Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth0 not working just after install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
noexitpath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 6:55 pm    Post subject: eth0 not working just after install Reply with quote

This is my second topic today, and I am sorry for the lack of knowledge I have on the subject. I am just now slowly learning linux and I figured I would try to just dive in. Anyhow. This is the latest issue I am getting during the boot up process:
...
eth0 already installed in runlevel default; skipping
Bringing eth0 up via DHCP...
/sbin/rc: line 109: /sbin/dhcpcd: No such file or directory
Problem starting needed services
"netmount".

If anyone could shine some light on this subject or give me a direction to run, I would be very happy. But please keep your answers on a low level, I am very new.

I have looked in my net file and everything looks fine. The eth0 works great in on LiveCD. I only get lo when I do ifconfig inside my new install. I am about to see if the drivers are there. Any help is well appreciated. Thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NoControl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try emerging dhcpcd :) If you use DHCP for your network connection, it (or another DHCP client package, but dhcpcd is 'default') is required.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyson
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 829
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Seems to me that you are missing the 'net-misc/dhcpcd' package.

Can you use a static ip ?
So you can bring the eth0 up, and emerge the package.
Otherwise you may copy it from another computer. It's only about 150K.

Take down the tar and the diff files and copy them to
/usr/portage/distfiles/

/Kjell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noexitpath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I attempted to setup a static ip and it gave me this new message at boot:

SIOCSIFADDR Device not found
SIOCSIFBRDADDR Device not found
SIOCSIFNETMASK Device not found

Anyclue what all this means? Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhris
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check out my post in this thread:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2351260-highlight-.html#2351260
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zieloo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What card are you using?
Code:
lspci

output, please:P

Make sure you have support for this card compiled in the kernel. Issue
Code:
dhcpcd eth0
then look at the last lines of dmesg and /var/log/messages. Carefully analize all the errors that may pop up.

Also look through the forums - the problem you descibed is quite popular:) (This link, for instance).

Also - remember that if you had the NIC working under LiveCD, don't be afraid of booting it again. It may be helpful to check what modules it's loaded (lsmod), etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noexitpath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do I paste output from another terminal?
Is lspci suppost to work on my new install (it doesn't)?
When I type "dhcpcd eth0" I just get a new line, no return values. (In liveCD, I don't have that command in my install)
Would it be easier to simply go try again (3rd time)?
I never emerged dhcpcd during my installation. How do I go about doing it now that I am on LiveCD, since I can only access the internet through it for the moment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zieloo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

noexitpath wrote:

How do I paste output from another terminal?

ehm... need to start gpm, select the text and past it with the third mouse button.

noexitpath wrote:

Is lspci suppost to work on my new install (it doesn't)?

yes.


noexitpath wrote:

When I type "dhcpcd eth0" I just get a new line, no return values.

This means it returned code zero, so Success! Your connection should be running now. Check: ifconfig eth0 and ping -c3 gentoo.org.

noexitpath wrote:

(In liveCD, I don't have that command in my install)

WOW. How come? Did net worked in the LiveCD? Shouldn't if you use dhcp and there's really not suh command (/sbin/dhcpcd?)

noexitpath wrote:

Would it be easier to simply go try again (3rd time)?

No. Forget about those silly ways of 'solving' a problem. That's not the-still-most-popular-OS where everything (almost) can be solved by hitting the restart button...


noexitpath wrote:

I never emerged dhcpcd during my installation. How do I go about doing it now that I am on LiveCD, since I can only access the internet through it for the moment?

So you DO NOT have dhcpcd emerged? hmmm. mount your partitions, chroot, and type emerge dhcpcd, reboot, n-joy:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noexitpath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you run me through the proper commands for those steps you just listed? Thanks alot, btw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zieloo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

noexitpath wrote:
Could you run me through the proper commands for those steps you just listed? Thanks alot, btw.


Ok - one more thing to clarify the stuff - you're on the livecd, do not have the dhcp package installed (or just do not remember installing it), used genkernel to create your kernel config, and don't know what you NIC is (if you do know this please post it - will be simplier to say RTL-8139 or so...)?

The steps I listed at the end of my post refer to the standard install procedures -> handbook. (may write them if you insist:P)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noexitpath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok,

I am currently on LiveCD so I can
use the forums.

I did not use Genkernal, I did the manual (DEFAULT) methods through out the handbook.

My NIC is RTL-8169.

I did not emerge dhcpcd because I did not read to do so in the handbook.

I am very new at linux, so I am not filmiar with the commands.

Sorry for the confusion :)

Also, I do know the 'mount' command, but I do not know how to use it exactly in the context of the situation. I thought it was a way to add or remove a drive, but I have seen it used to add specific directories and such. I am very confused.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zieloo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok - not problem.

God bless you you didn't use genkernel (full respect for those who wrote it, but...:P). The first and hopefully the last step you need to peform in order to get the net NIC working is to emerge net-misc/dhcpcd package.

1) If you're doing stage3+grp install them you MIGHT have dhcpcd available as a prebuilt package. Just boot your newly installed gentoo and:
Code:
emerge -K dhcpcd


2) Otherwise, you need to download the source and compile it locally.

Focusing in the 2) option.
I'm not sure about you partitioning scheme - adjust it correctly!
I assume than HDA1, HDA2, HDA3, are the available partitions, where 1 - boot, 2 - swap, 3- root. Double check if it's the same in your install!
Now since /mnt/gentoo is the standard directory to mount things, issue the following commands:
Code:
mount -t ext3 /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc

The next step is to chroot from livecd to new Gentoo:
Code:
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile


Now, emerge what is needed:
Code:
emerge -pv dhcpcd

to list what is going to be done, than if ok:
Code:
emerge dhcpcd

Should complete w/o any errors.

Press ctrl+d (logout) when done, unmount the partitions:
Code:
cd /
umount /mnt/gentoo/proc
umount /mnt/gentoo

and reboot:
Code:
/sbin/reboot


Booting Gentoo look for warning messages, errors and so regarding dhcpcd and eth0.
Test your network like usual:
Code:
ping -c3 gentoo.org


If that doesn't help, you'll need to provide us with more info. The steps to do depend on what's gonna happen.

halt: while on livecd check lsmod:
Code:
lsmod

we're looking for...r8169 module. If loaded - good. The same module MUST exist if this gigabit NIC gonna funcion:)

---
Lukas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noexitpath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I emerged dhcpcd. I had to do it through LiveCD. It did not fix the issue at hand. I changed my net file to use DHCP and I am receiving a error talking about not having a 'netmount' service. It also keeps reiterating that eth0 is loaded in runlevel default. I am not sure what any of that really means.

What information do I need to get you, and how do I go about getting it?

Thank you so much for helping, if I get this running, I promise to learn the rest on my own. I just need to be able to get a GUI setup.

I do have R8169 running on LiveCD, but nothing running on my install copy. I also can't use the lspci command on my install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noexitpath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still having the same issue. I did a complete reinstall and still the same. Anyone have suggestions before I admit defeat and walk over to my self that hides WinXP?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chovy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i had this problem, turned out I had 2 ethernet cards, and was trying to get eth0 working when the wire was plugged into eth2.

Type ifconfig -a

to see if you have two cards.
_________________
Woof, Woof! Add "[solved]" to the title! Woof, Woof!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noexitpath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I only have one card, when I do ifconfig -a it only shows lo not eth0. During boot is keeps saying that 'net.eth0 is already installed in runlevel default; skipping'. I don't believe the correct module drivers are being loaded, but I can't be for sure, and don't really know how I could move the proper ones over. LiveCD works fine, but my Install doesn't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noexitpath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How would I go about transfering the r8169 module from LiveCD to my Install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhris
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My man. Did you read the post I made up there? I really think it could help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scylding
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Wichita, KS

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem:

My newly compiled kernel finds no network device after boot.
I get an error message during boot about netmount not starting.
The module for my integrated NIC (module "b44" for Broadcom4400) is not loaded.

I tried

Code:
modprobe b44


but I get an error message

Code:
FATAL: Module b44 not found


I guess I don't understand where the module is supposed to come from if its not found.
_________________
Dell 700m, 2.0 GHz PM755, 512 KB, 80GB
2.6.11 Kernel, Stage 1 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scylding
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Wichita, KS

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just figured out I can compile support for my NIC into the kernel. Looking at my .config it appears I did not slect this option when I compiled my kernel, so I'm going to recompile and see if that helps.
_________________
Dell 700m, 2.0 GHz PM755, 512 KB, 80GB
2.6.11 Kernel, Stage 1 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scylding
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Wichita, KS

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have networking!

All it took was comiling in the b44 support into my kernel. When I booted the new kernel, dhcp got my network address and I can ping google immediately.

By the way, I love the speed with which Gentoo boots. My Ubuntu install takes forever.

Thanks to everyone who posted on this topic. The gentoo forums are the best.
_________________
Dell 700m, 2.0 GHz PM755, 512 KB, 80GB
2.6.11 Kernel, Stage 1 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads in favour of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-332982.html
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum