Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DHCP not starting
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CleverRoX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 3:43 pm    Post subject: DHCP not starting Reply with quote

I installed 2005.0 from a livecd stage3. I used genkernel and configured my /etc/conf.d/net for dhcp. When I boot up netmount won't start and I get no ip address.

lspci shows my AMD NIC in the list of devices. lsmod shows no network drivers loaded, but I am assuming genkernel compiled them into the kernel.

I am trying to install coldplug and/or hotplug, but I can't get packages for them because it keeps trying to download them from the Internet. I can't find any tarballs for coldplug or hotplug on the LiveCD.

1) Can anyone help me install hotplug and coldplug without Internet access?

2) Is there any way command-line force my dhcp client to re-run? Sometimes our dhcp server is flaky.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hust to be sure:
you emerged dhcpcd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CleverRoX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, I emerged dhcpcd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how does your :
/etc/conf.d/net
looks?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CleverRoX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iface_eth0="dhcp"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and what happens if you do this:

/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CleverRoX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bringing eth0 up via DHCP [ !! ]

init.d #

I re-emerged dhcpcd just in case. There is /sbin/dhcpcd present on the filesystem. If I rename it and run "net.eth0 restart" it complains about not finding dhcpcd, so I know it is calling it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and dmesg doesn't show anything about your eth0?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CleverRoX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, finally I switched to just hardcoding my eth0 settings in the conf file and turning dhcp off. That gave me a siocsifaddr: no such device error when I tried to start net.eth0 (which even dhcpcd -d wasn't giving me), so I figure my kernel isn't loading my NIC card.

I then decided to reboot the LiveCD and figured out how to chroot my system so it is using the LiveCD's kernel and working NIC. I notice in lsmod there is a pcnet32 module loaded which we can only assume is necessary for network operation. I then emerged coldplug and rc-update add'ed it. At this point I reboot.

Coldplug finds my NIC and my hardcoded eth0 works. I can only assume that eth0 will work with dhcp as well. I lsmod and coldplug has loaded pcnet32...

Thanks a bunch for all the help. You helped me a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TcbUSCG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Posts: 18
Location: West palm Beach FLorida

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 10:42 pm    Post subject: problem with DHCP >>[SOLVED]<< Reply with quote

only I do not really understand what he did to fix it

When I ran " /etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart "

I got,
Unmount network filesystems.... [OK]
Bring eth0 down.... [OK]
Bringing eth0 up via DHCP
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 109 /sbin/dhcpcd: No such file or Directory [!!!]

this is the second attempt at building this compter.. I don't want to quit, but I am getting a little upset with it..


:oops: emerge dhcpd did wonders.. thanks..


Last edited by TcbUSCG on Wed Apr 27, 2005 5:29 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TcbUSCG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Posts: 18
Location: West palm Beach FLorida

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Polle: and dmesg doesn't show anything about your eth0?


How do I slow that down to read it..?????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TcbUSCG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Posts: 18
Location: West palm Beach FLorida

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Figured it out.. who would have thought good ole "|more" would work... from my old Dos day..lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And I believe your error can be solved like this:
emerge dhcpcd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Incroyable HULK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:24 pm    Post subject: Me too!! Reply with quote

Hello all!

Gentoo is my first "real" experience with Linux (other that installing some distributions in vmware simulations or using LiveCD).

I am experiencing the exact same issues as CleverRoX (NIC drivers not installed). I tried the same thing, going from DHCP to Fixed values but I get the sames error messages as he does...

I was about to boot from the LiveCD and trying to solve the problem from there BUT I am wondering if it is possible to get around this issue without using the liveCD?

Any help appreciated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Incroyable HULK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, well I was reading around and I found that this seems to be a major issue for Newbies like me!

I had another network card (realtek) so I just swaped this one in the computer and it is working fine now...

Anyway, I suppose that if I want to work with my 3com 3C905B-TX card, I have to load the proper network driver module!

Quote:
Do the following:
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
Navigate
Device Drivers
-> Networking support
   -> Ethernet (10 or 1000 Mbit)
Choose 3COM cards support as a module  (M)
Save and Exit menuconfig



Compile and install your module:
Code:
make modules
make modules_install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdgill0
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1366
Location: Lexington, Ky -- USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep you need the proper kernel support for you nic :)

It seems the problems in this thread are resolved, please mark this thread as [Solved]. It will help others to know this thread has a solution the problem.
_________________
Vim has excellent syntax highlighting for configuration files: emerge gentoo-syntax
Learn how to use Vim: vimtutor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Incroyable HULK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure I solved my problem because I installed my 3COM 3C905B-TX back in the computer and it wasn't working either...

Do I have to do something else so the module is permanently installed or the make modules_install is already permanent?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdgill0
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1366
Location: Lexington, Ky -- USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you added support for your nic as a module instead of compiling it into your kernel, you need to add the module name to /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 to have it auto-loaded for the kernel ahead of time.

For example, if I am using the tulip.ko driver, I would add tulip to the kernel-2.6 file. Have you done this for your nic driver?
_________________
Vim has excellent syntax highlighting for configuration files: emerge gentoo-syntax
Learn how to use Vim: vimtutor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Incroyable HULK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Have you done this for your nic driver?
Of course NOT, I'm a newbie! :lol:

How do I get the name of the module and what is the proper syntax to add this module to the Kernel 2.6 file?

Thanks!

*** EDIT, I am not sure I can add the (SOLVED) bracket to the topic title since I am not the one who started the thread? ***


Last edited by Incroyable HULK on Sun Apr 24, 2005 5:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Incroyable HULK wrote:
Quote:
Have you done this for your nic driver?
Of course NOT, I'm a newbie! :lol:

How do I get the name of the module and what is the proper syntax to add this module to the Kernel 2.6 file?

look below:
Quote:
For example, if I am using the tulip.ko driver, I would add tulip to the kernel-2.6 file. Have you done this for your nic driver?

_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Incroyable HULK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I get it, it is a text file... I tought I had to do it with a command line... But you can I get the name of the module?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bumpert
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 430
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have the same problem. I had a big problem with my linux installation so i need to reinstall it and now i'm stuck here cause i can't emerge X, cause i don't have internet... dhcp don't start, any idea?

thx
_________________
Programmer always try to make software idiotproof, but God always making better idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Incroyable HULK wrote:
Ok, I get it, it is a text file... I tought I had to do it with a command line... But you can I get the name of the module?
3c59x is the module you need.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bumpert wrote:
i have the same problem. I had a big problem with my linux installation so i need to reinstall it and now i'm stuck here cause i can't emerge X, cause i don't have internet... dhcp don't start, any idea?
Have you searched the forums? The procedure for solving this problem has been worked out in a large number of threads already.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bumpert
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 430
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nixnut wrote:
bumpert wrote:
i have the same problem. I had a big problem with my linux installation so i need to reinstall it and now i'm stuck here cause i can't emerge X, cause i don't have internet... dhcp don't start, any idea?
Have you searched the forums? The procedure for solving this problem has been worked out in a large number of threads already.


yes the only interesting thread was this one, i have a Ethernet controller Intel 82562EZ 10/100, so i added e100 module to the autostart fiel without success, so i found nothing else usefull for me into the forum and nothing on google. I'm still trying to find but if somebody could help...

thx a lot
_________________
Programmer always try to make software idiotproof, but God always making better idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum