev"
elusive-dragon wrote:
- lastly do i have to unemerge devfs & devfsd?

thanks all!!!

Because you can boot with the kernel option trick at lilo screen, just go ahead and umerge it. Should not make a difference.
_________________
Han.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_dA_CyANIDe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 196
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:02 pm    Post subject: Cannot mount ROOT on first reboot 2005.0 Reply with quote

Hello,

I have compiled 2.6.11-r4 kernel with genkernel --udev all option.
I have also added udev into grub > menu.lst., but still can't mount root. :(

On 2004.3 all worked fine..but now... :evil:

>> Mounting filesystems....
>> Starting udev...
>> Determining root device...
>> Block device /dev/sdc2 is not a valid root device
>> The root block device is unspecified or not detected
boot()::

THX 4 SOLUTION .. :)
_________________
AMD64 X2 3800+, 1GB RAM, Gigabyte GF7600
-----
Firewalls cannot block stupidity!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2915
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:11 am    Post subject: Re: Cannot mount ROOT on first reboot 2005.0 Reply with quote

_dA_CyANIDe wrote:
Hello,

I have compiled 2.6.11-r4 kernel with genkernel --udev all option.
I have also added udev into grub > menu.lst., but still can't mount root. :(

On 2004.3 all worked fine..but now... :evil:

>> Mounting filesystems....
>> Starting udev...
>> Determining root device...
>> Block device /dev/sdc2 is not a valid root device
>> The root block device is unspecified or not detected
boot()::

THX 4 SOLUTION .. :)

Show us your grub.conf.

Reboot from liveCD and post it to us using the links web browser.
_________________
Murphy's Law of Gentoo installation: If a compile can fail, it will.

MacGillicuddy's Corollary: At the most inopportune time.

Please search and read the FAQs before posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2915
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

elusive-dragon wrote:
ive got it!

Please insert [SOLVED] into the title of your first post in this topic. :)
_________________
Murphy's Law of Gentoo installation: If a compile can fail, it will.

MacGillicuddy's Corollary: At the most inopportune time.

Please search and read the FAQs before posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elusive-dragon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 39
Location: jax, fl

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for all the help, tips & info.

about the append, yeah i missed that while reading...theres a lot too read though i swear ive been taking my time!!

totally up and running now ive been emerging things all day, its cool as hell.

only things ive gotta do now is get my monitor & vid card working properly, max settings are like 600x400 or something lol so its kinda small going to read up on that
_________________
Mike - elusive-dragon

"a waste is a terrible thing to mind"

my system:
Gentoo box
Athlon Xp 2000
512mb pc 133 ram
10gb ide hard drive
120gb Samsung ide drive
3dfx agp video card
built in NIC
Turtle Beach 5.1 USB sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weyhan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 6:48 am    Post subject: Re: Cannot mount ROOT on first reboot 2005.0 Reply with quote

_dA_CyANIDe wrote:
...
>> Block device /dev/sdc2 is not a valid root device
>> The root block device is unspecified or not detected
boot()::
...

Humm... Seems like most of the problem after adding udev to the kernel option has something to do with sata. I think I have read somewhere that genkernel don't handle sata well. Not sure what I can suggest.
_________________
Han.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_dA_CyANIDe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 196
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 7:22 am    Post subject: Re: Cannot mount ROOT on first reboot 2005.0 Reply with quote

weyhan wrote:
_dA_CyANIDe wrote:
...
>> Block device /dev/sdc2 is not a valid root device
>> The root block device is unspecified or not detected
boot()::
...

Humm... Seems like most of the problem after adding udev to the kernel option has something to do with sata. I think I have read somewhere that genkernel don't handle sata well. Not sure what I can suggest.


I have'n got SATA, but ADAPTEC AIC7XXX SCSI
_________________
AMD64 X2 3800+, 1GB RAM, Gigabyte GF7600
-----
Firewalls cannot block stupidity!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weyhan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 7:31 am    Post subject: Re: Cannot mount ROOT on first reboot 2005.0 Reply with quote

_dA_CyANIDe wrote:
...

I have'n got SATA, but ADAPTEC AIC7XXX SCSI
Oh! In that case, go back in with your installcd and run genkernel again. This time:
Code:
genkernel --udev --menuconfig all
Then make sure you have AIC7XXX driver compiled into the kernel and not as a module. I believe scsi drivers are compiled as modules by default.

I don't have access to a linux machine now so I can't tell you exactly where is this option. From memory, it should be under:
device driver --> scsi something --> low level device.

So good luck. :wink:
_________________
Han.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weyhan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wait a minute!! I was not thinking clearly just now. I just realized that you are on genkernel and using initrd to boot. So, _dA_CyANIDe, I think you can pass a 'doscsi' option during boot to solve your problem. :wink:
_________________
Han.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_dA_CyANIDe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 196
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

weyhan wrote:
Wait a minute!! I was not thinking clearly just now. I just realized that you are on genkernel and using initrd to boot. So, _dA_CyANIDe, I think you can pass a 'doscsi' option during boot to solve your problem. :wink:


THX A LOT! :lol:
_________________
AMD64 X2 3800+, 1GB RAM, Gigabyte GF7600
-----
Firewalls cannot block stupidity!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please see https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-315935.html

Moved from Installing Gentoo.
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum