Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VMWare wont work after configure.pl
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thedarkestlight
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Hell

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 8:05 am    Post subject: VMWare wont work after configure.pl Reply with quote

i've tried running vmware and it said i have to run vmware-configure.pl and after i did that, it still said i have to run vmware-configure.pl . does anyone know how to fix this?

Code:
VMware Workstation is installed, but it has not been (correctly) configured for your running kernel.  To (re-)configure it, your system administrator must find and run "vmware-config.pl".  For more information, please read the VMware Workstation documentation.

vmware-workstation-4.5.2.8848-r6

kernel:
linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r4

thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kitano
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 228
Location: Munich, Germany, Europe, Earth

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi!

do you have a proper symlink from /usr/src/linux to your kernel-sources' path (should be /usr/src/linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r4/)?

it has to know where to install the modules.

and what does vmware-config.pl output?

kitano
_________________
->searched for a gentoo penguin ->alienated it with "find edges", "saturation", "photocopy" ->encoded quicktime from still ->played with aaxine ->screenshotted ->made it my avatar

only in case you were going to ask what it is...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thedarkestlight
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Hell

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kitano wrote:
hi!

do you have a proper symlink from /usr/src/linux to your kernel-sources' path (should be /usr/src/linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r4/)?

it has to know where to install the modules.

and what does vmware-config.pl output?

kitano


$ ls -l /usr/src
total 1
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 22 Mar 29 21:53 linux -> linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r4
drwxr-xr-x 19 root root 1280 Apr 19 22:08 linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r4


vmware-config.pl asks a bunch of questions and most of them i left default. i did compile my own modules. and at the end, it said that it successfully configured vmware for my kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasvk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 597

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me it worked to first say "no" to all questions (like if you want network, filesystem access, etc). Then I tried again and VMWare started. Then I just closed VMWare, did the config thing again but now how I wanted it to be, and it worked. Don't know why and if it'll work with you... but hey, you can give it a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catkfr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once you've run the config script, it will launch the vmware services but not correctly. In order to solve this, run this and you should be ok:
Code:
/etc/vmware/init.d/vmware stop
rm /etc/vmware/not_configured
/etc/init.d/vmware start
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thedarkestlight
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Hell

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

catkfr wrote:
Once you've run the config script, it will launch the vmware services but not correctly. In order to solve this, run this and you should be ok:
Code:
/etc/vmware/init.d/vmware stop
rm /etc/vmware/not_configured
/etc/init.d/vmware start


thanks that worked. :D

another question/problem:

i stuck a real authentic bootable windowsXP install cd in /dev/cdrom but vmware did not boot from that cd. i'm thinking it may have something to do with the error messages i get about my kernel being newer than the latest supported kernel version by vmware.

has anyone gotten this to work?

how should i get this installed?
i got the vm to see the cd drive, but it does not boot from it so it tries to network boot all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pht3k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sweet that worked for me too :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lotw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Location: Palmdale

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thedarkestlight wrote:
catkfr wrote:
Once you've run the config script, it will launch the vmware services but not correctly. In order to solve this, run this and you should be ok:
Code:
/etc/vmware/init.d/vmware stop
rm /etc/vmware/not_configured
/etc/init.d/vmware start


thanks that worked. :D

another question/problem:

i stuck a real authentic bootable windowsXP install cd in /dev/cdrom but vmware did not boot from that cd. i'm thinking it may have something to do with the error messages i get about my kernel being newer than the latest supported kernel version by vmware.

has anyone gotten this to work?

how should i get this installed?
i got the vm to see the cd drive, but it does not boot from it so it tries to network boot all the time.


The main problem with even the newest version of VMWARE 4, is the kernel itself. Before moving to the 2.6.10 I could use the legacy emulation, since the upgrade to the newest kernel if that option is checked, no CD/DVD works. Uncheck that box in the VMWARE machine and it should work.

Hopefully all these problems will go away once VMWARE 5 is released. Of coarse the constant kernel changes in Linux will probably make something else not work again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasvk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 597

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Euh not really ontopic, but as you're all VMWare users... has anyone of you ever had that when you start a VM, all colors on your screen are fuzzed up? Even after you close VMWare. I made a screenshot and restarted X, but on the screenshot everything looked fine. :o
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lotw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Location: Palmdale

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

t0maz wrote:
Euh not really ontopic, but as you're all VMWare users... has anyone of you ever had that when you start a VM, all colors on your screen are fuzzed up? Even after you close VMWare. I made a screenshot and restarted X, but on the screenshot everything looked fine. :o


Yes, I had that problem with the older ATI Drivers. The current ATI ones, 8.10.19 cause lots of problems if you go into full screen. Pieces of the screen go wacky and the text disappears. I had to revert to the 8.8.25-r3, which gived better results using glx_gears anyways.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasvk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 597

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lotw wrote:
t0maz wrote:
Euh not really ontopic, but as you're all VMWare users... has anyone of you ever had that when you start a VM, all colors on your screen are fuzzed up? Even after you close VMWare. I made a screenshot and restarted X, but on the screenshot everything looked fine. :o


Yes, I had that problem with the older ATI Drivers. The current ATI ones, 8.10.19 cause lots of problems if you go into full screen. Pieces of the screen go wacky and the text disappears. I had to revert to the 8.8.25-r3, which gived better results using glx_gears anyways.

I got 8.10.12 at the moment, I think. Would reverting back to old drivers give a lot of issues (I could imagine problems with X, for example)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lotw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Location: Palmdale

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

t0maz wrote:
lotw wrote:
t0maz wrote:
Euh not really ontopic, but as you're all VMWare users... has anyone of you ever had that when you start a VM, all colors on your screen are fuzzed up? Even after you close VMWare. I made a screenshot and restarted X, but on the screenshot everything looked fine. :o


Yes, I had that problem with the older ATI Drivers. The current ATI ones, 8.10.19 cause lots of problems if you go into full screen. Pieces of the screen go wacky and the text disappears. I had to revert to the 8.8.25-r3, which gived better results using glx_gears anyways.

I got 8.10.12 at the moment, I think. Would reverting back to old drivers give a lot of issues (I could imagine problems with X, for example)?


Nope, it was actually pretty easy, just emerging them back in. The colors being messed up suggest that the OpenGL isn't working. Can you even run the OpenGL screen savers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NorthWoodsman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, this isn't an OpenGL problem, it's a bug in VMware, there's not too much you can do about it other than connect over rdesktop. Strangely enough, if you click on a running rdesktop window (even if it's not connected to the virtual machine), it fixes the colors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lotw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Location: Palmdale

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NorthWoodsman wrote:
No, this isn't an OpenGL problem, it's a bug in VMware, there's not too much you can do about it other than connect over rdesktop. Strangely enough, if you click on a running rdesktop window (even if it's not connected to the virtual machine), it fixes the colors.


I use VMWARE all the time and I don't have that problem anymore, since I switched out video drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terwey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Mar 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my vmware now *works* but... I got no network, my problems looked similar to the others, and i really *need* network in VMWare...
anyone figured that out? or did it just work?

thanks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mean
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a patch for kernel 2.6.1x to re-export the needed symbol
you might need it (it is a one liner)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goanookie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Regarding the messed up colors, happens also with nvidia cards.
But when switching to a vt1-6 screen and then back to X the messed up colors no longer exists?
Not a permanent solution, but it helps.
:P
_________________
I have plenty of common sense, I just choose to ignore it. --- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terwey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Mar 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mean wrote:
There is a patch for kernel 2.6.1x to re-export the needed symbol
you might need it (it is a one liner)



I got kernel 2.6.8-gentoo-r3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Duplicate Threads.
Moved in favour of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-25526.html
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum