Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
x86 in amd64?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bague
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:31 pm    Post subject: x86 in amd64? Reply with quote

Ok, I am going to install Gnetoo again after a long time. I now have an AMD64 rather than just a basic x86. Now, I would like the additional support for amd64, but I don't want to give up all x86 support wither (as many things still have yet to support amd64). Should I donload the amd64 cd or just the x86 one? Also, how can I set it up so that it defaults amd64, but falls back to x86 if amd64 is not available?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avieth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not that adept at gentoo, but I have an amd64 system, and It works better than an x86 system. Who needs x86 support when you've got an x86_64 processor? Thats like running all your apps in WINE.

But if you're that desperate check www.gentoo-portage.org and search for the app you want. If the ebuild have amd64 beside it then you're in luck, you can just emerge it for your system and it'll be 64-bit. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spielc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 452

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well some things like games can't be run in plain 64bit mode atm... that's why you should do a multilib installation (no need to worry about that when you use a 2005.0-live-cd as the standard profile FORCES multilib now), when you need to use some 32bit apps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
94megaheartz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 13
Location: Italy - Bologna/Como/Lecco

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got a x86_64 installation from stage1 and it works fine (some trouble anyway but.... I think I'm just inesperienced!).

Looking in the forum I found ALOT of guys asking for an hybrid system like you said. For what I know is impossible! But you can do a workaround making a double install ( x86_64 as main and x86 chroot-ed ). So you can emerge your not-avalaible-yet ebuild into the chroot-ed system.

I don't know if it work cause I haven't do it (yet).

Maybe you'll find sme information at that FAQ post: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-221361.html

See Ya!

MOD EDIT: Link corrected.
Was: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-221361.html.
Is: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-221361.html
-- Deathwing00

_________________
The answer is inside you...
...and it is probably wrong!

{...keep learning...}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4087
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

94megaheartz wrote:

Maybe you'll find sme information at that FAQ post: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-221361.html


Moved to Duplicate Threads in favor of that one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum