Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DHCP not starting
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bumpert
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 430
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if this could help i didn't remember having problem when i installer the first time gentoo with 1.4 rc4

thh for help
_________________
Programmer always try to make software idiotproof, but God always making better idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe this helps you a bit further: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-1613796.html#1613796
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bumpert
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 430
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nixnut wrote:
Maybe this helps you a bit further: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-1613796.html#1613796


i found a link to the driver i need: http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scripts-df-external/download.aspx?url=/2896/eng/e100-3.3.6.tar.gz&DwnldId=2896&ProductID=1702&lang=eng

i'll will install it but not sure how to do or use it???

thx
_________________
Programmer always try to make software idiotproof, but God always making better idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bumpert
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 430
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if i boot from the livecd and change the chroot to beable to use my gentoo, i'm able to have the internet cause it's the livecd that start it up.

if i check the log livecd detect:
e100: Intel(R) PRO/100 Network Driver, 3.3.6-k2-NAPI
e100: eth0: e100_probe: ...

how can i set my gentoo for this to work?

thx for help
_________________
Programmer always try to make software idiotproof, but God always making better idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bumpert
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 430
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have the Intel (R) PRO/100+ support module into my kernel config.... it's weird, maybe it's not my problem?

thx for help
_________________
Programmer always try to make software idiotproof, but God always making better idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does lsmod say? Is e100 among the list of loaded modules? If not, is it after a manual modprobe?
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bumpert
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 430
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh man, i recompile the kernel without all other ethernet card support and don't knopw why i'm not able to boot anymore... i think i'll will reinstall gentoo with the old version i had.... it's since 6 hours i'm trying to solve this problem....


thx for help
_________________
Programmer always try to make software idiotproof, but God always making better idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bumpert
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 430
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's my week of chance, lol, gentoo 1.4 livecd isn't able to get the net with my ethernet card... i'll try to fix my booting problem and get back to my ethernet detectio problem...
_________________
Programmer always try to make software idiotproof, but God always making better idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bumpert
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 430
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is it possible that i resolve my problem by following this post: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-329510-start-0-postdays-0-postorder-asc-highlight-grub+cdrom.html

now i can boot and my card seems to be detected...

thx for help
_________________
Programmer always try to make software idiotproof, but God always making better idiot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rawon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, I had the same problem when I used an older universal CD for installation, but found out that using the release 6 and updated online documentation solved the problem. Now, if I only could get KDE to work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
griffinme
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2005 6:54 pm    Post subject: same here Reply with quote

I reinstalled gentoo and am running into the same problem. DHCP and coldplug are both installed and I am using the genkernel.

I am using USE= -ipv6

Could that be the problem?

Also getting the same fun issues with Grub.

Grub doesn't seem to like this line

Code:
real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2005 7:13 pm    Post subject: Re: same here Reply with quote

griffinme wrote:
I reinstalled gentoo and am running into the same problem. DHCP and coldplug are both installed and I am using the genkernel.

I am using USE= -ipv6

Could that be the problem?
Nope. But what is the error you get?

[/quote]Also getting the same fun issues with Grub.

Grub doesn't seem to like this line

Code:
real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
[/quote]
Post your grub.conf and fstab and the error you get
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
griffinme
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2005 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grub.conf
Code:
default 0
timeout 15

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r7 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192
real_root= /dev/hda2 udev
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r7

title=Win XP
root (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1


I have also tried "real_root= /dev/hda3 udev"

Grub error:
Code:
>>Determining Root Device...
>>the root block device is unspecified or not detected.
Please specify a device to boot, or "shell" for a shell...
boot() ::

I enter "/dev/hda3" and it proceeds to boot.

During boot I get a couple of errors.
devfsd fails
.
.
some file systems failed to mount
.
.
DHCP fails

Fstab:
Code:

/dev/hda3                      /                    ext3           noatime      0 1
/dev/hda2                      none              swap          sw              0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom    auto            auto           0 0
none                             /proc              proc            defaults      0 0
none                             /dev/shm        tmpfs          nodev,nosuid,noexec    0 0


When I restart eth0 and ckeck Alt+F12 it complains about "Eth0 is not network card or token device."
Hmmm rebooted to get all the errors right. In Alt+F12 it says when I try to restart dhcp: "dhcpStart: ioctl SIOCGIFHWADDR: No such device"

I doubt it is the driver since the genkernel worked before.

Also noticed that I didn't use "ACCEPT_KEYWORDS='~amd64'" in my make.conf this time I installed. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
griffinme
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2005 9:46 pm    Post subject: Velocity driver Reply with quote

Checked lsmod live cd vs. compiled

No velocity module.

Decided to recompile the kernel with "genkernel --menuconfig all".

Velocity isn't even checked as a module!!!! #$%^##@
Why on earth was this removed?!?!?
It was there in gentoo-r6 but not on r7?

This is a good way to break all k800 chipset based boards that use genkernel!
So much for "genkernel is just like the live cd". :x

Maybe I picked the wrong sources.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads in favour of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-332982.html
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum