Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Network not working, Netmount failed to load
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
scooter_12358
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 2:28 am    Post subject: Network not working, Netmount failed to load Reply with quote

I finished my first install of gentoo linux a couple of days ago and have been reading some of the other posts which are related to my problem. I pretty much followed the install guide word for word and built the kernel using genkernel. Unfortunately I'm stuck. Here is the error I get on boot:
Quote:

* Bringing eth0 up via DHCP... [!!]
* ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
* "Netmount" was not started.


When I perform ifconfig -a I get
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:A1:34:A9:10
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:10

lo etc....


lsmod yields:
Module Size Used By
rtc 8488 0
usbcore 75064 1
tulip 42016 0


/etc/conf.d/net contains:
iface_eth0="dhcp"
dhcpcd_eth0="..."

I have emerged dhcp_eth0; I think I needed to do that. I have the tulip module loading automatically on boot. I think that is the module I need for my network card because I did a lsmod after the live cd booted and it was displayed. It seemed like the only module that was related to ethernet.

Any Ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doll1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 120
Location: Düsseldorf, Earth

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I finished my first install of gentoo linux a couple of days ago

congratulations!

ifconfig output looks like your network card module loaded successfully.

dhcp negotiation seems to fail

I don't know any dhcp_eth0 ebuild

maybe you need to do an:
Code:
emerge dhcpcd


did you do ?
Code:
rc-update add net.eth0 default


before I forget to ask: there is a dhcp-server running somewhere in your network, isn't it 8)
_________________
Beware of the frogs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scooter_12358
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I don't know any dhcp_eth0 ebuild

Oops. That was a typo on my part. I meant to say that I have emerged dhcpcd. What is dhcpcd?

I tried the rc-update but it still isn't working. My linksys router supports DHCP and I have verified that works with a computer running windows and also another computer running MAC OSX.

When I boot with the Live CD it is able to obtain an ip address and I can ping the router and yahoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
curtis119
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 2160
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA, North America, Earth, SOL System, Milky Way, The Universe, The Cosmos, and Beyond.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhcpcd is the application that actually sends the dhcp lease request to your router.

remove all other options in your /etc/conf.d/net and use only this one:

Code:

config_eth0=( "dhcp" )


Now do this:

Code:
emerge dhcpcd
rc-update add net.eth0 default
/etc/init.d/./net.eth0 start


Now every time you restart your computer net.eth0 will start which will call dhcpcd which will obtain an IP address from your router.
_________________
Gentoo: it's like wiping your ass with silk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads in favour of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-332982.html
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum