Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
amd64 running too fast ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
InsaneHamster
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 435

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:25 am    Post subject: amd64 running too fast ? Reply with quote

i unno if it has like a internal oscillator or something but my laptop on amd clock frequency is way to fast, u can see as the seconds move double the normal speed, and programs speed lag, they speed then lag to compensate for it .


where would i start in locating this problem

2.6.12-gentoo-r6

WhitePenguin ~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 36
model name : AMD Turion(tm) 64 Mobile Technology ML-37
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 2000.128
cache size : 1024 KB
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt lm 3dnowext 3dnow pni lahf_lm
bogomips : 3932.16
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc

and yes i can use the kernels AMD POWER NOW by writing commands to the cpu and clocking it down to 800 Mhz, but the clock still speed steps ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazycat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 838
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about this kernel parameters?
Code:

pci=biosirq pci=noacpi pci=irqroute
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InsaneHamster
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 435

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crazycat wrote:
How about this kernel parameters?
Code:

pci=biosirq pci=noacpi pci=irqroute


well see the thing is i do have acpi setup

and since its a laptop (ati x700 M and ati xpress 200 chipset) i think its got a pci-E for all pci cards (i know the network card is )


but i can try passing those during my grub and seeing what happens ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazycat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 838
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check this threads
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-346329.html
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-340090.html
There was also a very big one about that in this forum , use search function cause i dont remember it's name.
btw I don't know if it'll help you , i saw one guy using this parameters to fix his clock runnning too fast. If you want to fix your problem you probably have to try it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7693
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-340090.html

Moved to Dups.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum