Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Network problem after reboot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aradu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 2:05 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Network problem after reboot Reply with quote

I really hate making this thread after finding so many other threads about this subject, but I really can't get internet to work, none of the other threads helped me.

I downloaded the minmal cd (~50 mb/LiveCD) and followed the handbook exactly (2 times!) and I copied resolv.conf (hence the spelling, no mistake:P) from /etc/resolv.conf to /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf before I chroot'ed into /mnt/gentoo.

I could ping www.google.com perfectly on the CD, I could also download all files I needed for the installation and run emerge --sync but not after I was done with the installation and rebooted.

In my /etc/conf.d/net I have only iface_eth0="dhcp".

One thing I noted on the startup of gentoo was this error message: 'ERROR: Problem starting needed services. "netmount" was not started.'

2005.0, Kernel: 2.6.11-r5

Code:
resolv.conf

domain home
nameserver 195.67.199.27
nameserver 195.67.199.28
search


Thanks in advance.


Last edited by aradu on Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aradu,

The kernel module you need for eth0 is not loaded but it looks like everything else is OK.
Boot the liveCD and run lsmod. Write down the names of the modules that are listed.
One is for your network.
Boot normally, run lsmod again and cross of your list, any that appear.
For the remainder, do
Code:
modprobe <module name>
ifconfig

When ifconfig appears, you have found your Ethernet module.
Do
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
to make it work.
Add the module name to /etc/modules.autoload.d/kern.... to make the module load at boot.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aradu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reply NeddySeagoon.

I did what you wrote and these two modules showed up when I booted normally that wasn't on the list on the LiveCD:

nvidia
eth1394

ifconfig did not appear but I tested modprobing both of these two, but I guess none works. I tried putting eth1394 in the autoloader but all it says on the startup is:

* Bringing eth0 up via DHCP... [ !! ]

Am I doing something wrong or could it be another module I need to load? What name does this module usually have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aradu,

You need to get rid of eth1394, thats Ethernet over firewire. Almost nobody wants that.

You were looking for modules loaded by the liveCD but not by your own system, rather than the other way round, which is what you wrote. However, if eth1394 is getting eth0, you may also have an eth1, which will be your real network. Its not being started just now though.

What interfaces does
Code:
ifconfig
show ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aradu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, I misunderstood a bit there but those two modules I listed above was the only that differed from the LiveCD. All modules that were loaded on the LiveCD were loaded on the normal boot, and additionally two.

I did ifconfig for eth0 and eth1, here's the result:

Code:
# ifconfig

lo
Link encap: Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
etc.... no errors


Code:
# ifconfig eth0
eth0
Link encap: UNSPEC HWaddr 00-...............................................
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU ............
etc.....no errors


Code:
# ifconfig eth1
eth1
Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr 00..........................................
BROADCAST MULTICAST..........
etc...no errors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Sep 2002
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From what I remember, the documentation asks us to 'emerge dhcpcd' if we want our machines to be DHCP clients (step 9.e. Networking Tools). Not sure if this would apply to you or if you already did it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aradu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm pretty sure I installed dhcpcd during the installation. If I run a whereis on dhcpcd it finds it in: /sbin/dhcpcd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aradu,

It looks like your eth0 is eth1394 and your eth1 is the real one.
Follow your modules tree through /lib/modules/<kernel_ver>/... and find the module called eth1394.ko
Rename it to say, eth1394.ko.useless.

When you reboot it should all Just Work.
Remove the Firewire Configuration option for eth1394 with make menuconfig, so your next kernel build works too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aradu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if something is working against me today but in /lib/modules/2.6.11-gentoo-r5/ there are no .ko-files at all. This is what I found in there:

build, kernel, modules.alias, modules.ccwmap, modules.dep, modules.ieee1394map, modules.inputmap, modules.isapnpmap and a few more.

Is it the modules.ieee1394map file I need to change because I found this line in that file:

eth1394 0x00000000c 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000e 0x00000001 (not correct numbers)

I don't know, I'm just guessing. Maybe it's time to give up soon. I'm on the tenth hour of installing Gentoo now.:P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aradu,

I didn't mean /lib/modules/2.6.11-gentoo-r5/ exactly but in that directory tree somewhere, probably down the kernel branch
(and one of its sub branches and so on)

Try
Code:
modprobe -l | less
so that you can see the full path and be able to scroll through it.

edit: Give Up ????? Never.
Take a break, maybe.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aradu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon: Thanks a lot for your help! Renaming eth1394.ko made everything work. I can ping just fine now and emerge --sync works perfectly too. I would never have solved this without your help, so thanks a lot. ;)

And if I was about to give up, I would have done so way earlier. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3343

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should be lucky Neddy is here, he is the saviour of many gentoo users
_________________
"Sex: breakfast of champions" - James Hunt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhohan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this also worked for me, thanks neddy.

man, i get so pissed at linux, but when i fix it, i feel soo good :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MajorNewby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Philly, PA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, this thread looks like the closest thing to my problem, so rather than start a new thread........

I have been trying to install Gentoo (on and off) for Over One Year. Yeah, over a year... I don't want to hear any whining about a "trying for a few hours" anymore! :? Anyway, on to the current problem...

I boot from the 2005.0 Live CD, my internet works... I can ping Yahoo and all my favorite sites, etc. Yay for me. Only, when I boot from the install, no dice. ifconfig reveals that lo is up, but no eth0. I have a D-Link DGE-530T 10/100/100Mbps Gigabit PCI Adapter... it works fine with the LiveCD, but no dice on my install.

OK, now let me tell you how many times I've tried TODAY to get this thing running (since 4:00 this morning): 4

I tried with genkernel, and 3 times with manual config... tried installing the driver as a module and built into the kernel. Can't figure out why it's not working. Following the advice in some other threads, I did a 'lsmod' and wrote down the modules loaded for the LiveCD, then went back and tried to load them... no dice, it changed nothing.

I'm really stumped here... my previous attempts at installing Gentoo (prior to the 2004.x LiveCDs) were thwarted by a failure to have AGP access (Quake III and mods at 10 fps really sucks) and I tried to fix that for months on end. I finally had a Windows catastophic crash (there's a big surprise, eh?) so I had to reformat the Gentoo drive for Windows (it was faster and why save something that isn't working?). Anyway, I started messing with 2004.3 and still had problems with AGP. I replaced my motherboard, then had a failure of ethernet card.

Replaced motherboard fixed AGP problem, but where I previously had no problems with internet access after the install, I've grown QUITE FRUSTRATED in trying to get this to work. I know know enough about Gentoo to make me retarded when it comes to other Linux flavors (yeah, I tried others and came nowhere near successful... and "emerge" doesn't work with the other flavors!! LOL).

So, basically, I'm begging for help here... BEGGING - PLEASE!!! I have the 2005.0 Live CDs, installing from Stage3 for Athlon XP architecture, VIA chipset (KT400) and loaded any and all suspect modules through autoload.d/kernel-2.6

skge
slhc
via-rhine
ne2k-pci

While I thought ONE of these would work for my card, none of them do anything for me. Please, if anyone can help this desperate n00b, I beg of you to do so. Thanks.
_________________
I am a n00b to Linux - if I ask a stupid question, it's OK to laugh at me - when you finish laughing, an answer would be greatly appreciated!!

I am Linux User #357498! Woohoo!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MajorNewby,

Boot the liveCD, run lspci and post the Ethernet lines so we can see what chipset(s) you have.
If its easier, post the output of lsmod when the network is up.
There is something up here
Quote:
D-Link DGE-530T 10/100/100Mbps Gigabit PCI
Gigabit means 1000Mbps
Gigabit cards have their own submenu.
You want the sk98lin module, which is called
Code:
 Marvell Yukon Chipset / SysKonnect SK-98xx Support
in make menuconfig
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MajorNewby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Philly, PA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neddy,

Your title by your avatar should immediately be changed to GURU! You are the man! I found the kernel module for " Marvell Yukon Chipset / SysKonnect SK-98xx Support" and set it for module, rebuilt the kernel, rebooted and "modpobe sk98lin" and voila!

Dude, you're awesome.... can't tell you how much I appreciate that little bit of info to get me going again... hell, my WIFE thanks you!! LOL... Yeah, I've been a bit moody today not being able to figure it out. Thanks again!!
_________________
I am a n00b to Linux - if I ask a stupid question, it's OK to laugh at me - when you finish laughing, an answer would be greatly appreciated!!

I am Linux User #357498! Woohoo!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3343

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neddy is beyond guru
_________________
"Sex: breakfast of champions" - James Hunt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MajorNewby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Philly, PA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another quick "Thank You" to Neddy for his help... this message brought to you via KDE in Gentoo install... woohoo!!!!! :lol:
_________________
I am a n00b to Linux - if I ask a stupid question, it's OK to laugh at me - when you finish laughing, an answer would be greatly appreciated!!

I am Linux User #357498! Woohoo!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blackdog
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Location: Wake Forest

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This message was left blank...
_________________
There's no place like /home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads in favour of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-332982.html
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum