Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Howto] HPLIP & CUPS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hagar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2003
Posts: 445

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

myhan wrote:
hi all, thanks for this great howto, in about 1 hour i got my PSC1600 working perfectly... the only problem is: why doesn't the scanner work??? i can use hp-toolbox fine, i get everything displayed correctly, if i type in
Code:
# sane-find-scanner -q
i get
Code:
found USB scanner (vendor=0x03f0 [HP], product=0x4811 [PSC 1600 series]) at libusb:004:004

but when i use the command
Code:
# scanimage -L
i get
Code:
No scanners were identified. If you were expecting something different,
check that the scanner is plugged in, turned on and detected by the
sane-find-scanner tool (if appropriate). Please read the documentation
which came with this software (README, FAQ, manpages).

how is this possible? before it didn't show up the vendor and product names (just vendor=0x03f0, product=0x4811) but after that i edited /etc/sane.d/dll.conf and added a "hpaio" line, after that it did show up those names but was still unable to find the scanner with scanimage -L. what could be the issue? thanks in advance...

Make sure the hostname "localhost" points to 127.0.0.1
hplip only binds to 127.0.0.1 !
If you've messed up your /etc/hosts and localhost returns some other IP it will not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtp755
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 691
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe im missing something but hp-toolbox doesnt exist on my system...i just installed everything

cups 1.2.6
hplip 0.9.7-r3

all cli commands work fine along with printing and all...just hp-toolbox isnt there..any ideas?
_________________
www.EternalFireProof.com
Registered Linux User #334610
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timeBandit
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 2674
Location: here, there or in transit

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jtp755 wrote:
maybe im missing something but hp-toolbox doesnt exist on my system...i just installed everything ...
all cli commands work fine along with printing and all...just hp-toolbox isnt there..any ideas?

Check your USE flags for hplip, hp-toolbox needs X and qt3 set.
_________________
Plants are pithy, brooks tend to babble--I'm content to lie between them.
Super-short f.g.o checklist: Search first, strip comments, mark solved, help others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtp755
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 691
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks so much...the qt3 flag was the answer...i only had qt
_________________
www.EternalFireProof.com
Registered Linux User #334610
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cferthorney
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 May 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brilliant guide thanks!

Any warnings about LSB missing can be ignored. I ignored them did
Code:
./probe -bnet
and all was well :-)

hp-toolbox is exceptionally powerful - and it works unlike that naff HP Director thing on Windozes! (Sorry I know I shouldn't swear in case children are about ;-) )
_________________
Cfer (AKA Dave)
"The answer to life the universe and everything is is 42" - Douglas Adams, in Hitchhikers Guide to The Galaxy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
86me
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:36 am    Post subject: CUPS hang on first step of "Add Printer" Reply with quote

Wanted to add a tip here for the archives. If you originally tried adding a printer via cups and had it hang after the first step (naming and location) and then tried adding it to cups via hp-setup and got a "foomatic-rip" error when trying a test page print. Delete the printer from cups and try this:

Code:

# chmod -x /usr/libexec/cups/backend/bluetooth


This stopped cups from hanging after the first step and allowed me to finish the process via cups. After that, everything went buttery smooth.

I avoided Linux printer setup for the longest time because of tales of frustration.

I am so excited to be able to print and scan via a networked device!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holysword
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 946
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there

I am not sure, but it seems that you can use hp-toolbox only when CUPS configured the printer via hp:// protocol. My personal problem is that my printer is in a (local) print server, so it uses lpd:// protocol instead...
Any way to make hp-toolbox recognize something under lpd protocol? ><"
_________________
"Nolite arbitrari quia venerim mittere pacem in terram non veni pacem mittere sed gladium" (Yeshua Ha Mashiach)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holysword wrote:
Hi there

I am not sure, but it seems that you can use hp-toolbox only when CUPS configured the printer via hp:// protocol. My personal problem is that my printer is in a (local) print server, so it uses lpd:// protocol instead...
Any way to make hp-toolbox recognize something under lpd protocol? ><"


Yeah, I think that would only work for one of HP's own JetDirect servers (which themselves are quite old I guess, I think commodity printers with built-in Ethernet/Wifi became the norm back when hplip was still hpoj). If it's worth the expense to you, you could always get a SheevaPlug (or an NSLU2 if you can locate one) and install a mini Linux on that, where you could install hplip and sshd and then use hp-toolbox via X forwarding. Or if you are a super ninja hardware hacker (or know one), maybe you can do all that with the server you have ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holysword
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 946
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Havin_it wrote:
Yeah, I think that would only work for one of HP's own JetDirect servers (which themselves are quite old I guess, I think commodity printers with built-in Ethernet/Wifi became the norm back when hplip was still hpoj). If it's worth the expense to you, you could always get a SheevaPlug (or an NSLU2 if you can locate one) and install a mini Linux on that, where you could install hplip and sshd and then use hp-toolbox via X forwarding. Or if you are a super ninja hardware hacker (or know one), maybe you can do all that with the server you have ;)


Would this "hacking" thing be something like this? (I mean in section "Configuring Print Servers")
If its not, then I don't have a clue xD
_________________
"Nolite arbitrari quia venerim mittere pacem in terram non veni pacem mittere sed gladium" (Yeshua Ha Mashiach)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your server is one of those models, I guess it will get you IPP support which CUPS would rather you use (further up that page). However it still won't get you HP Toolbox, as that needs to run on the machine that's attached to the printer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I am desesperatly looking for the version of hplip I should try :

1/ The stable 2.8.6.b prints honestly but hp-toolbox is buggy desperately looking for PyQt3 when built with Qt4... :?
2/ Then up to 3.9.8 they are reported not having the correct definition for A4 page format...
3/ 3.9.12.r1 has a perfectly working hp-toolbox but just cannot print with some musb.c desperatly complaining about an invalid deviceid...


Last edited by aCOSwt on Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aCOSwt wrote:
Hello,

I am desesperatly looking for the version of hplip I should try :

1/ The stable 2.8.6.b prints honestly but hp-toolbox is buggy desperately looking for PyQt3 when built with Qt4... :?
2/ Then up to 3.9.8 they are reported not having the correct definition for A4 page format...
3/ 3.9.12.r1 has a perfectly working hp-toolbox but just cannot print with some musb.c desperatly complaining about an invalid deveceid...


Hmm. Whichever one you choose, the behaviour you mention in each case sounds like a bug. It might be worth scouring bugs.gentoo.org to see whether any of these have already been reported. Query "ALL hplip" so you can see any that have already been "resolved", as well as those that are still open ("resolved" often doesn't mean that you can expect it to be fixed without you having to take some steps on your own system).

In choosing which item from your list to approach, the first question would be: Is your overall system set to stable (arch) or testing (~arch)? Personally I'm on testing ~x86 so my choice would be (3).

Whichever one you choose, feel free to give us more information here (full error output etc.) and maybe we can help some.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Havin_it for answering.

1/ Yes indeed, 1 is a known bug... actually corrected in next versions...
2/ However... next versions up to 3.9.8 carry the problem with A4 page format, another known bug... :roll:
3/ I have not find my way yet about this one. I asked my question on HPLIP's message list. One will see...
The vast majority of questions looking like this I found on google received as an answer the advice to...
... change the usb wire... :roll:

I am running amd64 for the overall system. But I was ready to package.keyword ~amd64 for this one.

I think pb 3 linked with the new hpcups driver. Next time, I will re-emerge 3.9.12 with the good old hpijs and -hpcups !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Considering a fair amount of HP devices not working after a canonical setup procedure, and this because of several known bugs upstream obviously does not care about...
Here is the last hope procedure for making these devices print :

SYMPTOMS :

- The printer cannot print anything at all or
- The printer starts printing then stops and hangs definitely or
- The printer prints the first job then hangs definitely

AND

- The printer is impossible to switch off apart from removing the power supply

AND

- In your kernel logs, you can read things such as :
kernel: usb X-Y: device descriptor read/64, error -110 or
kernel: usb X-Y: device descriptor read/64, error -71
or could be others of the kind,

AND

- You are dead sure that your usb connectors and cables are of appropriate quality

EXPLANATION :

The HP driver cannot handle correctly the bidirectional communication.

WORKAROUND

The only workaround found by all those who faced this issue (under Suse, Ubuntu, Gentoo, Mandriva, Debian...) is to :
Enforce unidirectional communication by forcing the device to use the generic CUPS backend and ignore HP backends.
Which will get the following inconveniencies :
- No status reporting from device,
- Device Inaccessible via HP toolbox
- Scanning impossible if device of the all-in-one kind
But... at least... it will print !

HOWTO

1/ Ensure you get CONFIG_USB_PRINTER=y/m in your kernel configuration file. (As hpcups no longer requires usblp, you might have disabled it)
2/ Build hplip USE=(hpijs static-ppds -hpcups) other flags adapted to your needs
3/ Ignore hp-setup and configure the printer via the localhost:631 interface
Ensure that you select the usb:// protocol and *not* the hp:/usb one
(You can crosscheck this after configuring under the manage printer tab of the cups interface.)

Well, hope this will be useless for the vast majority of you, hope it will help those in this situation.
Feel free to integrate this in the troubleshooting part of the initial post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schachti
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 3765
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got a problem when trying to send a fax. When running hp-sendfax as an ordinary user, it quits with a segfault. When running hp-sendfax as root, I get the following output:

Code:

Using printer: Officejet_Pro_8500_FAX

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/hp-sendfax", line 202, in <module>
    dlg = SendFaxDialog(None, printer_name, device_uri, mod.args)
  File "/usr/share/hplip/ui4/sendfaxdialog.py", line 121, in __init__
    self.initUi()
  File "/usr/share/hplip/ui4/sendfaxdialog.py", line 142, in initUi
    self.initRecipientsPage()
  File "/usr/share/hplip/ui4/sendfaxdialog.py", line 386, in initRecipientsPage
    self.db = fax.FaxAddressBook()
  File "/usr/share/hplip/fax/fax.py", line 203, in __init__
    self.load()
  File "/usr/share/hplip/fax/fax.py", line 206, in load
    self._fab = os.path.join(prop.user_dir, "fab.pickle")
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.6/posixpath.py", line 67, in join
    elif path == '' or path.endswith('/'):
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'endswith'


Does anyone has an idea what's going wrong here? Do you need further input? I'm using a HP Officejet Pro 8500, ~amd64 system, net-print/hplip-3.10.2.
_________________
Never argue with an idiot. He brings you down to his level, then beats you with experience.

How-To: Daten verschlüsselt auf DVD speichern.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
HOWTO

1/ Ensure you get CONFIG_USB_PRINTER=y/m in your kernel configuration file. (As hpcups no longer requires usblp, you might have disabled it)
2/ Build hplip USE=(hpijs static-ppds -hpcups) other flags adapted to your needs
3/ Ignore hp-setup and configure the printer via the localhost:631 interface
Ensure that you select the usb:// protocol and *not* the hp:/usb one



i have read several other threads on this forum insisting USB_PRINTER should be disabled in kernel. why do you have it enabled?
i dont see a usb:// otpion , this is the only option with HP Deskjet in its name:
Code:
hp:/usb/Deskjet_6980_series?serial=MY85F2R05204YX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

h2sammo wrote:
i have read several other threads on this forum insisting USB_PRINTER should be disabled in kernel.

You *are* right h2sammo and the threads you read *are* right.
As long as...
Everything works properly with hpcups !

The HOWTO you quote is for those who just cannot make their printer work with hpcups because hpcups cannot handle properly the bidirectionnal communication.
In this paticular case, they must forget hpcups, fall back on hpijs.

And hpijs *does* require usblp !
Hence CONFIG_USB_PRINTER=y/m
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum