Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problem with GNOME panel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Verted
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 480
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:50 pm    Post subject: Problem with GNOME panel Reply with quote

Atleast I think this is GNOME panel related. Basicially, every time I login, I get an error message appear, which says "I have already detected a panel running and will now exit". Does anyone know how I can fix this?
_________________
Thanks,
-Verted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 333
Location: Freiburg

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did hav this problam as well, some time ago. I don't remember exactly what I've done tosolve it but, what I did try for sure:
1. move ~/.gnome2/session (or rm it if you're brave)
2. remove everything in /tmp that was related to that user e.g. /tmp/gconfd-USER
sometimes there's some shit saved adn resored for the next session
_________________
nature is a heterosexual fiction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Verted
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 480
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, none of those seemed to work>_<

Thanks anyway:)

Anymore suggestions at all?
_________________
Thanks,
-Verted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Verted
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 480
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still cant figure anything out. Maybe it is something to do with this, when I run $gnome-panel in the terminal:
Code:
russell@verted ~ $ gnome-panel

** (gnome-panel:9680): WARNING **: Failed to add file monitor for file:///home/russell/.gtk-bookmarks: Unsupported operation


When I open an application, I get this message appear in the terminal:
Code:
(firefox-bin:9867): Gdk-WARNING **: gdk_property_get(): length value has wrapped in calculation (did you pass G_MAXLONG?)
No running windows found

Is that normal?
_________________
Thanks,
-Verted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bzd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 3
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with GNOME panel Reply with quote

Verted wrote:
Basicially, every time I login, I get an error message appear, which says "I have already detected a panel running and will now exit". Does anyone know how I can fix this?


Yep.
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2566831-highlight-.html#2566831
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kallamej
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 27 Jun 2003
Posts: 4920
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Duplicate Threads. Please see the above mentioned thread.
_________________
Please read our FAQ Forum, it answers many of your questions.
irc: #gentoo-forums on irc.freenode.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum