Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mkraid /dev/md0 says 'cannot determine md version: 6.'
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fast40x
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:14 pm    Post subject: mkraid /dev/md0 says 'cannot determine md version: 6.' Reply with quote

I am installing Gentoo 2005.0 over top of my Redhat installation. I copied my /etc/raidtab from my old partition. I ran MAKEDEV md and then mkraid.

mkraid /dev/md0 says "cannot determine md version: 6."

I have tried with and without the boot option DOSCSI.

I read somewhere that someone had a problem with the same output, and ended up fixing it by recompiling without RAID 6.

Is there anything I can do to get this to work? Here is my old raidtab:
Code:
raiddev             /dev/md0
raid-level                  1
nr-raid-disks               2
chunk-size                  64k
persistent-superblock       1
nr-spare-disks              0
    device          /dev/sda5
    raid-disk     0
    device          /dev/sdb5
    raid-disk     1
... parts ommitted for brevity...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ansient
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Jan 2005
Posts: 445
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try using mdadm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fast40x
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had tried mdadm, it gave me the same thing.

I think I got this all figured out, though.

The first thing I did to start getting me on the right track is

Code:
modprobe md


It was in the instructions, but I missed it.

then I realized I shouldn't be doing the mkraid in the first place, but rather:

Code:
raidstart


after that, mounting the systems was a breeze.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lajasha
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 1040
Location: Vibe Central

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ansient wrote:
try using mdadm


I second this, if you go with it and get used to the commands you wont have to worry about keeping that damn raidtab file.
_________________
Come and play in my land
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zecora
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 627
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Gentoo_Install_on_Software_RAID_mirror_and_LVM2_on_top_of_RAID

follow that.

just make sure, after you mount proc you create the md*. So what i did was something like this

Code:
mknod /mnt/gentoo/dev/md0 b 9 0


Then so on and so on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7694
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See this thread.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum