Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cpufreqd problems with dynamic
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1554
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 12:42 pm    Post subject: cpufreqd problems with dynamic Reply with quote

cpufreqd on my iBook G3 doesn't switch cpu frequencies according to cpu usage.
Code:
[Rule]
name=acon_highcpu
ac=on
cpu_interval=50-100
profile=performance

[Rule]
name=acon_lowcpu
ac=on
cpu_interval=0-50
profile=powersave

Switching to ac=off works well, but with ac=on, cpufreqd always says
Code:
get_cpu(): CPU usage = 100
Code:
#top
Cpu(s): 13.2% us,  5.5% sy ....
I would prefer to use the governor ondemand, but this doesn't work eventhough it is listed in scaling_availabe_governors.
Then I could do a simple switching between powersave and ondemand with pmcs-pbbuttonsd.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stimuli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cpudyn does what you want right off the bat.

It switches to higher frequencies only when needed and keeps low during 'normal' usage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum