Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
new to ppc
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
crazyzed
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 8:10 am    Post subject: new to ppc Reply with quote

Hi guys, I could use some help with the installation of gentoo!
I use gentoo on my amd64 machine but now I've got my hands on a ppc and want to try and run linux on that one!

I know NOTHING about ppc or macOS, I don't even know what processor is inside...and what's worse, I don't know how to find out!!
The only thing I know about the machine is that is says Motorola PowerPC on the shell, it's got a CD and a floppy.

I have downloaded and burned the gentoo CD but I have no clue how to boot it???

The machine has served as a printserver for a Xerox printer and has a MacOS compatible OS. And it's old!

So how do I make this work?? :) first of all, how do I boot it and what processor is inside?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AaronPPC
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 522
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

crazyred,

Quote:
I know NOTHING about ppc or macOS, I don't even know what processor is inside...and what's worse, I don't know how to find out!!


If it will still boot into MacOS (sounds like it will be OS8), you can find all your system information with System Profiler. It should be somewhere under the Apple menu.

It sounds like you have an Old World Mac, you will have to use BootX to boot into the installation CD. The instructions for this is with the install instructions at http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-ppc.xml
_________________
--Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freelight
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jun 2004
Posts: 295
Location: NYC, NY, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in a similar position as you, but I figured out that you should be able to boot the CD by holding down the C button while it's rebooting. And once you're in Linux, take a look at /proc/cpuinfo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentonix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That doesn't work in OldWorld macs. The only way to boot the installation cd with an OldWorld mac seems to be BootX.

System profiler is the way to go, but you could also try to indentify the Mac by looking at some pictures:

http://www.lowendmac.com/profiles.htm
http://www.everymac.com/systems/by_casetype/index.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazyzed
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, thanx guys... I have downloaded the BootX_1.2.2.sit file and now comes next problem...
I can't open sit files??... so can anyone recomend a small simple program that opens sit files, and remeber that my macos is probably a very old version :S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dageyra
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 194
Location: Terre Haute, IN

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm also trying to get a gentoo install setup on an oldword mac. I have a G3 that was given to me with OSX installed. I'm coming from an intel mindset, so I just want to wipe it clean and run with gentoo (which I have successfully setup on a production server, backup server, and my acer laptop).

I followed the steps for bootx located at http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-ppc.xml?part=1&chap=2. This part is pretty straightforward:
Quote:

First, download BootX and unpack the archive. Copy the the BootX Extension from the unpacked archive into Extensions Folder and the BootX App Control Panel into Control Panels, both of which are located in your MacOS System Folder. Next, create a folder called "Linux Kernels" in your System folder and copy the G3G4 kernel from the CD to this folder. Finally, copy G3G4.igz from the Installation CD boot folder into the MacOS System Folder.


However, when selecting the ram disk image, the mac freezes. Nothing I can do short of a hard reset fixes the problem. I really don't know much at all about macs, so I'm at a standstill regarding debugging techniques. I'm contemplating a net install, if that's even possible. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazyzed
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanx guys!
ok, I've got the Gentoo CD running now :D
And I've come to the part in the guide where I configure the make.config file.
I want to configure CFLAGS with the -mcpu= flag but I still don't know what processor I've got :(

I checked the link http://www.everymac.com/systems/by_casetype/index.html
And by looking at the computer shells I guess it's either a "Motorloa StarMax 3000" or a "StarMax 4000"...but how can I know for sure if it's the 603e or the 604e cpu?????

I tried looking at /proc/cpuinfo but there is no such file :S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentonix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you don't know what CPU it is, then it's probably safest that you leave the -mcpu= out.

Note that it says in the make.conf file that
CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe -mcpu=750"
will work fine for all G3 and pre machines. So if you're using gcc 3.2.x or higher, you could also try that. Of course you should probably use "-Os" if you have little RAM. Check /proc/meminfo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazyzed
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i found out that it's a 604e using 'uname' :) still don't know what mhz but that doesn't matter right now!

BUT..there's something else now... I'm at the point where I should configure my bootloader, that is BootX cuz this is an oldworld ppc...
I try doing as told:
Quote:
cdimage ~# mkdir /mnt/mac
cdimage ~# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/mac -t hfs
cdimage ~# cp /mnt/gentoo/usr/src/linux/vmlinux "/mnt/mac/System Folder/Linux Kernels"

but I get:
Quote:
VFS: Can't find a HFS filesystem on dev hda1.
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1,
or too many mounted file systems


I guess I deleted too many partitions during the early state of the installation????
when I do mac-fdisk -l
/dev/hda1 Apple_partition_map Apple 63 @ 1 31.5k
/dev/hda2 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap 1048576 @ 64 512M
/dev/hda3 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root 15465424 @ 1048640 7.4G
is what I get.

I didn't use MacOS X, it was some older version??

what's there to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentonix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks bad. /dev/hda1 is the partition map, you can't mount that. You're supposed to mount your MacOS partition which seems to exist no more. You need to have MacOS present in order to use BootX, even after the install. You could try Quik, it doesn't need MacOs, but it's not going to be an easy setup

http://penguinppc.org/bootloaders/quik/

But the only easy way is to reinstall MacOS.


Last edited by gentonix on Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentonix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can try these instructions for Quik

http://www.rockhopper.dk/linux/powerbook/booting-with-quik.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heavyt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Posts: 498
Location: Matrix (Washington,DC)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you look at Quik Bootloader
"Quik is an Open Firmware-based bootloader for Old World Macintosh with Open Firmware version < 3.0, CHRP, and Apple Network Servers. It's similar (in purpose and concept) to yaboot, which is used on CHRP and New World Macintosh with Open Firmware version >= 3.0. It does not run from Mac OS, and does not require Mac OS or an HFS partition to exist on your harddrive....." Here is the site http://www.penguinppc.org/bootloaders/quik/ . I have never used it.

If you can, try to copy /mnt/gentoo/usr/src/linux/vmlinux to a floppy or upload it if you have those options for safe keeping.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heavyt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Posts: 498
Location: Matrix (Washington,DC)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Man you guys are fast. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazyzed
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok... well at least there is a chance to get it running then :)
I'm going to take a look at it this weekend!

thanks for the help!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum