Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Install KDE with GRP 2005.1
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MikaelB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 8:58 am    Post subject: Install KDE with GRP 2005.1 Reply with quote

Hi !

I just downloaded Gentoo 2005.1 from Universal CD and installed it as described in the howto document for the GRP install procedure. Then I downloaded the Athlon XP 2005.1 packages CD from my computer and tried to install KDE binaries.

Reading the install document, I just defined the PKGDIR variable.

# export PKGDIR="/mnt/cdrom"

and then I did :

# emerge --usepkg kde

but it still wants to download and compile source for some packages like kde-base, kde-games etc etc
I thought all packages to install kde were on the packages cd, didn't it ?
how to install kde using only the cd binaries ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sven Vermeulen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 1345
Location: Mechelen, Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you by any chance ran emerge --sync before you tried using the Packages CD?

Check if /mnt/cdrom/All contains all the prebuilt packages:
Code:

~# ls /mnt/cdrom/All


If it still wants to download stuff from the Internet, what is it trying to download? (What package)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koenderoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 514
Location: Zwolle, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you check if they are on that package cd?
did you mount the cd first? (I know, stupid question if at least some packages worked, but I'm not sure he did)

try to do emerge --fetchonly kde and see what he needs to download.


And yes, they should be on that cd, that's the intention of these cd's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikaelB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no i didn't perform a emerge --sync

I just installed Gentoo 2005.1 as described in the install document, and then just after the first reboot and creating user, i just tried to install KDE from packages cd.
I just use "emerge --usepkg kde" to install KDE but some packages (like kde-base, kde-games, and many others) are downloaded from internet and then compiled.
I also tried to enter "emerge --usepkgonly kde" and it even didn't start, failed on a message like "Cannot emerge, impossible to find the kde package" (i'm not at my house actually, i can't exactly confirm the message i got).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sven Vermeulen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 1345
Location: Mechelen, Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should emerge -k kde-meta. The packages CD uses the new split KDE ebuilds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikaelB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

koenderoo wrote:
did you check if they are on that package cd?
did you mount the cd first? (I know, stupid question if at least some packages worked, but I'm not sure he did)

try to do emerge --fetchonly kde and see what he needs to download.


And yes, they should be on that cd, that's the intention of these cd's.


yes I ckecked the cd, and it contains at least the good packages for kde-base, kde-games.... I really didn't know why it tried to download from the Internet :?
That's not the first time I installed a Gentoo distrib, I'm not new at Linux (5 years experience) and I don't know what happened
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koenderoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 514
Location: Zwolle, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

another thing you can try is (and that's why I wanted you to do the --fetchonly) is to copy the required packages over to /usr/portage/distfiles.

portage will look into this dir first if the package is available. If not, it will search for your cd and after that it will try to download it.

What can also be possible is that your cd-rom starts slowly (true?) and portage gets to the timeout on the cd before it can actualy read it. It then skips and start downloading.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sven Vermeulen wrote:
You should emerge -k kde-meta. The packages CD uses the new split KDE ebuilds.


Doesn't that mean that the 2005.1 Handbook should be updated?
Code:
Now install the packages you want. The Packages CD contains several prebuilt binaries, for instance KDE (not available for HPPA though):

Code Listing 5: Installing KDE

# emerge --usepkg kde

_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genelake
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:59 pm    Post subject: GRP KDE install Reply with quote

MikaelB...

I installed KDE from the Packages CD like so:

After typing in the 'export' command you want to type in 'emerge --usepkgonly kde-meta'.

This worked for me...got 286 KDE packages from the GRP CD.

also, you want to change the 'XSESSION' line in /etc/rc.conf to 'kde-3.4'...not 'kde-3.4.1'.

Hope this helps!

-Gene-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MimesisKitty
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 17
Location: BsAs - Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!
I'm having the same problem here! I've haven't tried using --fetchonly nor -k kde-meta yet, but I can tell i doensn't try to download the whole package, it only tries to update the fonts pakages. Supose it is more or less the same. Isnt it?
I'm using the pentium4 Package CD.
I tried to install Enlightenment first (my mistake it isn't in the package). Then I corrected and tried KDE.
I'm noticed also that there are a lot of pakages in the installation cd /distfiles I didn't used for the installation itself. I wonder. I followed all the steps in the manual, but I wonder if I shouldn't have installed any of them prior to install KDE.
I also noticed that I don't have startx, nor xdm nor xinit on my system yet. Are they gonna be installed same tame KDE or have to install one of them first. Is there a correct order I should follow doing this?
I'll apreciate any clue you can give me. My hole experience in Linux comes from Slackware and Debian using default installing tools mostly, so I feel a bit lost here.
Thank you, in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MimesisKitty
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 17
Location: BsAs - Argentina

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I managed to install the KDE package
Needed to use --fetchonly first and then --usepkg
Thanks anyway
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daniel.jrm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 8:35 am    Post subject: I am having Reply with quote

I am having the same problem, but nothing is working for me, when i try 'emerge --usepkg kde' my cd drive light flashes for around 10-15 secs. and then it trys to download.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GrF
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed it by giving the full name of the package:
Code:
mount -t iso9660 -o loop /root/packages-x86-2005.1.iso /mnt/cdrom
cd /mnt/cdrom/kde-base
export PKGDIR="/mnt/cdrom"
emerge -k kde-meta-3.4.1.tbz2

It says that emerging like this may not work but for me it was OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hellkat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Feb 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 5:54 am    Post subject: Im dying Reply with quote

I have tried every suggestion on this thread like 5 times each and none of them are working.

Is there some way to get connected to the internet with my wireless to get it to work that way? I have ot use ndiswrapper to get a connection which I can install i have done it on suse and kubuntu repeatedly but im kinda lost without a gui sometimes would that make things easier?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum