Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2 little problems with WoW (cedega)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zinion
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Oct 2004
Posts: 541
Location: Ruhgebietshausen

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 7:38 pm    Post subject: 2 little problems with WoW (cedega) Reply with quote

Hi there!

I'm playing WoW with cedega really fine for quite a time now with cedega on my PC (and amd64 machine). I bought a new PC and WoW for my girlfriend (AthlonXP 2800 / 512MB RAM / Radeon 9800 256MB) so that she's not so alone when I'm playing :D

But I have 2 problems, 1 one each machine. And both are with Sound. First the Athlon64 one:

[Athlon64 3500 / ASUS A8V Deluxe (VIA82xxx sound) / 1gig RAM / FX5900]

First, I used wineoss and got the distorted Sound. So I switched to winealsa.

If I use winealsa, and turn MMAP to Y, I get the well-known Error #132 and can't even start the game. (But I'm sure I ran it with MMAP turned on a time ago...). I figured out that switching to N resolves the problem but now I have a new one. When I start the game this message appears:

Code:
thomas@thomas-km61 thomas $ cedega -workdir "C:/Spiele/World of Warcraft/" "C:/Spiele/World of Warcraft/WoW.exe"
Your system requires the use of pthreads but the maximum system allowed stack size of 2052 kB may be too small for some games.
If you experience problems, try rerunning with "-use-pthreads no" which may help.
This sound card's driver does not support direct access
The (slower) DirectSound HEL mode will be used instead.
This sound card's driver does not support direct access
The (slower) DirectSound HEL mode will be used instead.


Game and sound run fine but sometimes suddenly stops. Sometimes I can play a whole night with sound and use TS. Sometimes I can't play 10minutes without the sound disappearing. It seems totally randomly. When the sound breaks, I get a error message in the console. I will add the complete message when it occurs the next time but it include ...SND_PCM_.... and BROKEN_PIPE.


Now the second problem:

The game is running really nice on my girlfriends PC with lower settings and I think I can get something more with more RAM. But there is one issue that really pi**es her off: Wenn she takes her weapons or put it back, in the moment the corresponding sound occurs, the whole game stops for 1 or a half second and than it goes on. It does not seem to be a problem of too less power in the PC. I can stay inside or outside with 50 or 20 fps but this always happens in the same manner. And always only in this little moment.

Ok if has some solution or hint, I would be really happy.

cu

zinion
_________________
Es ist schön und warm
hier im Gentoo-Land
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, in case you did not know there is a WoW thread which try to collect all issues and solutions https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-246098.html Thread has been cut, follow link for past posts.

Error 132 is not so much a "well known" error as a generic mesage when WoW Crashes. Windows people have it all the times too .... so not sure you can conclude anything from it.

Are you running 64bits or 32 bits system ? what kernel version ? Running 64bits here, using wineoss under cedega, no sound problem.

On your girl friend PC, what is the sound card ? does is have same problem if she create other characters or use different weapon ? May try to include driver in kernel is possible...

(I had few seconds freeze when I was using too high settings even though my fps were still good. may be a wine bias here. worth checking)
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Septor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The best way to fix stuttering on WoW with an ATI card is to run in OpenGL mode. Just run it as "Cedega WoW.exe -opengl". That should fix your girlfriend's pausing problem (I know because I have the same thing with my Radeon 9800XT). The OpenGL framerate might be a little lower than the DX9, but that pausing is much more annoying to me than a couple of FPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zinion
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Oct 2004
Posts: 541
Location: Ruhgebietshausen

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Error 132 is not the problem, I don't get it when I don't use MMAP as I described.

The soundcard in my girlfriends PC is the nforce2s onBoard


Code:

# lsmod
...
snd_intel8x0           27328  1
snd_ac97_codec         68216  1 snd_intel8x0
snd_pcm                76040  2 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              19588  1 snd_pcm
snd                    44388  6 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_page_alloc          7428  2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
...


I think the driver is compiled into the kernel. Will check it with another Char, too but I dont believe in this.

OpenGL is not an option. The target circles are not visible there and it's my girlfriends first time playing a game intensively she can't go without them. Also in generel gameplay, there are no fps-problems...

I only bought this card because I got it for only 30€ but I will simply replace it by an nvidia. I remember the ATi-issues on my amd64 well and replaced that too. So I will check it with OpenGL and if this is true I replace the card.
_________________
Es ist schön und warm
hier im Gentoo-Land
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Septor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zinion wrote:

OpenGL is not an option. The target circles are not visible there and it's my girlfriends first time playing a game intensively she can't go without them. Also in generel gameplay, there are no fps-problems...


Ya, Blizzard needs to learn how to use OpenGL properly... their coplanar polygon algorithm sucks...

There is not an FPS problem as such... only that when I target something for the first time there is a slight pause (like it is loading the portrait of the target almost). OpenGL does not do this and neither does Windows with Direct3D.

For sound, try the wineoss driver. Even though you are using alsa, it can be much more stable to use the kernel's ALSA OSS emulation and Cedega's OSS driver. This fixed random crashes for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zinion
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Oct 2004
Posts: 541
Location: Ruhgebietshausen

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try oss - but most people have huge problems with oss and wow. Anyway, i'll give it a try.

I don't have any stability problems. The game never crashed since I'm playing it. Only the sound :D
_________________
Es ist schön und warm
hier im Gentoo-Land
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
curtis119
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 2160
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA, North America, Earth, SOL System, Milky Way, The Universe, The Cosmos, and Beyond.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Gamers & Players to Duplicate Threads.

Please use the main WoW install and support thread. Thanks.

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-246098.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum