Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
G4 - Universal ISO - Update
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
skibtz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:19 pm    Post subject: G4 - Universal ISO - Update Reply with quote

Ok - getting somewhere

tried another hdd and it is not found - neither is the original - they both work fine in other boxes

what i have when i mac-fdisk is

hda1 - apple drive (1k)
hda2 - cdrom

i have realised that i do no get the blue and white boot screen where you can select between g3, g4 and g5 when you boot from the cd

my monitor does not come on during this period - i have an ati rage 128 card in the g4 desktop - so the 150 seconds passes and g4 is selected by default - good i suppose but i have a feeling i should really be seeing this!!! ;)

so with no hdd being detected it mounts the cdrom and works from there explaing why i cant do nought as far as partitions are concerned

so now it comes down to the hdd not being seen by gentoo

clearly any help in removing this painful problem will be greatly appreciated

many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pylon
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 17 Jan 2003
Posts: 279
Location: Cologne

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What machine are you using? Is the harddisk attached via SCSI (like on some old PowerMacs)?

The G4-kernel that is used after 15 seconds is a combined G3 and G4 kernel. So it works on both machines (and G3 or the -SMP options are just a link to the G3G4-kernel).

If you are good in typing blindly, you can enter "G4 video=atyfb:1024x768-32@60" to select another framebuffer driver.

Back to the harddrive problem: Try to find out your hdd-controler (lspci) and probably mount some more modules manually (a complete list of modules could be shown with modprobe -l).
_________________
hacking is not a crime
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skibtz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi - thanks for the response

I am using a PowerMac G4 Tower - 400mhz single processor

I have a 40gb Maxtor DiamondMax Plus B ATA/133 40gb HDD

Ok, having used lspci i get :

0000:00:00.0 - Host Bridge
0000:00:0d.0 - PCI Bridge
0000:00:10.0 - VGA - ATI Rage 128
0000:01:00.0 - Firewire
0000:01:01.0 - IDE Interface Silicon Image (formerly CMD Technologies) PCI0646
0000:01:05.0 - Class FF00 : Apple Computers Inc.
0000:01:06.0 - USB Controller

I assume that the PCI0646 is some kind of EDIE controller?

:oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
froog
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem with 2006.0, you need to load the 'cmd64x' module.

Code:
modprobe cmd64x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum