Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cant emerge xorg-x11
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
reiman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 108
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:14 pm    Post subject: Cant emerge xorg-x11 Reply with quote

Hi
I have some problems when i emerge xorg-x11
Code:

/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.5-20050130/../../../../i686-pc-linux-gnu/                                bin/ld: cannot find -lfl
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[4]: *** [pswrap] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/xorg-x11-6.8.2-r1/work/xc/config/ps                                wrap'
make[3]: *** [../../config/pswrap/pswrap] Error 2
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/xorg-x11-6.8.2-r1/work/xc/lib/dps'
make[2]: *** [includes] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/xorg-x11-6.8.2-r1/work/xc/lib'
make[1]: *** [includes] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/xorg-x11-6.8.2-r1/work/xc'
make: *** [World] Error 2

!!! ERROR: x11-base/xorg-x11-6.8.2-r1 failed.
!!! Function build, Line 962, Exitcode 2
!!! make World failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d4mo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have an answer, but how did you get that stuff on here? Copy and paste or what? I haven't figured out how to get my log files on the net without typing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tihkal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge flex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d4mo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't get it what do I do with flex. I want to copt my /var/log/Xorg.0.log file so I can paste it onto the forums in links.

Sorry for steling ur thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reiman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 108
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d4mo wrote:
I don't get it what do I do with flex. I want to copt my /var/log/Xorg.0.log file so I can paste it onto the forums in links.

Sorry for steling ur thread

No problem. I logged in with ssh from another workstation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tihkal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, flex was the solution for the original problem. It can't find the lib fl which is part of the flex ebuild.

I assume d4mo that you want to grab the out put of an emerge from the console (no X running), there are lots of ways. You can redirect the output to a file that you can then edit to your hearts content. In bash its > to redirect to a file and >> to redirect and append to a file. You can then edit the file afterwards and select the portions you want.

So for example:
Code:

emerge foo &> my.logfile &


Will capture all of the output from the emerge. If you still want to watch it on the screen then once it is running use:

Code:

tail -f my.logfile


Last edited by tihkal on Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d4mo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want to post the log file and the config file. I knew how to do the >>. But I don't know where I would send it so I can copy and paste it I have nano and links, so I don't know if it's possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tihkal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably the easiest thing is to emerge gpm, then you cut and paste using a mouse in the console.

I'm guessing you have a mouse attached :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d4mo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

awesome I got it to work. Is there anyway I can have that automatically start when linux does?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tihkal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rc-update add gpm default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reiman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 108
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can it be my make.conf
Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
USE="-qt -kde  -gnome gtk gtk2 alsa cdr dvdr mozilla truetype pam tcpd ssl"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.europe.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://ftp.linux.ee/pub/gentoo/distfiles/ ftp://ftp.du.se/pub/os/gentoo ftp://ftp.linux.ee/pub/gentoo/distfiles/"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinkegobox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Location: Manchester, England

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Kinda new to linux. Installed my first gentoo yesterday, went to install X.org today and got this exact same error. Any ideas, anyone?

Appreciated,

Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tihkal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I take it you guys did emerge flex, and you still get the error?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reiman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 108
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tihkal wrote:
I take it you guys did emerge flex, and you still get the error?

works now thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tihkal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool

Can you add solved to the title now so others can find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Duplicate Threads in favour of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-295915.html
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum