Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Java 1.5
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
divoxx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 12:49 am    Post subject: Java 1.5 Reply with quote

I was wondering why gentoo is taking so long to release java 1.5 series as a stable package.

Java developers, like me, would like to have the latest version of the language, even in a different slot.

Ok, i know i can unmask the package using package.keywords and package.unmask, but there's a time since "java 5" was released.

:?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JPMRaptor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2002
Posts: 410
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd guess it's because a lot of other Java packages out there have conflicts with Java 1.5. They added some new keywords and classes that may cause some problems with existing code.
_________________
Underwater photo gallery
New pictures, Oct 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lplatypus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/usr/portage/profiles/package.mask says:
Code:
# lotsa things in the tree don't compile with 1.5 yet
# 1.5 defaults too -target 1.5 making downgrading to a 1.4(/1.3)
# impossible, see bug 65937 for more information/discussion
>=dev-java/sun-jre-bin-1.4.99
>=dev-java/sun-jdk-1.4.99
>=dev-java/java-sdk-docs-1.4.99
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
divoxx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, i need java 1.5 installed cause' i need to develop.
What you suggest me to do? Install java by hand, is there a way to install java 1.5 in a different slot or something?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JPMRaptor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2002
Posts: 410
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've installed it by hand. I then just put $JAVA_HOME/bin in my path to get the java commands and I use ant to build everything (which also uses $JAVA_HOME).
_________________
Underwater photo gallery
New pictures, Oct 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
divoxx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And you keeped the portage's 1.4 installation, right?

I think i'll try that.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tshwala
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Sep 2004
Posts: 86
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I point my ide (eclipse) towards Java 1.5 and run the rest of the system off java 1.4.

I can't believe its taking soooo long for the developers to comply with java 1.5. They are already on release 3. Is there a list of programs that havn't complied yet? AFAIK the only real change is if programs have used enum as a keyword and a simple sed will fix that. All the other canges (type safety etc) should only produce a whole whack of warnings...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
divoxx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

I can't believe its taking soooo long for the developers to comply with java 1.5. They are already on release 3. Is there a list of programs that havn't complied yet? AFAIK the only real change is if programs have used enum as a keyword and a simple sed will fix that. All the other canges (type safety etc) should only produce a whole whack of warnings...


Yeah, most of the java 1.5 changes is only pre-processed stuffs.
Like autoboxing, and generics, javac translates the code putting the rights castings and stuff before creating the bytecode.

Anyway, thanks for all quick replies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danapsimer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 13
Location: Atlanta, GA

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could add it to your /etc/portage/package.unmask file. But you should then know that any java based packages you emerge or update after that may have compile problems ( there are new keywords ) and they will not run on the 1.4 jvm.

I would have thought that one could control the -target argument through a system property but it appears as though it is command line only and therefore the build scripts have to set it. Most java developers are not in the habit of puting target=".." attributes on their <javac> tags so this is not possible.

What might work well is to get the ANT team to add a feature that lets the calling application set the target default. That way we could specify what target version should be used in the ebuild and set it when ant is called. I can't think of a java project that does not use ant or something ant based, like maven. I am going to get to work on a patch and see if they will incorperate it. Come to think of it we should do that with the source argument as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plate
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 1663
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Continued here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum