Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
yaboot does not start on PPC from 2005.0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chicconico
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:35 am    Post subject: yaboot does not start on PPC from 2005.0 Reply with quote

Hi there,
yaboot won't start on my iMac after installation, whatever I do. All I get is a blank screen. Since I do not have internet access, I just type some info down.

Device: iMac 233, Rev A; Iso CD version 2005.0

With mac-fdisk I made the partitions
/dev/hda1 Apple partition map
/dev/hda2 new_world bootblock
/dev/hda3 apple_HFS (nothing on though)
/dev/hda4 linux_swap
/dev/hda5 linux

file system on /dev/hda is xfs, mkofboot puts HFS on /dev/hda2
file utility emerged is XFSprogs, systemlogger syslog-ng

In yaboot.config I put "boot=/dev/hda2", "device=hd:", "partition=5". That should do it to get at least an initial screen?
Mkofboot and ybin work without any complaints. I am at my wits ends.

Any advice?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does yaboot actually load the kernel image ??? If so, then it should be related to ther kernel itself, not yaboot.
Maybe you dont have the needed radeon frambuffer module compiled in, i believe its mandatory.

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chicconico
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="gringo"]Does yaboot actually load the kernel image ??? No, the issue is that the initial screen, where you see the startup options, does not load. The first and only thing I see is an entirely blank screen and then I have to pull the plug.[/quote]

If so, then it should be related to ther kernel itself, not yaboot.
[quote="Maybe you dont have the needed radeon frambuffer module compiled in, i believe its mandatory. "[/quote] I do not know what that is, could you specify?

cheers[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mil0t
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you make "mkfoboot -v" after you configured your yaboot.config?.

Mkfoboot -v makes bootable your Apple_Bootstrap partition, so without that command Yaboot cannot start.


//mil0t
_________________
emerge --pretend love | genlop --pretend
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chicconico
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="mil0t"]Did you make "mkfoboot -v" after you configured your yaboot.config?.

Mkfoboot -v makes bootable your Apple_Bootstrap partition, so without that command Yaboot cannot start.


//mil0t[/quote]

Oh yes, definitely I did. It places the HFS filesystem (it used to be ext2 on the 2004.1 & 2 iso, I wonder why this change was made). Based on painful experience[/quote] I will never forget this again.[quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chicconico
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 12:35 pm    Post subject: Re: yaboot does not start on PPC from 2005.0 Reply with quote

[quote="chicconico"]
yaboot won't start on my iMac after installation, whatever I do. All I get is a blank screen. Since I do not have internet access, I just type some info down.

Device: iMac 233, Rev A; Iso CD version 2005.0

Nobody else having a PPC and using the 2005.0 iso CD experiencing this trouble?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuna
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 485
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yaboot works fine for me. maybe "ybin -v" yields some information about possible errors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chicconico
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Tuna"]yaboot works fine for me. maybe "ybin -v" yields some information about possible errors?[/quote]

ybin -v just works smoothly! All that blessing etc.

What hardware are you using? Can you post your partitition table and yaboot.conf ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum