Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Urgent help please!!! netmount problem! [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
b_zed_image
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 68
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 11:57 am    Post subject: Urgent help please!!! netmount problem! [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hey all,

I've installed gentoo ok, but have a little problem. I get an internet connection (through eth0) if i boot from the livecd, but when i actually boot my gentoo system up, i get the following error:

* Bringing eth0 up via DHCP... [!!]

* ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
"netmount" was not started

I can still log in, alas without and internet connection.
_________________
Regards,
Lee


Last edited by b_zed_image on Sat May 28, 2005 1:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sandokan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi I had also problem like that...
Tell me which ethernet card or mother - board do you have....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b_zed_image
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 68
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erm... If i remember rightly, my Windows (before i erased it) said something about broadcom. Dont know if this helps. Im pretty n00by when it comes to networks :oops: so you may need to push me along a bit
_________________
Regards,
Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b_zed_image,

You probably don't have an eth0 logical interface. Run ifconfig to check.
If its missing, either the kernel module for your NIC is not loaded, or its not built (or both).

Do you know which module you need ?

You can determine your module from knowledge of your NIC or as follows:-
Boot the liveCD and issue the lsmod command. Write down all the module names listed.
Boot normally and issue the lsmod command. Usining your list, cross off any modules that appear, they are not for your NIC.

For the remianing modules do
Code:
modprobe <module_name>
ifconfig 
When eth0 appears, you have modprobed your NIC module.
Add its name to
Code:
/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
to auto load it at boot.
Meanwhile, do
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
to brigh up your network.

If you get module not found errors, the module in question has not been built.
If you have a module called eth1394 loaded when you boot normally, you probably have an eth0 and an eth1 and eth1 is your real NIC. There are several ways to fix that.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b_zed_image
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 68
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like a plan. I'll reply when ive done it, give me 5....
_________________
Regards,
Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b_zed_image
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 68
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well we're gonna have to assume it wasn't compiled in. eth1394 isn't loaded on boot, and the little module elimination thing didn't work - ifconfig didn't show eth0 at all. NB: i used genkernel to compile because i couldn't write the .conf file
_________________
Regards,
Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b_zed_image
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 68
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something to edit: i just ran lsmod again (on my system, not the livecd) and eth1394 is loaded.
_________________
Regards,
Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b_zed_image,

Genkernel builds every module known to Linus, then a few more too.
Traverse the kernel module tree starting at /lib/modules/<kernel_ver> and find eth1394.ko then rename it to something like eth1394.ko_broken because nobody wants Ethernet over Firewire, well almost nobody.
Code:
modprobe -l | grep eth1394
will help you here.

Did you have and eth0 and eth1 in ifconfig?
When you did the modprobes, which ones failed, one of those is your ethernet?

We still don't know which kernel module you need. Can you boot the liveCD, run lspci and post the Ethernet line from the output, or or all them if you have more than one.

After you rip out eth1394, it may just work after a reboot.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b_zed_image
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 68
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Did you have and eth0 and eth1 in ifconfig?
When you did the modprobes, which ones failed, one of those is your ethernet


ifconfig shows neither eth0 or eth1 unless im on the livecd, in which case it's just eth0. lsmod (while on system) showed that the following modules weren't loaded:

yenta_socket
rsrc_nonstatic
pcmcia_core
evdev
b44
mii
parport
parport_pc

I modprobe'd all of those, none made any difference.

I can boot from a livecd and get an internet connection fine; i ping'd google to make sure of this. On my system, ping returns unknown host <hostname>.

Ill try the eth1394 ripout now...
_________________
Regards,
Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b_zed_image
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 68
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My rename command doesnt work. Im in the kernel modules directory 'ieee1394', and eth1394.ko is here, so i type:

rename eth1394.ko eth1394.ko_broken

and it doesnt change the file name, or print any error messages. Should i just try deleting eth1394.ko?
_________________
Regards,
Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b_zed_image,

Sorry, rename is what I wanted you to do the command is
Code:
mv
for move.

Your ethernet needs both
Code:
b44
and
Code:
mii
.
Code:
modprobe b44
should also load mii as a dependency.
Do it, then
Code:
lsmod
to make sure its loaded, if not, we'll need to add a module to your kernel, which is a painless process.
If b44 and mii are there in
Code:
lsmod
. you should have a corresponding ethN interface when you look in ifconfig.
It will not be working at this stage.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b_zed_image
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 68
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mii and b44 are both in there, but ifconfig still displays no ethN. Something i didnt mention before which may help: ifconfig only shows 'lo' - some sort of local loopback?

I guess the only other option is to add another module to the kernel?
_________________
Regards,
Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b_zed_image
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 68
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed it!! it was a simple case of adding b44 to the file /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6!! I did try putting mii in there earlier, not realising b44 loads it as a dependancy.

Thanks very much for all your help up to this point, it has been greatly appreciated!! :)
_________________
Regards,
Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apewall
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 248
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[SOLVED] in topic title please.
_________________
Posting for dummies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b_zed_image,

I'm glad its fixed but I don't understand why with b44 loaded, eth0 was missing.
Yes. lo is the loopback interface. Its essential to normal operation. Lots of network transparent things communicate using it when they are all on the same machine.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b_zed_image
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 68
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was a bit bizzare, but im posting this reply from my working, internet ready gentoo machine!! It took me a grand total of 6 hours 35 minutes to set it all up, but it was well worth it. Now, i start with customisation...

Could you give me some pointers on downloading / installing themes for kde, and other such nicities?
_________________
Regards,
Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b_zed_image,

I'm not a KDE user. All I can do is point you at the docs.
You don't have X or KDE installed yet, if you have neem following the handbook.

Start here http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/list.xml under the Gentoo Desktop Documentation Resources
Installing your Desktop section.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads in favour of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-332982.html
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum