Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Which architecture/release do I choose x86 or amd64?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
borderline
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 10:21 pm    Post subject: Which architecture/release do I choose x86 or amd64? Reply with quote

This should be a simple question, but I just wasted two weeks trying to install Gentoo and now I'm questioning which release to use. This might be the root of all the other problems.

My system has an AMD64 bit chip in it. When I type uname -m like the documentation says, to help determine the system type, I get x86_64. Now, which release do I choose x86 or amd64 and why?

Thanks all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi and welcome to the forums.

The release you should use with AMD64 depends on your preference. You can use either. The x86 release will give you a 32-bit system, whilst the x86_64 release will let you use the full 64-bits. I would recommend using the x86_64 release, but that's your option.
There was recently a discussion on the Gentoo on AMD64 forum about which release to use. You can check it here.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UgolinoII
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if its an AMD64 chip, then AFAIK you use the amd64 stuff

these are the flags i use (minus optimisations for clarity)....

Code:
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O3 -march=athlon64"


cat /proc/cpuinfo gives this

Code:
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
cpu family      : 15
model           : 47
model name      : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+
stepping        : 0
cpu MHz         : 1809.280
cache size      : 512 KB
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt lm 3dnowext 3dnow pni lahf_lm
bogomips        : 3588.09
TLB size        : 1024 4K pages
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc


uname -m gives this
Code:
 # uname -m
x86_64


hth

what exactly are the problems you have been having?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4087
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads.
Related to https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-354341.html
Please, follow up that thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum