Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge --sync !!! 'str' object has no attribute 'insert'
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DingbatCA
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 384
Location: Portland Or

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 2:55 pm    Post subject: emerge --sync !!! 'str' object has no attribute 'insert' Reply with quote

OK, I am stuck on this one.
Trying to get gentoo installed on a cobalt RaQ2
did the emerge --sync and then got:

!!! 'str' object has no attribute 'insert'
!!! 'rm -Rf /usr/portage/profiles; emerge sync' may fix this. If it does
!!! not then please report this to bugs.gentoo.org and, if possible, a dev
!!! on #gentoo (irc.freenode.org)

So went googling, found a lot of people talking about the /etc/make.profile
so I fixed mine.
/etc/make.profile -> /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/mips/cobalt/2005.0/

But the error still will not go away.
so tried the
'rm -Rf /usr/portage/profiles; emerge sync'
still no luck.
Found a few very good bits of info in the forums. Nothing new

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Versable
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On a ~x86
Code:
cd /etc/
rm make.profile
ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-x86-1.4 make.profile

then a
Code:
emerge --sync

should fix it

not sure what your box uses as architecture, but you can look at the available architectures using this:

Code:
ls /usr/portage/profiles/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DingbatCA
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 384
Location: Portland Or

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no luck.
my system is a Cobalt RaQ2 running a mips CPU, so mips architecture.

tried
/etc/make.profile -> /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/mips/cobalt/2005.0/
/etc/make.profile -> /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/mips/2005.0/

Both came up with the same problem... any more ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DingbatCA
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 384
Location: Portland Or

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FIXED! Got it... What a Pain
OK, for those who are also having this problem on a mips system, here is the path I took.

Dont let it look at the current profile link
#rm /etc/make.profile

You need to let the system no that it is a mips CPU
add ARCH="mips" to your make.conf

then install the newest version of the portage software
#ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="mips" emerge portage

Good, now to fix the profile. (adjust for your system)
#cd /etc
#ln -sf /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/mips/cobalt/2005.0/ make.profile

Last step clean up your make.conf, so del the ARCH line.
Hope this helps.
DingbatCA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you think to have a look at this thread?

That error message definately looks like you're using the old 2004.2 stages... which are out of date now.
I'm yet to push the newer 2005.0 ones out to mirrors.... but it's on my TODO list. :-)
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DingbatCA
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 384
Location: Portland Or

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I am/was using the 2004.2 stages (stage 3)
Humm, you have newer stages on your site... Perhaps...
downloading...
I will let you know how it goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DingbatCA
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 384
Location: Portland Or

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Humm, moved to stage 3 2005.0
still getting an error that had me stuck last time.
any ideas?

emerge mips-sources.....

* >>> Patching kernel for Cobalt support ...

* Cannot find $EPATCH_SOURCE! Value for $EPATCH_SOURCE is:
*
* /var/tmp/portage/mips-sources-2.6.10-r4/work/mips-patches/misc-2.6.9-cobalt-support.patch
* ( misc-2.6.9-cobalt-support.patch )


!!! ERROR: sys-kernel/mips-sources-2.6.10-r4 failed.
!!! Function epatch, Line 219, Exitcode 0
!!! Cannot find $EPATCH_SOURCE!
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tukachinchila
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Mar 2005
Posts: 274
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the solution DingbatCA! I was getting the exact same error message on my xbox (gentoox), and your solution worked there with only minor modifications:
Code:
rm /etc/make.profile
echo 'ARCH="x86"' >> /etc/make.conf
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86" emerge portage
cd /etc
ln -sf /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.0/2.4/ make.profile

After removing ARCH="x86" from /etc/make.conf everything was back to normal. I may have only needed to remove /etc/make.profile, and then emerge portage, but I figured your solution wouldn't hurt anything, and it worked perfectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meyerm
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1311
Location: Munich / Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you! Just saved my evening.

(would have forgotten to prepend the ACCEPT_KEYWORDS variable ;-) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lviz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DingbatCA wrote:
FIXED! Got it... What a Pain
DingbatCA


yep what a pain
thanks oh so much :)

cheers
L
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Royal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 78
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys,

I have exactly the same problem.
Code:

ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-x86-1.4 make.profile

does not work because there is no profile like that. I _have_ to take something out of /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/.

When I try the solution with the make.conf settings it seems to work. But an 'emerge portage' stops at 'File to patch:'

What's it about?

Complete log:
Code:

cvsint root # emerge portage


!!! /etc/make.profile is not a symlink and will probably prevent most merges.
!!! It should point into a profile within /usr/portage/profiles/
!!! (You can safely ignore this message when syncing. It's harmless.)


Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) sys-apps/portage-2.0.51.22-r2 to /
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) portage-2.0.51.22.tar.bz2
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking portage-2.0.51.22.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/portage-2.0.51.22-r2
/work
/usr/sbin/ebuild.sh: line 1: sed: command not found
/usr/sbin/ebuild.sh: line 27: cd: /var/tmp/portage/portage-2.0.51.22-r2/work/por
tage-2.0.51.22: No such file or directory
can't find file to patch at input line 4
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|diff -uNr portage-2.0.51.22/ChangeLog portage-2.0.51.22-r2/ChangeLog
|--- portage-2.0.51.22/ChangeLog        2005-05-15 19:20:58.000000000 +0900
|+++ portage-2.0.51.22-r2/ChangeLog     2005-07-19 19:37:44.159904000 +0900
--------------------------
File to patch:

_________________
A preposition is a bad word to end a sentence with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Royal: Ohh, umm... your version of portage is ancient.

Have a squiz at /usr/portage/sys-apps/portage/files/README.RESCUE, and follow the instructions there.
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:43 pm    Post subject: Sed MIA? Reply with quote

Similar troubles here. I did the work around described above. I was able to update portage however I ran into a problem while doing emerge -u system. It crashed on texinfo because sed was not found (similar to Royal).

Code:
#emerge -s sed
      *  sys-apps/sed
      Latest version available: 4.1.4
      Latest version installed: 4.1.4
      Size of downloaded files: 775 kB
      Homepage:    http://sed.sourceforge.net/
      Description: Super-useful stream editor
      License:     GPL-2

# find . -name sed -print
./var/tmp/portage/sed-4.1.4/work/sed-4.1.4/sed
./usr/portage/eclass/ELT-patches/sed
./usr/portage/sys-apps/sed

# emerge  sed
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) sys-apps/sed-4.1.4 to /
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) sed-4.1.4.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking sed-4.1.4.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/sed-4.1.4/work
 * Applying sed-4.1.4-makeinfo-c-locale.patch ...                         [ ok ]
 * Applying sed-4.1.4-fix-invalid-ref-error.patch ...                     [ ok ]
/usr/lib/portage/bin/ebuild.sh: line 43: sed: command not found

!!! ERROR: sys-apps/sed-4.1.4 failed.
!!! Function src_unpack, Line 45, Exitcode 127
!!! sed html doc
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.


Any suggestions on how I should proceed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Royal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 78
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Redhatter. That helped.

Now I have the problem that Monger shows. Here is my thread (German) https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2686729.html#2686729

Generally: emerge can't find sed - emerge sed does not work, cause it can't find sed : )

Any Ideas?

Royal
_________________
A preposition is a bad word to end a sentence with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No idea there.... Perhaps download a binpkg for 'sed'? Although it seems odd that a core system utility should go running off like that. I'd check to see if /bin/sed exists.
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Royal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 78
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No it does not exist. After checking if the sed files are there I unmerged sed. While unmerging I recognized a 'gsed' which was unmerged.
Maybe only an alias was missing.

Well now my task is to install sed. Neither binaries dont work because ./configure uses sed as well.

I'm currently on a quickpkg solution that has been mentioned in my German thread.

I'm very interested in this vicious circle between emerge and sed.

Royal
_________________
A preposition is a bad word to end a sentence with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Royal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 78
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Solution:

I have gotten a .tbz2 package from a guy and had to do the following:

Put
Code:
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"

in your /etc/make.conf

Then create
/usr/portage/packages
/usr/portage/packages/All
/usr/portage/packages/sys-apps

Put the package into sys-apps and link it to ../All
Code:
ln -s /usr/portage/packages/sys-apps/sed-4.1.4.tbz2 /usr/portage/packages/All/


Then do an
Code:
emerge -k sed


That helped me to get it running again. Now I'm scared to do an realy realy big emerge world but thats another topic.

If you want the file send me a pm with your email.

Royal
_________________
A preposition is a bad word to end a sentence with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:56 pm    Post subject: Sed MIA Reply with quote

Sorry for the slow response, was out of town. I copied sed from another server and was able to emerge sed. I'm now running emerge -u system and all is going well so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After updating GCC the next package failed. GCC was now broke. After a panic attack I found this thread which resolved the issue.
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-27486-highlight-compiler+binary+path.html

Hopefully there won't be anymore surprises.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LarryLeffa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 24
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2005 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found a gentoo-firewall today built by me in 2003 and started to update the whole system. :roll:

Fixed the problem of "emerge sync worked but won't update portage cause of missing (or wrong) profile" by

Code:
rm /etc/make.profile && ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/obsolete/x86 /etc/make.profile && emerge portage


Then I did a correct symlink to the 2005.1 profile and everything else worked like a charm.

Good luck!
_________________
- Es gibt keine Probleme, nur Lösungen! -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Gentoo on Alternative Architectures to Duplicate Threads in favour of 'str' object has no attribute 'insert'.
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum