Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
OFfb/RIVAfb Display Insanity
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Immortal Q
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2003
Posts: 241
Location: Silicone Valley

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2005 1:36 am    Post subject: OFfb/RIVAfb Display Insanity Reply with quote

Up until today, I've had a reasonably functional high-res framebuffer by passing "vga=0x31B video=ofonly:ywrap,mtrr" to the kernel via yaboot. This was achieved after much madness, and I left it be. Now, though, I need to get the refresh rates of the framebuffer and X in sync (one is 75Hz, one is 60Hz, and my display positions them differently, meaning that either X or console is wonky).

I've been doing some hunting, and there seems to be an *astounding* dearth of information on framebuffers that aren't VESA or RadeonFB. I remember seeing dire warnings about RivaFB a while back, but I can't remember why. I recompiled my kernel with Rivafb support - "video=rivafb:ywrap,mtrr" and it boots to a 640x480 console. FIne; I can fix that later. But after setting the mode properly with fbset, I get display corruption every time something pages the display really fast (hitting "tree" several times in my home directory, for example). This is annoying.

I have a GeForce4 Mx 440, and I don't know what fb driver to use. I'd like to know what driver to use, what options to pass to set tweaky things (speed is good) and my resolution (and refresh rate!) properly. ANd when all is said and done, I'd like to mess with bootsplash, or gensplash, or whatever the cool kids are playing with. ANyone have any useful info? (Please don't tell me how it works great with radeonfb/atyfb. If I had an ATI card, I'd be sitting pretty; I know.)

[SUMMARY: At this point, I'm looking for any and all information on offb and rivafb, with the hope that I can get fbset working with offb and maybe speed it up, OR get rivafb to the point that it doesn't throw buffer memory at me when it pages things while I'm running X.]
_________________
Osmos.org
Now with 20% fewer rabid primates.


Last edited by Immortal Q on Wed Jun 22, 2005 8:32 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cenrim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think, I've seen something like nvidiafb in the menuconfig of kernel 2.6.12-gentoo
*check*
yo, there is it..
Code:
   
Device Drivers  --->   
Graphics support  ---> 
<*> Support for frame buffer devices         
<*> nVidia Framebuffer Support   

I got a radeon 9200, so I can't test it myself or anything, but maybe it'll work ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Immortal Q
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2003
Posts: 241
Location: Silicone Valley

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I've enabled it, bit I seem to get some funky display corruption issues when I page the console too fast. It looks like it's dumping out pieces of the X screen I have running in the background, but all bass ackwards and screwed up, for lack of a better term. Almost looks like it's dumping out pieces of memory it shouldn't be touching.

Suffice to say, this annoys me. Different settings might fix this, but I'd really like to know what settings DO anything, and what's the best way to go about this.
_________________
Osmos.org
Now with 20% fewer rabid primates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

People with iMac like me also have nvidia video cards. I have an iMac G4
the card is a Gforce something.
At the moment I have both the OFfb and the rivafb compiled in (in the
kernel not as a module- kernel is 2.6.10-gentoo-r4 at the moment).
I have bad memories of trying to have them as modules.
That's the combination that ended up working after I was more or less
forced to leave my working kernel 2.4.xx installation. I knew there was
some problem with rivafb at the begining.
It mostly works apart from the fact that once X is started I cannot go
to the console anymore without freezing (hard) the machine (red screen
and not accessible through ssh).
I make go without the console, I have it when I boot and boot-message are
spat at it but once X start I lose it.
When I shutdown I have a red screen until the moment the computer
powers down.
I have meant to look at the problem more closely but I never found the time
and it doesn't really interfer with my daily work, so :shrug: .
For info I don't have any special instruction about the framebuffer in my
yaboot.conf:
Code:
boot=/dev/hda2

device=/pci@f2000000/mac-io@17/ata-4@1f000/disk@0

partition=8

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.10-r4
        label=new
        root=/dev/hda8
        read-only

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.7-r14
        label=linux
        root=/dev/hda8
        read-only

macos=/dev/hda6
macosx=/dev/hda4
enablecdboot
enableofboot

In my Xorg.conf however I have the following:
Code:
Section "Device"

### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option     "ShadowFB"                  # [<bool>]
#Option     "VGAClocks"                 # [<bool>]
#Option     "KGAUniversal"              # [<bool>]
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "nv"
        VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
        BoardName   "NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400]"
        Option      "FlatPanel"
#Driver         "fbdev"
        BusID       "PCI:0:16:0"
EndSection


With my old kernel 2.4.xx I didn't have those trouble.
Francois
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Immortal Q
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2003
Posts: 241
Location: Silicone Valley

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmmm - you might try adding "video=ofonly" or "video=rivafb" just to tell the kernel which to use. dmesg should tell you what framebuffer has control, somewhere after the AGP loading status lines. That red screen thing is a bit wierd, but then, my little corruption issue happens only when I boot into an umodified (read: 640x480) console, switch to X in high-res, then switch back to a console, and fbset it to high resolution. Tyen and only then does that console proceed to freak out. This is with rivafb. I could probably use openFB no problem, but it seems like rivaFB would be faster, in theory. I keep hoping for some 'riva vs OpenFB FAQ'.
_________________
Osmos.org
Now with 20% fewer rabid primates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After inspection of dmesg it looks like rivafb has the control since
the begining.
Code:
Generic RTC Driver v1.07
Macintosh non-volatile memory driver v1.1
rivafb: nVidia device/chipset 10DE0110
rivafb: nVidia Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400]
rivafb: Detected CRTC controller 0 being used
rivafb: setting virtual Y resolution to 32768
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
rivafb: PCI nVidia NV11 framebuffer ver 0.9.5b (32MB @ 0x98000000)
vga16fb: initializing
vga16fb: mapped to 0x000a0000
fb1: VGA16 VGA frame buffer device
mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
io scheduler noop registered
io scheduler anticipatory registered
io scheduler deadline registered
io scheduler cfq registered
RAMDISK driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 4096K size 1024 blocksize

And there is no further mention of the framebuffer after that.
However I have plenty of messages:
Code:
Linux agpgart interface v0.100 (c) Dave Jones
agpgart: Detected Apple UniNorth/Pangea chipset
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 440M
agpgart: configuring for size idx: 4
agpgart: AGP aperture is 16M @ 0x0
USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver v2.2
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/2
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/a2
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/a8
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/9
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/a9
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/10
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/a10
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/11
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/a11
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/a2
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/a3
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/4
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/a4
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/5
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/a5
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/6
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/a6
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/7
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/a7
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/8
PHY ID: 1378e2, addr: 0
eth0: Link is up at 10 Mbps, half-duplex.
eth0: Pause is disabled
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/2
devfs_mk_dev: could not append to parent for vcc/3

I remember vaguely (it has been some time since I touched
the configuration) that if I didn't include OFfb I wouldn't
have any display at all. At some point during the boot process
my console go wrong. It stop going up and I never actually see
the login prompt, I suspect it is "displayed" out of the screen
if you know what i mean.

Francois
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Immortal Q
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2003
Posts: 241
Location: Silicone Valley

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I recall correctly, when I used ofFB, I passed a vga=0x31A (or similar value) parameter to set the boot resolution and color depth. As a matter of fact, this whole charade started because I couldn't find a way for that value to specify a refresh rate.
_________________
Osmos.org
Now with 20% fewer rabid primates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Immortal Q wrote:
If I recall correctly, when I used ofFB, I passed a vga=0x31A (or similar value) parameter to set the boot resolution and color depth. As a matter of fact, this whole charade started because I couldn't find a way for that value to specify a refresh rate.


A refresh rate. The story of my problem on x86. With vesa-tng you are able to do
that in principle... In practice it doesn't always work, especially if you have a LCD screen.
On x86 the kernel refuse my resolution 1280x1024@60 and insist to set that resolution at
87Hz which is out of the range of my monitor.
So in theory there is some support for refresh rate fixing but in practice it is shaky.
I don't remember what you need to do on ppc to have the vesa-tng support.
I think you need to emerge splash-utils which is in ~ppc. There used to be a
sticky thread about that.

Francois
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Immortal Q
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2003
Posts: 241
Location: Silicone Valley

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess I'll check those out. In theory, 1280x1024@60 should be fine with my monitor (as a matter of fact, it'd be *ideal*) but I can't achieve that with offb for some reason. And fbset only works with rivafb, with which I seem to have some other interesting issues.
_________________
Osmos.org
Now with 20% fewer rabid primates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OFfb is indeed very limited, I remember in the 2.4.xx kernel it could not
work in more than 16 bit color or something like this. Anyway I will
probably do a few experiment soon as I had to dig a little a bit for this
thread and found some ugly stuff in my current config :roll: .

Francois
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After doing a few thing on my system so that it behaves a little
better I have now no console at all. From /var/log/message:
Code:
Jun 30 16:53:02 it019727 VFS: Mounted root (reiserfs filesystem) readonly.
Jun 30 16:53:02 it019727 Freeing unused kernel memory: 152k init 4k chrp 8k prep
Jun 30 16:53:02 it019727 Warning: unable to open an initial console.
Jun 30 16:53:02 it019727 Adding 524280k swap on /dev/hda7.  Priority:-1 extents:1

I have tried quite a few combination of options in the kernel as well
as in yaboot.conf.
At the moment while I don't have an initial console or subsequent console
I have a boot screen until the message about the console is displayed.
After that, nothing is added until X kicks in. With a few combination
of option I don't get past the OpenFirmware boot screen until X kicks in.
What is it that I am missing that would enable me to have a console?
The computer is an iMac G4 (with a nvidia card) and here is emerge info:
Code:
Portage 2.0.51.19 (default-linux/ppc/2005.0, gcc-3.4.4, glibc-2.3.4.20041102-r1, 2.6.10-gentoo-r6 ppc)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.10-gentoo-r6 ppc 7450, altivec supported
Gentoo Base System version 1.6.12
Python:              dev-lang/python-2.3.5 [2.3.5 (#1, Jun 11 2005, 15:37:00)]
dev-lang/python:     2.3.5
sys-apps/sandbox:    [Not Present]
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.59-r6, 2.13
sys-devel/automake:  1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.5, 1.4_p6, 1.6.3, 1.9.5
sys-devel/binutils:  2.15.90.0.3-r5
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.16
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.8.1-r4
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="ppc"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-O2 -mcpu=7450 -pipe -maltivec -mabi=altivec -mpowerpc-gfxopt -fsigned-char -frename-registers -fweb-fno-strict-aliasing"
CHOST="powerpc-unknown-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/env /usr/kde/3.3/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/shutdown /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/lib/X11/xkb /usr/share/config /usr/share/texmf/dvipdfm/config/ /usr/share/texmf/dvips/config/ /usr/share/texmf/tex/generic/config/ /usr/share/texmf/tex/platex/config/ /usr/share/texmf/xdvi/ /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -mcpu=7450 -pipe -maltivec -mabi=altivec -mpowerpc-gfxopt -fsigned-char -frename-registers -fweb -fno-strict-aliasing"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoaddcvs autoconfig ccache distlocks sandbox sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://ftp.vic.keypoint.com.au http://mirrors.tds.net/gentoo ftp://mirrors.tds.net/gentoo http://mirror.tucdemonic.org/gentoo/"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="ppc X aalib alsa altivec arts berkdb bitmap-fonts cdf cdparanoia cdr crypt cups curl dvd dvdr emboss esd f77 fam fbcon flac foomaticdb fortran gd gdbm ggi gif gpm graphviz gtk gtk2 imagemagick imlib imlib2 ipv6 java jbig jpeg jpeg2k kde lcms libwww live mad mikmod motif mp3 mpeg ncurses netcdf network nls nptl ogg oggvorbis opengl oss pam pdflib perl plotutils png ppds python qt readline samba sdl slang spell ssl szip tcltk tcpd tetex theora tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts unicode vorbis wmf xine xml xml2 xmms xprint xv zlibuserland_GNU kernel_linux elibc_glibc"
Unset:  ASFLAGS, CBUILD, CTARGET, LANG, LC_ALL, LDFLAGS, LINGUAS, PORTDIR_OVERLAY


Thanks
Francois
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Immortal Q
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2003
Posts: 241
Location: Silicone Valley

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's your current Kernel Config look like (with regard to framebuffer/console options) and your yaboot.conf?

(emerge info is cool, but doesn't do that much for this pahrticular issue IHMO)
_________________
Osmos.org
Now with 20% fewer rabid primates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, it looks like this:
Code:
 [*] Support for frame buffer devices
---   Enable Video Mode Handling Helpers
[ ]   Enable Tile Blitting Support
< >   Cirrus Logic support
< >   Permedia2 support
< >   CyberPro 2000/2010/5000 support
[*]   Open Firmware frame buffer device support
[ ]   Apple "control" display support
[ ]   Apple "platinum" display support
[ ]   Apple "valkyrie" display support
[ ]   Chips 65550 display support
[ ]   Chips 69000 display support
[ ]   IMS Twin Turbo display support
< >   VGA 16-color graphics support
<*> nVidia Riva support
[*]   Enable DDC Support
[ ]   Lots of debug output from Riva(nVidia) driver
< > Matrox acceleration
< > ATI Radeon display support (Old driver)
< > ATI Radeon display support
< > ATI Rage128 display support
< > ATI Mach64 display support
< > S3 Savage support
< > SiS acceleration
< > NeoMagic display support
< > IMG Kyro support
< > 3Dfx Banshee/Voodoo3 display support
< > 3Dfx Voodoo Graphics (sst1) support
< > Trident support
< > Virtual Frame Buffer support (ONLY FOR TESTING!)
      Console display driver support  --->
       Logo configuration  --->
[ ] Support for the framebuffer splash

and:
Code:
[*] VGA text console
<*> Framebuffer Console support
[*]   Select compiled-in fonts
[ ]     VGA 8x8 font
[*]     VGA 8x16 font
[ ]     Mac console 6x11 font (not supported by all drivers)
[ ]     Pearl (old m68k) console 8x8 font
[ ]     Acorn console 8x8 font
[ ]     Mini 4x6 font
[ ]     Sparc console 8x16 font
[ ]     Sparc console 12x22 font (not supported by all drivers)

I have nothing checked in the boot-logo menu.
Deselecting "Framebuffer Console support" leads to the absence of any
boot screen after the openfirmware bootscreen. I don't remember
"VGA 16-color" making a lot of difference.
the relevant yaboot section is:
Code:
image=/boot/kernel-2.6.10-r6
        label=newer
        root=/dev/hda8
        video=ofonly
        read-only
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum