Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Howto] HPLIP & CUPS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Camakazi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a great howto, it got my brand-new PSC 1410 working via USB, I had only one alteration in-order
for the printer to actually spool and print instead of telling me it had, but not actually doing so...

I have no idea why, as everything is controlled by hplip, but after emerging hpijs it all worked, it doesn't use
hpijs in anyway, but seems to require it to be emerged :)

my next task, install and set up samba so my wifes computer can print to it :)
_________________
-----------------
Some times the simplest solution is the best solution,

Thats why i have a sledge hammer next to my PC ;)
-----------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OpelBlitz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 229
Location: Chicago, Illinois

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This thread helped me to get printing working for my OfficeJet 6110/JetDirect 175x, which in the past... I had no problem doing! However, whenever I try to do raw printing to socket or lpd, it just prints out 2-3 lines of text, then all blank pages. I don't care now though, since I now have it working through hplip. Now, I'm merging sane to see if I can get scanning working as well. :-D Thanks guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heinzg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 96
Location: In the EU

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:55 pm    Post subject: HPLIP and FAX Reply with quote

Hi there,

I wonder if someone here can help me with a FAX problem.

I have a Color LaserJet 2840 with which I can print & scan with using HPLIP version:
hplip-0.9.10 +X +cups +foomaticdb +ppds +qt +scanner +snmp

I have used hp-setup / CUPS to setup the printer which results in the same problem,when I try send a fax from my workstation, I get an error --
and the following in /var/log/messages:

Code:

Apr 11 21:01:24 gentoo python:  [ERROR] Unable to set locale.
Apr 11 21:01:26 gentoo hpiod: unable to connect to port 9220 JetDirectChannel::Open: Connection refused hpfax:/net/HP_Color_LaserJet_2840?ip=192.168.0.10 io/hpiod/jetdirect.cpp 124
Apr 11 21:01:27 gentoo python: sendfax [ERROR] Unable to open channel (Unknown internal error).
Apr 11 21:01:27 gentoo python: sendfax [ERROR] Fax send error.
Apr 11 21:01:29 gentoo python: sendfax [ERROR] Error, aborting.


I am new to HP print servers, but I did try telnet to port 9220 -- oneone there
Can this be a wrong port that HPLIP is calling on?

I am grateful for any help on this.

Cheers
Heinzg

Can't seem to find any real info about this problem on the Net.
I am able to fax from windos on this printer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heinzg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 96
Location: In the EU

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,

Is there nobody out there using FAX via HPLIP yet? :?

Cheers Heinzg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

some how i cannot run /etc/init.d/snmp start with error Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ) You need an /etc/snmpd/snmpd.conf config file to run snmpd how can i fix this problem. This is for my printer setup.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaGr8Gatzby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am also having problems with HPLip. I have an OfficeJet5610. I have regular printing with cups working(although intermittently) with the hpijs ppd file. hp-toolbox still does not detect my printer.

Code:

Dreamz% hp-toolbox -g

HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 0.9.11)
HP Device Manager ver. 6.2

Copyright (c) 2003-6 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.

 [DEBUG]: Connected to hpssd on localhost:47230
toolbox [DEBUG]: Connected to hpssd on localhost:47230
toolbox [DEBUG]: Connected to hpiod on localhost:57574
toolbox [DEBUG]: Initializing toolbox UI
toolbox [DEBUG]: HPLIP Version: 0.9.11
toolbox [DEBUG]: Print command: hp-print -p%PRINTER%
toolbox [DEBUG]: PCard command: hp-unload -d %DEVICE_URI%
toolbox [DEBUG]: Fax command: hp-sendfax -d %FAX_URI%
toolbox [DEBUG]: FAB command: hp-fab
toolbox [DEBUG]: Copy command: 
toolbox [DEBUG]: Scan command: xsane -V %SANE_URI%
toolbox [DEBUG]: Email alerts: False
toolbox [DEBUG]: Email to address(es):
toolbox [DEBUG]: Email from address:
toolbox [DEBUG]: Auto refresh: False
toolbox [DEBUG]: Auto refresh rate: 1
toolbox [DEBUG]: Auto refresh type: 0
toolbox [DEBUG]: Using default 'C' locale
toolbox [DEBUG]: Starting GUI loop...
toolbox [DEBUG]: Rescanning device list...
toolbox [DEBUG]: Exception: 4 (Unknown/invalid device-uri field)
toolbox [DEBUG]: {}
toolbox [DEBUG]: Cleaning up child processes.


This is the device URI in cups.

usb://HP/Officejet%205600%20series?serial=CN645DF70N04CY

Also, hp-check states I do not have HPLip installed.

Code:

Dreamz% hp-check

HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 0.9.11)
Dependency/Version Check Utility ver. 2.0

Copyright (c) 2003-6 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.

Basic system info...
--> Linux Dreamz 2.6.16-gentoo-r9 #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Jun 7 19:25:57 CDT 2006 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Currently (previously) installed version...
--> 0.9.11

Checking Python version...
--> Version 2.4.2 installed.
--> OK

Checking for user interface dependencies...
Checking for SIP...
--> OK
Checking for PyQt...
--> OK
Checking Qt version...
--> Version 3.3.4 installed.
--> OK
Checking SIP version...
--> Version 4.2.1 installed
--> OK
Checking PyQt version...
--> Version 3.14.1 installed.
--> OK

Checking for library dependencies...
Checking for libsnmp...
--> OK
Checking for libjpeg...
--> OK
Checking for libusb...
--> OK
Checking for libcrypto...
--> OK
Checking for libpthread...
--> OK

Checking for application dependencies...
Checking ghostscript...
--> Version 8.15.2
Checking gcc...
--> gcc (GCC) 3.4.4 (Gentoo 3.4.4-r1, ssp-3.4.4-1.0, pie-8.7.8)
--> OK
Checking automake...
--> automake (GNU automake) 1.9.6
--> OK
Checking autoconf...
--> autoconf (GNU Autoconf) 2.59
--> OK
Checking make...
--> GNU Make 3.80
--> OK
Checking ReportLab (optional)...
 [WARNING]: Not installed. Fax coverpage support will be disabled.

Checking kernel module...
Checking for ppdev (optional)...
 [WARNING]: Not found. Parallel printers will not work properly with HPLIP.

Checking for CUPS...
--> scheduler is running
--> OK

Checking existing CUPS queues...
  Printer                         Device URI                                                  HPLIP Installed? 
  ------------------------------  --------------------------------------------------------  --------------------
  HP_Officejet_5600_series_USB_1  usb://HP/Officejet%205600%20series?serial=CN645DF70N04CY           No         

Note: Any CUPS queues that are not 'HPLIP Installed', must be installed
with the 'hp:' or 'hpfax:' backends to have them work in HPLIP. Refer
to the install instructions on http://hplip.sourceforge.net for more help.

If any errors or warnings were reported, please refer to the installation instructions at:
http://hplip.sourceforge.net/install/index.html


Any help would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kfiaciarka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 1498
Location: Dobre Miasto, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I managed to set up my printer and it is printing:) But I can't launch hp-toolbox:
Code:

hp-toolbox
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/hp-toolbox", line 39, in ?
    import base.async_qt as async
  File "/usr/share/hplip/base/async_qt.py", line 81, in ?
    from qt import *
ImportError: dynamic module does not define init function (initqt)

And result of hp-check
Code:

hp-check

HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 1.6.6a)
Dependency/Version Check Utility ver. 2.1

Copyright (c) 2003-6 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.

Basic system info...
--> Linux test 2.6.16-ock5 #4 Sat Jul 1 18:49:58 CEST 2006 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 2800+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

Currently installed version...
--> 1.6.6a

Checking Python version...
--> Version 2.4.3 installed.
--> OK

Checking for user interface dependencies...
Checking for SIP...
--> OK
Checking for PyQt...
error: PyQt not installed.
Checking Qt version...
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/hp-check", line 164, in ?
    qtMajor = int(qVersion().split('.')[0])
NameError: name 'qVersion' is not defined

My versions of this packages are
sip-4.4.5
PyQt-3.16 ( there is no newer release)

I'd appreciate any help:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1598
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaGr8Gatzby wrote:
<snip> hp-toolbox still does not detect my printer.
<snip>
Code:

Note: Any CUPS queues that are not 'HPLIP Installed', must be installed
with the 'hp:' or 'hpfax:' backends to have them work in HPLIP. Refer
to the install instructions on http://hplip.sourceforge.net for more help.

If any errors or warnings were reported, please refer to the installation instructions at:
http://hplip.sourceforge.net/install/index.html


Any help would be appreciated.


I had problems with the hp-toolbox several times also. You have to remove the printer if you already installed it
with cups and run the /usr/share/hplip/setup .
Otherwise it will work, but the toolbox won't, cause 'it' didn't install it. Kinda goofy, but from what I remember it
is that way. At least on mine (hp laserjet 1022), the toolbox doesn't really do much. Might be more useful if your
not using KDE, where you have the printer manager. So if your using fluxbox, blackbox,.... then it would be.

Try removing the printer and then run the 'setup'.


kfiaciarka wrote:
Hi, I managed to set up my printer and it is printing:) But I can't launch hp-toolbox:
<snip>
My versions of this packages are
sip-4.4.5
PyQt-3.16 ( there is no newer release)

I'd appreciate any help:)

Is there any bugs on those versions? I'm using these versions on amd64 and toolbox works, maybe you can downgrade.
Both those packages are masked and might be for a reason. Have you already tried the stable version and went to the masked because they didn't work?
Code:
PyQt-3.14.1-r1
sip-4.2.1

_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kfiaciarka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 1498
Location: Dobre Miasto, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My printer does work but hp-toolbox doesn't. On amd64 I have no problem as you:) Problems occured at gentoo ~x86.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Unlucky_Alf
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2003
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For hp-toolbox to be able to detect your printer the printer url must be in format hp:/usb/[printer name, serial number]. The easiest way to get it right is to use hp-setup. To check the printer url use lpadmin -t.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ovis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:17 pm    Post subject: HP Officejet 1150 Pro not scanning Reply with quote

Oke this is what happens in the log file if i use xsane:

Code:

Sep 27 23:03:42  [17226472.012000] ppdev0: registered pardevice
Sep 27 23:03:42  [17226472.032000] ppdev0: negotiated back to compatibility mode because user-space forgot
Sep 27 23:03:42  [17226472.032000] ppdev0: unregistered pardevice
Sep 27 23:03:42  [17226472.036000] ppdev0: registered pardevice
Sep 27 23:03:47  xsane: unable to fill data buffer: size=18411: prnt/hpijs/hplip_api.c 450
Sep 27 23:04:17  hpiod: ParDevice::wait_status timeout status=78 mask=88 val=0 us=30000000: io/hpiod/ppdevice.cpp 118
Sep 27 23:04:18  hpiod: ParDevice::wait_status timeout status=d8 mask=40 val=0 us=1000000: io/hpiod/ppdevice.cpp 118


Any one know what to do ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1167
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tkhobbes wrote:
Rucok: I know this how-to you posted; however, it is apparently referring to the situation where the printer is connected to a local workstation via usb; my hp-printer is connected to some server (and correctly detected there), but I want to use the hp-toolbox on a client - the printer is visible also in my client's CUPS (which basically just mirrors the server's CUPS, or however I might describe that...), but the hp-toolbox complains because no printer is attached to the client (which is correct) - so it does not seem to be working via network, only when the printer is attached locally.


@tkhobbes - if you're still following - I'm just about to move to this client/server setup myself. I assume you never had further success using HP Toolbox from the client machine?

This doesn't surprise me; as I interpret things, it is not intended for this purpose. I think the hp:/net/ -style URI is exclusively for use with Ethernet (non-USB) printer models. I hoped it might work myself, and did a pre-emptive test on my laptop using the uri hp:/net/PSC_750?ip=127.0.0.1 - tried with makeuri, and manual setup in CUPS, but no luck. I just don't think it's meant to work this way, though I guess they could make it do so without much work... any hplip devs listening?

The next-best solution would be to use the Toolbox on the server, via VNC or X forwarding. Unfortunately my server is X-less, and I have no experience in using the aforementioned techniques. Just a thought...

UPDATE: X-forwarding is actually a piece of piddle to set up - I managed it in under half an hour, and it turns out that (as of Xorg 7) you only need to emerge xauth on the server, not the whole x-server. I think if you want to use the HP Toolbox on the server, this is probably the way to go. I won't retread the HOWTO here as the one on gentoo-wiki gave me almost all the info I needed, but here are two things I'd add:

1) You need to stop X from running with the argument "-nolisten tcp" on your client box. This took a bit of locating. For me, as I use KDE, the file you need to edit is /usr/kde/3.5/share/config/kdm/kdmrc - look for the line
Code:
ServerArgsLocal=-nolisten tcp

# and change to

ServerArgsLocal=


2) ssh -X didn't work for me, which I think may be due to having USE="pam". Try ssh -Y instead.

It worked nicely with Azureus, I'll get back to you when I've finished setting up the printer and tried the Toolbox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkhobbes
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 367
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Havin_it!

I now emerged hplip on the server by turning the X use flag on for it (via /etc/portage/package.use). However, the hp-toolbox binary is still not present on the server?

Now, if I get you correctly, I just need to emerge xauth (which, however, would emerge about 15 other packages, too...) on my server box?

Also, I would be glad if you could help out with the ssh-forwarding stuff - I read a lot about this, but never did it - what exactly do I need to do once the hplip toolbox is working on the server to invoke it from the cliend?

Thanks
_________________
My systems and some screenshots: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/
My Gentoo client installation page: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/gentoo-client/
My Gentoo Server installation: http://www.hobbes.ch/category/server
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1167
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you need xauth on the server - the HOWTO is a bit ambiguous, but it says 'try emerging' it if you don't have an x-server on it, and forwarding isn't working. See http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_X-forwarding

Once you've added the configs to the files it indicates there, you just need to reconfigure your client's X so it listens for tcp connections. (Take note that if your client box is directly connected to the Internet this is a bit risky, but if you're on a LAN I'm guessing it isn't.) Before going any further you might want to check it's not listening already: run
Code:
ps ax | grep X

and see if it has "-nolisten tcp" as an argument.

For KDE the file you need to edit is /usr/kde/3.5/share/config/kdm/kdmrc (see above); for other desktop environments, the best way to find it is use your file-finder utility to search the DE's install directory (/usr/gnome?) for files containing the line "nolisten" and edit appropriately. Be sure you have a good idea what you're doing before you go randomly hacking files though!

Once you've done all that and restarted your X on the client, you should be good to go. If ssh -X user@host [command] doesn't work, try ssh -Y instead. If you need any more help please do ask.

Are you sure you don't have the toolbox installed? It should be at /usr/share/hplip/toolbox and symlinked to /usr/bin/hp-toolbox. If you don't, it could be another USE problem. Try adding qt3 (possibly even qt4) to the package.use for hplip.

Good luck - it worked a treat for me, and I'll be happy to help further if necessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkhobbes
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 367
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there

OK, xauth is emerged. But when I add qt3 to the use-flags of hplip, there is another whole bunch of stuff that shall get emerged... and I don't know If I really want qt3 and all its dependencies on my server just because of this bloody toolbox... :)

Could you find out with what use-flags your hplip has been compiled?

Thanks.
_________________
My systems and some screenshots: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/
My Gentoo client installation page: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/gentoo-client/
My Gentoo Server installation: http://www.hobbes.ch/category/server
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1167
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Old programmer's saying: Can't use a GUI without a gui library!

In weighing your decision, bear in mind that you don't need the toolbox to scan or print from your client, only for maintenance tasks like cleaning and aligning cartridges - and there may be CLI tools for those tasks anyway (I haven't checked).

My package.use line is:

net-print/hplip X qt3

I also have scanner and snmp USE-flags set globally. I can't/don't wanna use emerge right now to check the actual run-time flags, as emerge is busy with glibc :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkhobbes
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 367
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well - what I basically want to do is use the toolbox because what I am really missing is using the two-side printing option of my Deskjet 970 - it has this neat feature to turn pages and print both sides of it, but you need a driver to support this. And I thought that the toolbox could help with this, at least, this is what hp's homepage said when I last checked....
_________________
My systems and some screenshots: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/
My Gentoo client installation page: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/gentoo-client/
My Gentoo Server installation: http://www.hobbes.ch/category/server
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1167
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should (I think) have this option in the CUPS server options for the printer, accessed through the web interface. I looked at the 'Set Printer Options' page for my PSC 750 and it gives all the same options I had in kdeprint when the printer was installed on my laptop: paper type and printout quality, banners, and double-sided printing (even though my model doesn't have that feature!). Before you re-merge hplip with gui-ness, you might want to check on that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkhobbes
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 367
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, saw it there, but does not work. :(
_________________
My systems and some screenshots: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/
My Gentoo client installation page: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/gentoo-client/
My Gentoo Server installation: http://www.hobbes.ch/category/server
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1167
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess you should go ahead and build the GUI version then. It's only really costing disk-space after all, it'll only cost any performance (and even then not much) when you use it. And if you find it still doesn't work, you can dump it. Better to know, I think...

On an unrelated note, I have a tip for those who may want to turn your printers off sometimes. I did have the USB Printer Support in-kernel, and found that when I turned the printer off and on, hp-probe couldn't find it anymore. (Nor, as it turned out, could the kernel.) To have the usblp driver restart correctly, you need to have it as a module, and also remember to include loadable module support (and module unloading!) in the kernel config.

Something I'm wondering: Is there a way of having cupsd and hplip start/stop along with the printer being on/off?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Location: Exeter

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something to note is don't use underscores in the name, I did and it looked as if it worked, until I tried to print, and didn't. Stick to just alphanumeric characters and no spaces
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1167
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's odd, think I've always used underscores in my printer names and never had such a problem.

I did have a major prob with hplip the other day though; net-analyser/net-snmp upgraded, taking libnetsnmp.so.9 up to libnetsnmp.so.10 which b0rked hplip. Fixed by re-emerging hplip, but too late to avoid me losing face with the gf... :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
myhan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi all, thanks for this great howto, in about 1 hour i got my PSC1600 working perfectly... the only problem is: why doesn't the scanner work??? i can use hp-toolbox fine, i get everything displayed correctly, if i type in
Code:
# sane-find-scanner -q
i get
Code:
found USB scanner (vendor=0x03f0 [HP], product=0x4811 [PSC 1600 series]) at libusb:004:004

but when i use the command
Code:
# scanimage -L
i get
Code:
No scanners were identified. If you were expecting something different,
check that the scanner is plugged in, turned on and detected by the
sane-find-scanner tool (if appropriate). Please read the documentation
which came with this software (README, FAQ, manpages).

how is this possible? before it didn't show up the vendor and product names (just vendor=0x03f0, product=0x4811) but after that i edited /etc/sane.d/dll.conf and added a "hpaio" line, after that it did show up those names but was still unable to find the scanner with scanimage -L. what could be the issue? thanks in advance...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vt_guy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 1:30 am    Post subject: Toolbox will not start Reply with quote

New install. Printer works from cups. Scanning works from xsane. All the HP probe, config etc... work fine.
But, If I start up the toolbox GUI I get this (can't cut paste so typed some of it in):

"No Installed HP Devices found. To install a device use the cups web interface blah blah...

Only device installed with the hp: cups backend will appear in the hp device manager...."

Ideas?
The "hp cups backend" caught my eye to make me think I missed a step but I don't see any directions to that effect.
_________________
Thanks,
Eric
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vt_guy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installed the ~ version 1.6.12 and it works. Evidently cups 1.2.6 and hplip 0.9.7-r3 don't work together on my system....
_________________
Thanks,
Eric
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum