Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
yaboot issues
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sinalinalin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 4:41 pm    Post subject: yaboot issues Reply with quote

I'm having problems updating yaboot using ybin after my original configuration. I originally setup yaboot.conf incorrectly and need to change it, but whenever I run ybin -v, I get the following errors:

ybin: /dev/sda2: No such file or directory
ybin: /dev/nvram: No such file or directory
ybin: Warning: nvram will not be update

----------

/dev/sda2 is the partition of my Apple_Bootstrap. I haven't changed anything since I ran my original mkofboot. Do I need to mount something that isn't mounted? I am booting from the minimal install cd.

thanks for any help,
-alyn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blue.sca
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 680
Location: Mainz, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

booting from the livecd then
Code:

mount /dev/lala /mnt/gentoo
mount -t proc /proc/ /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount -o bind /dev/ /mnt/gentoo/dev

of course replace lala with your hda*. this should work then.
_________________
geek by nature, linux by choice
i want my avatar back... thank you
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinalinalin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That seemed to work, thanks. I am still not getting Gentoo to boot, but it's probably my yaboot.conf file, at least I can update it now.

Much appreciated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blue.sca
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 680
Location: Mainz, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

post you yaboot.conf along with your partition table and we might be able to help you, if you want :)
_________________
geek by nature, linux by choice
i want my avatar back... thank you
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinalinalin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can now restart my computer and it starts to work without the CD, but it has a kernel panic with the error message:

VFS: cannot open root device 'sda4' or unknown block [8,4]
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown block [8,4]

I don't know if this is a yaboot.conf problem, but here it is:

boot=/dev/sda2
device=/ht@0,f2000000/pci@7/k2-sata-root@c/k2-sata@1/disk@0:
partition=4
root=/dev/sda4
timeout=30
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot

fgcolor=white
bgcolor=blue

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r8
label=linux
read-only

Partition Table:

/dev/sda1 Apple_partition_map Apple 31.5k
/dev/sda2 Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap 800k
/dev/sda3 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap 1.0G
/dev/sda4 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root 14.1G
/dev/sda5 Apple_HFS Apple_HFS_Untitled_2 217.8G
/dev/sda6 Apple_Free 8k

I have been looking on these forums and found similar problems, but none of the solutions have worked for me yet. Maybe my kernel is not configured correctly, I don't know.

Thanks for any help,
alyn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I am not sure what kind of filesystem is "Apple_UNIX_SVR2"
did you get this information from macOSX?
mine is more like this:

/dev/hda8 / reiserfs
/dev/hda7 none swap
/dev/hda9 /home reiserfs
/dev/hda4 /mnt/OSX hfsplus

Most people here will use ext3 instead of reiserfs. Note also
that the swap partition is of type "swap".
From your error message it seems to me that whatever file system
you have you don't have support for it compiled in the kernel.
Having your root partition file system type compiled as a module is
not enough it has to be "compiled in" (a "*" not a "M" in menuconfig).

Hope that helps,
Francois
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinalinalin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The filesystem for the root is ext3. The information from before is what mac-fdisk says, but I don't think it knows what its talking about. I have support for the ext3 file system in the kernel, it was there by default anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that was worth a shot. Return to square one.
It looks like you cannot access your disk or nvram from
your initial post about ybin -v output.
We should start from there. Why don't you have /dev/sda2
or /dev/nvram ?
Do you have powerpc-utils installed? I think that's what you
need to access nvram and so on. They probably are also options
to select in the kernel but they should be selected by default for
ppc.

Also in yaboot.conf, I would put "root=/dev/sd4" after "image=..."
but that is probably nitpicking and I doubt your problem will be
solved by this.

Francois
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinalinalin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your continuing help. I do have access to /dev/sda2 and /dev/nvram now, blue.sca helped me out with the mount -o bind /dev/ /mnt/gentoo/dev command, which worked perfectly. (I knew it was something simple like that).

I have no problem messing with the kernel now after restarts, but I still cannot get my computer to fully boot without the CD, there is a kernel panic each time. Now when I try to boot, my USB keyboard gives me a kernel panic:

input: USB HID v1.10 Device [Mitsumi Electric Apple Extended USB Keyboard] on usb-0001:02:0b.2-4.1.3

...rebooting in 180 seconds...

Now, if I unplug all my USB cables from my computer, it gets past that part but still freezes at my original error. (not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(8,4).

rebooting in 180 seconds...

Ok, so I now have two problems, USB problems and this VFS issue which I have no clue about. Is there anyway to somehow copy the config of the kernel on the livecd, and use those basic settings to setup my kernel? Are there downloadable kernels on the net somewhere?

Maybe this isn't even a kernel issue, maybe it is still a yaboot issue, but I doubt it because it seems to want to boot up, but there is an incorrect setting somewhere.

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can give, this has been very frustrating to say the least.

-alyn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I think there is repository of kernel config somewhere,
but let's start by you giving us the details of your hardware.
I need that before I can say here is my kernel config it
works for me try it.
I have an iMac G4 with 15' flat panel. If you have same,
no problem otherwise better find someone else config.
Also you may find the config from the liveCD by looking
in /proc . On my computer I have a file /proc/config.gz
which if I am right should be my kernel config. If you use
this, don't forget do gunzip it first.

Francois
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blue.sca
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 680
Location: Mainz, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

please post your /etc/fstab
_________________
geek by nature, linux by choice
i want my avatar back... thank you
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinalinalin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Dual 2.5 G5

My /etc/fstab is as follows:

/dev/sda4 / ext3 noatime 0 0
/dev/sda3 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,user 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0

I do not think that this can be the problem, but I did not use any USE variables when I configured my make.conf settings.

I start on this again in the morning...
-alyn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinalinalin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured it out. I just had to add "Macintosh Partition Support" into the kernel. I found the answer this morning in another thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum