Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DualG5 PowerMac 2.0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
codadilupo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3135

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 7:23 pm    Post subject: DualG5 PowerMac 2.0 Reply with quote

Hello gentooers ;-)
I've always installed gentoo on x86 macchines. Now I'm trying to install it on a friend's new PPC64. We've had some problems booting the liveCD, so I would like to know if there's some trick that automagically bring us to our goal.

We've used both gentoo 2004.3 (update 3) and gentoo 2005.0. Sure, we typed "G5 video=ofonly" at the promt.

Uh, by the way, here's some infos on the HW:

Code:
Computer Model: PowerMac7,3
Boot ROM Version: 5.2.4f1
BUS serial-ATA (two WD disks)
VideoCard: ATI Radeo 9600 VRAM 128 (Model Chipset: ATYRV351)


Thanks to all,
Coda
_________________
# emerge -C gelmini
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What problems, exactly ?
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codadilupo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3135

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

adaptr wrote:
What problems, exactly ?


nothing: simply it desn't boot ;-)

I type G5 video=ofonly, then it start to show some dmsg and it stop itself here

Code:
mpic: Setting up mpic "U3-MPIC" version 1.2 at f8040000, max 4 CPUs
mpic: ISU size: 124, shift: 7, mask: 7f
mpic: initializing for 124 sources
PID hash table entries: 4096 (order: 12, 131072 bytes)
time_init: decrementer frequency = 33.333333 Mhz
smp_core99_probe
smp_core99_kick_cpu
smp_core99_kick_cpu_done


now we can hear that the FAN begin to increase its velocity enormously... :-(

Coda
_________________
# emerge -C gelmini
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nigoro
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you type nothing but ENTER, how does it operate ?
And, would you try a new LiveCD in Bug #94263 ?

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=94263
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nigoro
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought from your information that it was the model in which MacOSX 10.4 (Tiger) was pre-installed.
Is it right ?

Please let me know a model number, if you don't have a problem about it.
Example: M9747LL/A

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolf3d
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 101
Location: Nibelheim

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ciao coda

I also installed gentoo on two ppc at work but with one machine I had a problem similar to yours

I had to burn a livecd on a different brand of CD (In my case I had to burn it on a rewritable disc because I had no other brand).

Try that

edit: seems I overlooked your post, the problem you described happened latter with a kernel compilation, random hangups during the boot sequence with gentoo installed... I had to put a debian because we were in a hurry :(
_________________
The Brave Do Not Fear The Grave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codadilupo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3135

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys, We've booted with the suggested nw ISO, and installed almost all system ;-)
First of all, thanks to all for that.
Now We have problems with yaboot, but I'm sure it's my own mistake, so I'll explain to you what I did, and hope someone can help me to find my error ;-)
Well, We begin installing MacOsX (we know that we have to install it before GNU/Linux, right ?). During the installation we parted the HD. One partition on the sda for MacOsX, one for the /boot and one for the swap. Then we parted the sdb with one partition for / and one for /home.
Well, we completed the installation of MacOsX, and boot with the Gentoo LiveCD.
With mac-fdisk we saw that the MacOsX Installation Wizard had created the partition_map and the bootstrap_partition, so I did not created them as explained in the HandBook.
We completed the installation of gentoo, and then we arrived at the yaboot installation. We installed the yaboot-static, as suggested. Then we tried to launch

Code:
# yabootconfig --chroot /mnt/gentoo
but yaboot said that he was not able to find out the bootstrap partition :-(

please, fustigate me, and say that it is a really stupid and recoverable error ;-)

Coda
_________________
# emerge -C gelmini
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pindar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure if I have understood what you're trying to achieve, but I had a problem that might be related: I could never get yaboot to boot from my second hard drive (sdb). Try switching the order of the drives, putting the bootloader (which is != /boot) and / on sda.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codadilupo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3135

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uh, it could be !
Actually, I was wondering why yabootconfig tried to search the apple_boot partition on sdb instead of sda: so, you're suggesting that it identifies the "booting device" following the /... uhmm... we'll try this solution.
Thanks, for now.

Coda
_________________
# emerge -C gelmini
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patxurrin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 6:25 pm    Post subject: Con Reply with quote

I have a similar machine, a dual power mac G5 with gentoo installed on secon serial ATA disk . Mi yaboot.conf is:


## Example yaboot.conf for ybin and yaboot >= 0.6
## see man yaboot.conf for more details.

## Change `unconfigured' to your bootstrap partition eg: /dev/hda2
boot=/dev/sdb4
## bootstrap partition for serial ATA on second disk
## device is the OpenFirmware device path to the disk containing
## kernel images. if your disk is /dev/hda you can find the
## OpenFirmware path by running the command: ofpath /dev/hda DO NOT
## specify a partition number for this! On IBM hardware you can
## generally comment this out.

device=sd1:
## "sd0" is the firts disk "sd1" is the secon disk.

## partition is the partition number where the kernel images are
## located. The kernel images should be on your root filesystem, so
## this is usually the same partition number as your root filesystem.
## so if root = /dev/hda3 (the 3rd partition) then you should have
## partition=3 This *MUST* be set correct or yaboot won't boot! This
## option can be either set globally as shown here, or per image in
## the image= sections

partition=6

## delay is the amount of time in seconds the dual boot menu (if one
## is configured, by the presense of macos, macosx, etc options here)
## will wait before choosing the default OS (GNU/Linux or the value of
## defaultos=). If you omit this then the value of timeout=
## (converted to seconds) will be used.

delay=10

## timeout is the amount of time in tenths of a second that yaboot
## will wait before booting the default kernel image (the first image=
## section in this config file or the value of default=).

timeout=40
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot

## Change the default colors, fgcolor is the text color, bgcolor is
## the screen background color. (default: fgcolor=white, bgcolor=black)
#fgcolor=black
#bgcolor=green

## Password supplied in plaintext, required for yaboot to boot, unless
## restricted is also present (see below). Be sure to
## chmod 600 /etc/yaboot.conf if you set this!

#password=secret

## Password supplied as an md5 hash, see above

#password=$1$saltstrg$HnJ/gcM3oKhNbnzUPgXTD/

## A password is only required to boot an image specified here if
## parameters are specified on the command line or if the user enters
## an image is not specified in the configuration file at all (ie.
## arbitrary file load). restricted can also be placed in an image
## section in that case any image not including the restricted keyword
## will be fully password protected.

#restricted

## image is the kernel itself, commonly kept in / but also commonly
## found in /boot. Note that /boot should generally not be its own
## partition on powerpcs, its not necessary and complicates things.
## Make sure /boot is on the partition specified by partition= see
## above. /boot should never be an HFS filesystem. You may point
## image= to a symbolic link so long as the symlink does not cross
## partition boundries.

ofboot=sd1:4

image=/boot/vmlinux
sysmap=/boot/System.map
label=Linux
root=/dev/sdb6
read-only
enableofboot
enablecdboot
macosx=sd0:3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codadilupo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3135

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

uff !
We're welcome to announce that installation has gone (almost) well !
We had some break 'cause of holidays, you can understand ;-)
Now we rebooted, and we have only some little problems. After boot, system says that it couldn't mount some local filesystems. It also says that /proc/openroms does not exists. I'm using udev, and I think this could be an explanation. Have you suggestions about this ? Is udev yet unstable for ppc ? In the HowTo I couldn't find anything about this issue.

Coda

P.S.: Thanks to all, again: now I'm able to manage system via ssh, and it's really better to adjust it, and faster than go to the pc-owner home ;-)
_________________
# emerge -C gelmini
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silian87
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 2318
Location: Treviso, Italy

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Udev is stable on ppc, can you tell me exactly the filesystems can't be mount at boot, thanks.
_________________
Musica che ascolto: http://www.last.fm/user/silian87/

Silian87 FAQs: http://marentax.homelinux.org/~silian87/silian87-faq.txt

GTalk: silian87@gmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codadilupo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3135

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

silian87 wrote:
Udev is stable on ppc, can you tell me exactly the filesystems can't be mount at boot, thanks.


ooookey, we reach our goal: config it's ok, and now the booting too...

Thanks !

Coda
_________________
# emerge -C gelmini
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum