Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
stuck on yaboot configuration
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kasemodz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:55 pm    Post subject: stuck on yaboot configuration Reply with quote

well i have been so anxious to use gentoo on my ibook and started installing it. Everything went smoothly until yaboot configuration. Its something wierd. Ok i updated yaboot. Then I ran yabootconfig --chroot /mnt/gentoo. I answered yes use hda6 for my bootstrap with root hda8. Then came the problem. Alright it tells me enter path to kernel image. I know its under boot folder. So I put /dev/hda8/boot/kernel-2.6.12. Then it said /boot/kernel-2.6.12: No such file or directory. So I opened another window and typer ls /dev/hd8 and it said no such file or directory. Then i thought maybe its not mounted. so I did mount /dev/hd8 but still nothing happened. Then I tried ls /mnt/gentoo/boot and the kernel was there. So I went back to yaboot configuration and I typed /mnt/gentoo/boot/kernel-2.6.12. Now it accepeted that but I'm confused because I dont want to screw anything up. Now it asks me for initrf image. What is that? Please help me out because I have been awake all last night and night before trying to get gentoo running. I havent had any sleep and its my b'day today so I'm tired.

btw I used this guide to install gentoo.
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-ppc.xml?full=1#yabootconfig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dashnu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Casco Maine

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

initrd i am assuming.. Did you use genkernel ? If so you should have an initrd file that loads up modules the kernel needs to boot. I do not use genkernel so I may be wrong.. If you configure manually you will not have an initrd it is safe to hit enter for none if compiled this way.
_________________
write quit bang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Gentoo on PPC.

The initrd file contains a small filesystem that is loaded in memory. It is usually used so the kernel can load additional modules while it can't read the harddisk yet because the driver to be able to do that is not yet available in the kernel. Genkernel creates an initrd file for you in /boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kasemodz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh so wut should i do now, I am a newbie so please explain the best you can. thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

take a look in /boot (or /mnt/gentoo/boot if you're outside the chroot) and see how the initrd file is named. Then use that name when yabootconfig asks for it.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kasemodz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dashnu wrote:
initrd i am assuming.. Did you use genkernel ? If so you should have an initrd file that loads up modules the kernel needs to boot. I do not use genkernel so I may be wrong.. If you configure manually you will not have an initrd it is safe to hit enter for none if compiled this way.

ok i didnt use genkernel, so i went ahead and pressed enter but it gave me another error. /usr/sbin/yabootconfig: line 648: /usr/sbin/ofpath: cannot execute binary fule
yabootconfig: unable to determine Openfirmware device name to /dev/hda, aborting...
Now what should i do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dashnu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Casco Maine

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

same thing happend to me and I had to run ofpath /dev/hda to get the device id or something.. my first mac install i just completed, so I am new to this shit still.. But that should be added to the ppc-handbook.

so.. run

Code:
ofpath /dev/hda


I think that is the command... if not look in the yaboot config example it says something about it.

and a line to your yaboot.conf with the output of that command.

example:
Code:
ofboot=/pci@f4000000/ata-6@d/disk@0:


and run ybin -v

Try that.. maybe someone could correct me if my commands are wrong. I am not at a gentoo box.. I try to stay far away from gentoo on the weekends. :wink:

pretty sad I am helping you through this when i am one my first install.. seems support sucks for ppc not to mention bug-fixes. Or maybe I am just use to the x86 fast food shop... who knows. :roll:

*edit
or you can try an ofboot line with hd:X were X = the partiton of your bootloader.
_________________
write quit bang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kasemodz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok ofpath command deost work... says command not found. plz i beg someone help...going on vacation tomm... hadnt had sleep fro26 hrs and still stuck on last step.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdidier
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kasemodz,

It seems ofpath is broken in 2005.1 at least it returned the same error for me. I booted back into OSX, used disk utility and right clicked (control clicked) the appropriate disk in the information pane, click information and then the ofpath for that disk or volume, will be revealed. Copy that information and use it to fill in the complete ofpath in yaboot.

Hope this helps you!
_________________
Steve Didier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dashnu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Casco Maine

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ofpath is on the disk or the chroot I can't remember which.

did you try to add a ofboot=hd:X to you yaboot.conf? again X being you partition you created at the begining of the install for bootloader.

I bet this will work.
_________________
write quit bang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum