Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No Network Connectivity After Chroot Stage2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cronicded
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 5:05 am    Post subject: No Network Connectivity After Chroot Stage2 Reply with quote

Trying to complete a stage2 install, it seems my Gentoo environment doesn't have network connectivity. I am unable to emerge/sync in order to finish up the installation. However, when outside the environment I can route/resolve without issue. I've looked painstakingly at the manual and don't believe I've missed any steps. I made sure to cp -L /etc/resolv.conf into /mnt/gentoo/etc/ . I'm pretty much stumped and hadn't found anything in the forums. A mild look through and search strings didn't return relevant information. Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated, otherwise I have a useless almost Gentoo install, :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daledude
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc ? (or similar)
_________________
Who am I to say? Nobody. Why should you listen to me? Because I'm not just anybody!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cadorna
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 5:24 am    Post subject: Re: No Network Connectivity After Chroot Stage2 Reply with quote

cronicded wrote:
Trying to complete a stage2 install, it seems my Gentoo environment doesn't have network connectivity. I am unable to emerge/sync in order to finish up the installation. However, when outside the environment I can route/resolve without issue. I've looked painstakingly at the manual and don't believe I've missed any steps. I made sure to cp -L /etc/resolv.conf into /mnt/gentoo/etc/ . I'm pretty much stumped and hadn't found anything in the forums. A mild look through and search strings didn't return relevant information. Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated, otherwise I have a useless almost Gentoo install, :(


i don't install gentoo a long time ago, so maybe i'm wrong, but did you mount /proc before chrooting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bet1m
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 631
Location: Kosova/Prishtine

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf

If you didn't mount proc, you can mount it after chroot too, like this:
Code:

mount -t proc proc /proc


;)
_________________
#370559
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cronicded
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bet1m wrote:
Code:

cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf

If you didn't mount proc, you can mount it after chroot too, like this:
Code:

mount -t proc proc /proc


;)


/proc was mounted properly, but I tried it within the environment as well. Unfortunately, without a working system, the mount command isn't available within the environment. Like I said, this one has me stuck. I haven't figured out why I can route from the livecd but not within the chroot. If you guys can think of anything else, let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you check what is written in:
/mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cronicded
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

polle wrote:
did you check what is written in:
/mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf


Yes. resolv.conf has the correct DNS information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

also did?:
env-update
after chroot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cronicded
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

polle wrote:
also did?:
env-update
after chroot


From cold boot, with all the other fancy stuff taken care of:
Code:
livecd root # history
    1  mount -t ext3 /dev/hda2 /mnt/gentoo/
    2  mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
    3  mount -t ext3 /dev/hda5 /mnt/gentoo/usr
    4  mount -t ext3 /dev/hda6 /mnt/gentoo/var
    5  mount -t ext3 /dev/hda7 /mnt/gentoo/opt
    6  mount -t ext3 /dev/hda8 /mnt/gentoo/home
    7  mount -t ext3 /dev/hda9 /mnt/gentoo/tmp
    8  mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
    9  swapon /dev/hda4
   11  chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash


Did some playing around this time and found I am routing, but just not resolving. (couldn't really test any other way then a simple wget)

Code:
livecd / # env-update
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
 * Caching service dependencies...
livecd / # source /etc/profile
livecd / # wget google.com
--02:24:28--  http://google.com/
           => `index.html'
Resolving google.com... failed: Host not found.
livecd / # wget 216.239.57.99
--02:24:47--  http://216.239.57.99/
           => `index.html'
Connecting to 216.239.57.99:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OKCookie coming from 216.239.57.99 attempted to set domain to google.com

Length: unspecified [text/html]

    [ <=>                                                                                           ] 2,563         --.--K/s

02:24:47 (84.29 MB/s) - `index.html' saved [2563]

livecd / # wget 216.239.57.99/index.html
--02:25:02--  http://216.239.57.99/index.html
           => `index.html.1'
Connecting to 216.239.57.99:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OKCookie coming from 216.239.57.99 attempted to set domain to google.com

Length: unspecified [text/html]


To make sure it wasn't a DNS server problem (even though 4 other PC's are resolving just fine) I added 8 other DNS server addresses that are known to be up and still couldn't emerge anything. Since it's narrowed down, maybe we're getting closer to some other issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

not behind a proxyserver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cronicded
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope. Linux WRT54G with sveasoft Alchemy pre.7 ; No specials rules denying access. Port forwarding works to the gentoo machine as well. (Testing from a shell at work, I can hit my home IP and get forwarded to the gentoo box running the livecd boot and sshd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cronicded
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've decided to cheat for the time being and hope that once my install is up and running I won't have this DNS resolution issue. Simply used the IP instead of the domain name via a DNS A record lookup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cronicded
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cronicded wrote:
I've decided to cheat for the time being and hope that once my install is up and running I won't have this DNS resolution issue. Simply used the IP instead of the domain name via a DNS A record lookup.


Not that it matters, but to clarify: I entered the IP of some of the mirrors I selected into /etc/make.conf in order to get what I needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf
Are you sure you named it resolv.conf and not resolve.conf? A frequent mistake.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cronicded
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nixnut wrote:
Code:
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf
Are you sure you named it resolv.conf and not resolve.conf? A frequent mistake.


I pay homage as I am gratefully humbled.

Gotta love hitting tab for autocompletion, :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 17862

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-17835.html
_________________

Believing I had supernatural powers I slammed into a brick wall.
I said hey, is this my problem? Is this my fault?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum