Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[FAQF] IG2: How to install Gentoo in a Win XP/NT config
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7695
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2003 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post your grub.conf
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Dec 2002
Posts: 212
Location: Stockholm

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2003 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok you gotta be kidding me.
I did just create partitions with Partition Magic in Windows and then booted up the livecd and followed the install.txt
_________________
=:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7695
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2003 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What are you implying? That you don't have a grub.conf?

ozt wrote:
ok you gotta be kidding me.
I did just create partitions with Partition Magic in Windows and then booted up the livecd and followed the install.txt

_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Dec 2002
Posts: 212
Location: Stockholm

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2003 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

of course I have a grub.conf else I wouldn't be inside Gentoo now.
But I was actually refering to the FAQ (sorry for not making that clear). I've installed Gentoo before on only one harddisk with windows preinstalled and I think some of the steps are unecessary in the FAQ, that's all

Code:
This is just a synthesis of tips and tricks I found on various websites to make this work. It may come in handy when you want to add Gentoo on a PC with only one harddisk that has XP preinstalled on a single NTFS partition. Everything here is based on Gentoo's basic installation guide which I followed religiously except for the partition numbering. Here is what I did:

_________________
=:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 114
Location: Aix en Provence, FRANCE

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2003 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I get it now. Sorry for this dumb post. I think I missed a step within the install guide...I need to make the grub.conf...

Thanks again
_________________
Sébastien
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plate
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 1663
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2003 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:) That's what I thought when you said that you ended up at a GRUB prompt... Glad you solved the problem before I even noticed that this thread had new postings added. Just a quick reminder to y'all: DT&T is not a support forum, questions like that are better posted to Installing Gentoo. This thread just serves as a debate club for the Howto. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koojmak
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just wondering if someone could provide some explicit instructions on how i copy the *.bin file i made to a floppy disk.......tia

update.....well i found out the cp command, but in doing that it made the disk unreadable under windows.... :(
i think i'll call it a night and see what the new day brings........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fourteen20
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 36
Location: Cornwall,uk

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my first time installing gentoo, i have used red hat for a while b4.
The problem that i have is that i am using a raid0 array on sata (Nf7-s).
I cant get my head round the grub section at all.
The way i am installing is this
/boot /dev/ataraid/disc0/part1
/swap /dev/ataraid/disc0/part2
/root /dev/ataraid/disc0/part3
win xp /dev/ataraid/disc0/part4
what grub conf would i use?
i have read most of the threads on the forums and i think they have confused me more than ever ,i find it easier to configure a kernel build than this,any help much appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MonstaThrilla
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone expound on the whole business of making a .bin? I'm not quite getting it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funeagle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2003 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I got it right you are using window's booting menu, forget the bin file forget windows use Gentoo as the primary os!

[url] https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=79053 [/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orionrobots
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 289
Location: London, Uk

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 2:09 pm    Post subject: FIPS vs PM Reply with quote

I am sure I remember that when I first started using linux, there was a tool called "FIPS" which was completely free. You would normally create a CD with a boot image, or a floppy with it, and use it to resize partitions. It would also backup, and restore root/boot sectors of a disk (a feature which I once abused to fix a barfed one - by backing it up, changing the dumped file, and restoring that :roll: ).

The reason I mention this, is that in the original post - PM was suggested -but FIPS is free, and afaik open source. It probably doesnt go down too well suggetsing that users will need to buy PM to use a free OS in a dual-boot environment.

I have not seen FIPS for a while, but that is because I have not dual-booted for at least 4 years now(I got a second computer - for gaming and music).
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zorn1981
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have some problem. I followed the instructions of that guide and I obtained this partition:

Code:

hda1   winxp
hda2   ext
hda5   boot
hda6   swap
hda7   root


I tried to install LILO instead of GRUB, because Grub outputs segmentation fault when installing (why?).
I modified /etc/lilo.conf in this way

Code:

boot=/dev/hda

image=/boot/bzImage
           label=linux
           read-only
           root=/dev/hda7

other=/dev/hda1
         label=windows



Then I went back to the shell and I wrote

Code:

/sbin/lilo


When I reboot, Lilo works, but I see only an entry for linux and when I select it I see only a black screen.

bye[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Slyde
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 314

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

solved.

Last edited by Slyde on Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:38 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Slyde
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 314

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want to extend my sincerest appreciation to plate for writing this excellent guide. New systems works beautifully! Thank you!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nimo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:52 am    Post subject: ntfsresize Reply with quote

I don't know if it's already mentioned, but if you don't have Partition Magic then try to ntfsresize.


There is also a guide 'How to install Linux keeping windows' on that page, I used that guide together with the Gentoo Handbook and it worked great.
_________________
//Nimo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

insomniac wrote:
I prefer going the other way - using Grub first to choose between Gentoo and NT/2000/XP , then booting the desired OS.... but i'm sure there is a reason to do it your way...


The only reason I can think of is that a while back when I was a complete linux newb, I was running redhat and it used grub to choose between it and win2k. I upgraded to WinXP only to find that I couldn't boot Linux anymore since windows installs always reset the mbr.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doubled
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 4:05 pm    Post subject: hidden file command Reply with quote

Quote:
You can probably set attributes to create this as a hidden file, but I have no idea how one does that.


I believe
Code:
attrib +h filename

will do what you are looking for.
Code:
attrib /?
for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruzer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 4:22 pm    Post subject: what do you do if... Reply with quote

what do you do if you install gentoo, and then you install winxp, but you forget to do step 5:

dd if=/dev/hda5 of=/tmp/yourfilename.bin bs=512 count=1

So you can only boot into winxp.

I've booted with KNOPPIX, but don't know how to get grub to do its thing

Thanks
Ruzer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dontremember
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Sep 2002
Posts: 151
Location: Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 9:31 am    Post subject: Re: ntfsresize Reply with quote

Nimo wrote:
I don't know if it's already mentioned, but if you don't have Partition Magic then try to ntfsresize.


Second that!

I was handed a Dell M60 laptop at work, with WinXP and 2 NTFS partitions, so I immediately started looking for a partition editor. I came across ntfsresize in its QTparted incarnation on the SystemRescueCD ( http://www.sysresccd.org/). It worked beautifully! Cut down the D: drive to 10Gb to make space for an extended partition for Gentoo, then hacked a boot partition off the end of the C: drive. No apparent problems, not that I really care - they gave me a complete install kit for WinXP and all the company stuff I might need...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnnyICON
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 296
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:56 am    Post subject: Success! A rare thing... Reply with quote

Wow, it actually worked for me on the first try. Awesome tutorial!

I also used http://www.geocities.com/epark/linux/grub-w2k-HOWTO.html just to be sure.
_________________
[ Specs ] PC
[ Specs ] Notebook: HP Pavilion zv5325ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SilverSnake
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 50
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get this problem with a "GRUB" prompt only and nothing more. Has any solution or cause to this been found?

grub.conf wrote:
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd1,0)
kernel /kernel-2.4.26-gentoo-r9 root=/dev/hdb3

fdisk -l /dev/hdb wrote:
Disk /dev/hdb: 82.3 GB, 82348277760 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 10011 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdb1 * 1 5 40131 83 Linux
/dev/hdb2 6 130 1004062+ 83 Linux
/dev/hdb3 131 2309 17502817+ 83 Linux
/dev/hdb4 2310 10011 61866315 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)


Kernel name is correctly spelt... Any ideas?
_________________
da SilverSnake is back!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilson001
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:13 am    Post subject: Installing Gentoo on XP using Microsoft Virtual PC Reply with quote

Hello!

I am wondering is it possible to install gentoo using Microsoft Virtual PC. If yes, will there be anything that I should noticed like how to do the partition?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The New Guy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 136
Location: Behind you...

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This isn't my first time installing Gentoo now (actually like the 3rd or 4th *D'oh!*), but this -is- my first time installing it with WinXP already installed. This guide was extremely helpful and easy to follow. Good work man.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yoda@gentoo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. install a windows (BUT ONLY IF YOU REALLY NEED IT !!!!!!! :wink:)
2. install gentoo with the "installation instructions" document.

3. where is the problem with this fucking windows :) ??


I installed gentoo about 5 times with windows on an other partition, and i just had to make
an entry in grub.conf.
_________________
---
[that's how we role]
---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dudinatrix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jun 2005
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the dual boot advice in the FAQ allow you to share files between WinXP and Gentoo? If not, how can the setup be adjusted to allow doing so, ie by adding a shared partition?
_________________
Linux noob.. attempting Gentoo!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum