Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Software RAID install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 3:05 am    Post subject: Software RAID install Reply with quote

I have my hard drives set up correctly, and have my types set to RAID autodetect
I'm following a HOWTO: http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Gentoo_Install_on_Software_RAID
I'm on a AMD64 using the 2005.0 CD

When I go to run mkraid /dev/md0 (after setting up /etc/raidtab
I get the error "cannot determine md version: no MD device file in /dev"
just like the guide said I might.
So I ran "MAKEDEV md" from /dev, and it makes the files, however, when I go back to run mkraid /dev/md0, I get this:

devfs_md_dev: could not append to parent for md/0
handling MD device /dev/md0
analyzing superblock
disk 0: /dev/hdb1, 7324096kB, raid superblock at 7324032kB
mkraid: aborted

and I cant figure out why its aborting. my /proc/mdstat shows none running
my log just says the first line ("devfs_md_dev: could not.....").

Any ideas? Anyone?

Would like to get this machine up and running quickly...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

very odd...
I changed "persistent-superblock" from 1 to 0 in my /etc/raidtab, and it works....
Is there any reason?

Do I need a persistent superblock?

(RAID 0)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
overkll
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2004
Posts: 1249
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Technically, I don't think you NEED one. IMHO you should use superblocks with raid.

Have you tried " mdadm " ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope...
just tried it. It made the arrays fine, but how do I know that it was using persist.-superblocks?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
overkll
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2004
Posts: 1249
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope to what.....?

Can you post your raidtab and output of "fdisk -l"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry about that. Got it working, and installed.
However, on boot I am getting the error "Failed to open the device '/dev/md1': No such file or directory"
where /dev/md0 is RAID 1 /boot
/dev/md1 is RAID0 /

it then prompts for root pwd for maintenance, and if I give it the root pwd, I can see my filesystem just fine (and edit files) that are all on my / (/dev/md1)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43586
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

impact,

Whats in your /etc/fstab ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the three lines that I changed:
/dev/md0 /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 1
/dev/md1 / reiserfs noatime,notail 0 0
/dev/md2 /home reiserfs noatime,notail 0 0

Why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43586
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

impact,

For some reason I was thinking it may be fsck trying to do a ckroot and finding the wrong thing in /etc/fstab.
Its not that though.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reading a guide to doing it using mdadm
doesn't say anytthing about raidtab
do I still need one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm
Interesting piece of info that will likely help:

During install I had to a "cd /dev; MAKEDEV md;"
and if on bootup I give passwd for maintenance (after failed boot), and I do a "ls /dev/m*" I don't see ANY /dev/md devices...

Why wouldn't it be making them? And how do I get it to make them (permanently)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43586
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

impact,

Both udev and devfs should make /dev/mdX on the fly at startup.
/dev/md1 must be there, yhe kernel mounts the root filesystem on something.

The /dev/entries are not supposed to be static, unless you use neither devfs or udev.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

udev installs by default correct (stage3)?
Any ideas what the problem could be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43586
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

impact,

udev is the defualt for 2005.0 and later. I used raidtools with a raidtab to set up my system and it Just Worked.
I may have static /dev entries though, my imstall is about 2 years old.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there any way to force static devices?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43586
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

impact,

With udev, you can preserver the content of /dev in a tarball across reboots.
Read the comments in
Code:
/etc/conf.d/rc

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is obviously just a temp solution

Anyone have any ideas why udev isn't making my md devices?

I checked my udev rules, and sure enough, it has a rule for md devs, but doesn't make them for some reason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i checked the tarball Idea, unfortunately it was already set to "yes"
so I tried "no" with the same problem when booting....

Any other thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43586
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

impact,

The tarball has been there since udev was very young. It allows the use of a mixed udev and static dev while udev is in development. (Its still in development).
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I saw the last post at: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=2353159
and I thought it might help...
Sure enough, nothing...

Anyone?
Anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impact
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I WIN
IIIIIIII WWWWWWWWWWWIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

combination of adding that line to /etc/init.d/rc and turning tarball udev back on...
and it boots...
Don't know why...
Not going to ask....
but it works!

Just so this page gets hit in google if someone has the same problem, I'm going to put all the steps in one place =P

If you are having the problem that udev does not create /dev/md in time for mdadm to put the RAID-0 array together, you need to look at the last post https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=2353159 . This will make udev create the device early enough so you don't recieve the error: "Failed to open the device '/dev/md1': No such file or directory"

Hope that helps.
Thanks guys for helping =P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7694
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2587699.html
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum