Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Yet another "unknown_domain" post.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jmann
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 1:35 pm    Post subject: Yet another "unknown_domain" post. Reply with quote

Hi folks,

I've seen quite a lot of posts from people reporting the same problem that I have, yet all the suggestions made in replies to those posts have not worked for me.

The problem is that my system gives a login banner of "This is hydrogen.unknown_domain (Linux i686 2.6.11-gentoo-r11)". The domain name has not been set.

I originally installed 2005.0 using athlon-xp stage3. This included a version of baselayout that still used the old /etc/hostname and /etc/dnsdomainname files.

One of the first things I do after a new installation is 'emerge -Duv world', to update all the packages on the system to the latest versions. When I did this it installed a new baselayout package, version 1.11.12-r4.

The first time I rebooted after this, the init scripts told me that /etc/hostname and /etc/dnsdomainname were no longer used. I deleted /etc/hostname and /etc/dnsdomainname and made the following modfications:

/etc/conf.d/hostname:

Code:
# /etc/conf.d/hostname
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/hostname,v 1.2.4.1 2005
/02/19 02:13:53 vapier Exp $

# Set to the hostname of this machine
HOSTNAME="hydrogen"


/etc/conf.d/domainname:

Code:
# /etc/conf.d/domainname
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/domainname,v 1.1.4.1 20
05/02/19 02:13:53 vapier Exp $

# When setting up resolv.conf, what should take precedence?
# If you wish to always override DHCP/whatever, set this to 1.
OVERRIDE=1

# To have a proper FQDN, you need to setup /etc/hosts and /etc/resolv.conf
# properly (domain entry in /etc/resolv.conf, and FQDN in /etc/hosts).
#
DNSDOMAIN="home"

# This only set what /bin/hostname returns.  If you need to setup NIS, meaning
# what /bin/domainname returns, please see:
#
#   http://www.linux-nis.org/nis-howto/HOWTO/
#
#NISDOMAIN=""


My /etc/hosts file looks like:

Code:
# /etc/hosts:  This file describes a number of hostname-to-address
#              mappings for the TCP/IP subsystem.  It is mostly
#              used at boot time, when no name servers are running.
#              On small systems, this file can be used instead of a
#              "named" name server.  Just add the names, addresses
#              and any aliases to this file...
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/hosts,v 1.8 2003/08/04 20:12:
25 azarah Exp $
#

127.0.0.1       localhost
192.168.0.1     hydrogen.home


/etc/resolv.conf looks like:

Code:
domain home
nameserver 192.168.0.254


(The nameserver specified here is a simple DNS proxy running on my DSL router)

Can anyone explain to me why my domain name does not get set properly, and how to fix it?

Thanks.

Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nil_Spaar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jul 2004
Posts: 179
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Putting the following line into your /etc/hosts should take care of this problem:
Code:

127.0.0.1      hydrogen.home hydrogen localhost.localdomain localhost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Praxxus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 193
Location: Indiana, US

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have an /etc/nsswitch.conf file? It seems like a lot of the people with hostname/domainname/fqdn problems are missing that due to a botched baselayout upgrade.
_________________
My glaucoma just got worse!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmann
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nil_Spaar wrote:
Putting the following line into your /etc/hosts should take care of this problem:
Code:

127.0.0.1      hydrogen.home hydrogen localhost.localdomain localhost


It didn't make any difference. :(

Praxxus wrote:
Do you have an /etc/nsswitch.conf file? It seems like a lot of the people with hostname/domainname/fqdn problems are missing that due to a botched baselayout upgrade.


That file is all present and correct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hambai
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

setting both
Code:
DNSDOMAIN="home"
NISDOMAIN="home"

in /etc/conf.d/domainname fixed the problem for me. Of course I have made all the /etc/hosts and /etc/resolv.conf and stuff but at the end nisdomain seems to made difference.
Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alighieri
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Praxxus wrote:
Do you have an /etc/nsswitch.conf file? It seems like a lot of the people with hostname/domainname/fqdn problems are missing that due to a botched baselayout upgrade.


That's a truely appalling bug. How could that have gotten into the stable tree???

Edit: Actually, the bug is that nsswitch.conf exists at all. Static config files are evil. Name resolution should just work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4087
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Networking & Security to Duplicate Threads in favor of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-351243.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum