Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Gentoo on RS6000 (44P-170)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hare
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 6:09 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Gentoo on RS6000 (44P-170) Reply with quote

Hello,

this is the last chance, before i will put the
machine out of the window.

At first:

The machine runs fine and i can boot from the 2005.1 live-cd without the OF.
The TAB Key show me a lot of kernels:
pseries, pseries-serial, pseries-hvc, pseries-hvsi, ibm-power5, ibm-power5-serial,
ibm-power5-hvc, ibm-power5-hvsi and js20.

The most success i have is with the kernel pseries, because the kernel boot, the screen
switch to the tux-logo and i can see behind a stripe-screen big letters of the boot process.
Also a grafical error.

Ok i till the forum to find a solution, but nothing runs.
My first idea is the framebuffer an so i try different ways with the kernel:

pseries

and the parameters

vga=normal
vga=off
splash=0
vga=ofonly
framebuffer=silent

but without success.

Can anybody help me ?

Best regards

hare


Last edited by hare on Sun Sep 11, 2005 12:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 7:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo on RS6000 (44P-170) Reply with quote

What Graphic Adapter do you have in the 7044-170?
From what I know, the GXT2000, GXT4000 .. are not supported with Linux. If you have one of those you need to go via the serial port in order to install Linux. The GXT130P does work fine, it's a Matrox G200.

Regards
Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hare
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 8:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo on RS6000 (44P-170) Reply with quote

thbo wrote:
What Graphic Adapter do you have in the 7044-170?
From what I know, the GXT2000, GXT4000 .. are not supported with Linux. If you have one of those you need to go via the serial port in order to install Linux. The GXT130P does work fine, it's a Matrox G200.

Regards
Thomas


Hi Thomas,
Google helped me to find a picture, because on the graphic adapter is only an IBM brand and some numbers
but no label. The picture said to me, that i have a GXT4000.

What the meaning, that i must go via the serial port ?

Thank you and

regards

hare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi hare,
yes, that Adapter is not supported under Linux. Either you get a supported one or you need to go via the serial interface. I have not tried it, but it should be possible to use any PCI Graphic card supported with Linux although this causes you to configure the Open Firmware via serial interface.
I had exactly the same issue whith the GXT4000 and went for a Matrox G200 PCI, this is the GXT130P but has a PC Firmware in it. If you have AIX running on the machine there is a way to change the firmware to the IBM one, after that this card works under AIX and under Linux ..
Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hare
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thbo wrote:
Hi hare,
yes, that Adapter is not supported under Linux. Either you get a supported one or you need to go via the serial interface. I have not tried it, but it should be possible to use any PCI Graphic card supported with Linux although this causes you to configure the Open Firmware via serial interface.
I had exactly the same issue whith the GXT4000 and went for a Matrox G200 PCI, this is the GXT130P but has a PC Firmware in it. If you have AIX running on the machine there is a way to change the firmware to the IBM one, after that this card works under AIX and under Linux ..
Thomas


Thank you (Danke?) Thomas,

i will find a PCI graphic card. But it is true, that the graphic adapter with a PC BIOS will
work in the RS6000 (ok without AIX) or should it be a MAC BIOS ?

Regards

hare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In order to get a Matrox G200 PCI working in the 7044-170 you need to follow the steps below:
- get a working Matrox G200 PCI with 8MB Memory
- place the Adapter in the RS/6000 in any free PCI Slot
- download the Microcode from ftp://ftp.software.ibm.com/devices/rs6000/GXT130P/
- read the README
- replace the PC BIOS on the G200 with the Microcode for the RS/6000
- reboot the machine
Enjoy!

In Addition to the above you need AIX in order to use the Microcode Update and at least a serial connection in order to start the upgrade. As far as I know you can have up to 4 G200 installed in the 7044-170 (under AIX)! I have done this for my 7044-170 and it did work for me, maybe it does work with other RS/6000 as well, but I have not tried it.

Let me know how you get on!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hare
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thbo wrote:
In order to get a Matrox G200 PCI working in the 7044-170 you need to follow the steps below:
- get a working Matrox G200 PCI with 8MB Memory
- place the Adapter in the RS/6000 in any free PCI Slot
- download the Microcode from ftp://ftp.software.ibm.com/devices/rs6000/GXT130P/
- read the README
- replace the PC BIOS on the G200 with the Microcode for the RS/6000
- reboot the machine
Enjoy!

In Addition to the above you need AIX in order to use the Microcode Update and at least a serial connection in order to start the upgrade. As far as I know you can have up to 4 G200 installed in the 7044-170 (under AIX)! I have done this for my 7044-170 and it did work for me, maybe it does work with other RS/6000 as well, but I have not tried it.

Let me know how you get on!


Thanks,

but now i have a Matrox G200 with a PC-BIOS.
On the RS6000 ist an AIX installed, but i have no chance to login as root to
run the procedure, described in the README.

The G200 works in a PC, but not in the RS6000 (with PC-BIOS) :-(

Is there another way to get a pure BIOS-file, because in the README
and you speak about a microcode. This is for me a program to write
the BIOS into the flash-memory and not a binary file.

If i have only the binary, so i have the chance to program the BIOS
via a PC with DOS/Windows tools by matrox.

feel bitter

hare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As long as the Matrox G200 has a PC BIOS it will not be recognized as valid Adapter for AIX or Open Firmware. If you have no other Graphic Adapter in the RS6000 which is supported by AIX you have to use the serial console in order to flash the correct Microcode.
Use another Machine and a Terminal Program like Minicom (Linux) or Hyperterminal (Windows) to get access to the AIX box. You have to log on as root and then execute the binary file you downloaded via the above link. While it runs it will find the G200 and update the Microcode. With the next reboot you should see output from OpenFirmware and the shell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hare
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thbo wrote:
As long as the Matrox G200 has a PC BIOS it will not be recognized as valid Adapter for AIX or Open Firmware. If you have no other Graphic Adapter in the RS6000 which is supported by AIX you have to use the serial console in order to flash the correct Microcode.
Use another Machine and a Terminal Program like Minicom (Linux) or Hyperterminal (Windows) to get access to the AIX box. You have to log on as root and then execute the binary file you downloaded via the above link. While it runs it will find the G200 and update the Microcode. With the next reboot you should see output from OpenFirmware and the shell.


AIX is installed, but i don't know the root password. So i have no chance to login as root, on local way or serial console !
It s possible to find a way with the open firmware, because the standard grafic adapter is installed too.

hare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The binary update for the Microcode has to be run under AIX. If you don't know the root password you hopefully know the version of AIX installed and have the media. In order to recover a lost AIX root password you have to follow the instructions here: http://publib16.boulder.ibm.com/pseries/en_US/infocenter/howto/HT_baseadmn_recoverrootpswd.htm

Otherwise you would have to re-install AIX.

I don't know if one could read the changed microcode of a G200 under DOS using the Matrox tools, I never tried it that way.. I regret that this way would be easier to explain and to do. If you finally succeed to get the G200 running you could give it a try?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akakareka
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Location: palo alto

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 6:53 am    Post subject: Skip all steps Reply with quote

I am just going to throw mine out of the window now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why?
Are you trying the same update as hare?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hare
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With the help by thbo (Thank you) so i use now a Matrox G200
and will begun the installation of Gentoo on the RS6000 machine.

Regards

hare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
summatusmentis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry if I'm reviving an old thread, but I've got the same problem. Would a card like this work? Is there a way to flash the card to AIX from inside linux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Progman3K
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 665

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 7:16 pm    Post subject: Hey! (Almost) the same problem here: Reply with quote

Hello All!

I'm also trying to get Gentoo installed on an RS6000.

I have an IBM RS6000 7046-B50.

The machine currently runs AIX 4.3
There is no graphical display; I have a Televideo terminal plugged onto serial port 1.

I *do* have root access.

I have been able to run the firmware upgrade procedure on it; my firmware revision:
Code:
# lscfg  -vp |  grep  -p  openprom
  Name:  openprom
    Model:  IBM,TCP05287
    Node:  openprom
    Physical Location: P1


From what I understand, TCP05287 is the latest system firmware.
There were firmwares in other categories on this page, but I am not sure about which ones I need:
http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/set2/firmware/gjsn?mode=1&mtm=7046-B50
Firmwares for other models: http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/set2/firmware/gjsn

The problem I am having occurs when I try to boot the computer with the
Gentoo 2006.0 Universal install CD
I downloaded the .ISO file named
install-ppc64-universal-2006.0-32ul.iso
burned the image to a CD and booted the RS6000:

Yaboot starts and gives me the choice of kernels:
ibmpower, ibmpower-ttyS0,9600, ibmpower-hvc0, ibmpower-hvsi0

Quote:

Config file read, 748 bytes
Welcome to the Gentoo 2006 PPC64 install-cd. This cd allows you to install on 64 bit Apple and IBM hardware either 32 or 64 bit userland, running on top of a 64 bit kernel. Please read the README(s) on the cd to learn more about this install-cd.

Gentoo Installation Handbook: http://www.gentoo.org/
Further info : http://ppc64.gentoo.org/
Bugs : bugs.gentoo.org (CC [url]ppc64@gentoo.org[/url])
IRC : #gentoo-ppc64 on irc.freenode.net

Press <tab> to show the kernels.Welcome to yaboot version 1.3.12
Enter "help" to get some basic usage information

Code:
boot:

Quote:
Please wait, loading kernel...
Elf64 kernel loaded...
Loading ramdisk...
ramdisk loaded at 01e00000, size: 1376 Kbytes

Unexpected Firmware Error:
DEFAULT CATCH!, code=fff00700 at %SRR0: 01408288 %SRR1: 00083000
ok

I wind up at this prompt
Code:
0 >

I'm not sure about what to do next.
Is there a way to perform the installation over the Internet? I can acess the internet when I run AIX.
The machine has an ftp client.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 7046-B50 is a 604e processor which is a 32bit processor, not a 64 bit one. That's why you're getting that error.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Progman3K
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 665

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX: Are you sure? I downloaded the 32 bit boot cd
install-ppc-universal-2006.0.iso
And it won't boot it at all; the system passes over the CD when starting up as if it were not bootable at all and goes on to load AIX instead.

This page
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PowerPC_604e
says that the 604e processor was used in other RS6000 systems:
Quote:
The 604e was also used in some IBM Unix systems, notably the RS6000 7043-150 workstation and 7025-F50/7026-H50 servers.

it doesn't mention the 7046-B50.

Maybe that's an oversight and it IS a 32 bit processor, but I still don't understand why I can't boot the system with the 32 bit install disk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I'm pretty sure it's a 32bit processor, but I guess it's actually a 604r. Here's someone's cpuinfo:
http://ozlabs.org/pipermail/linuxppc-dev/2003-February/014732.html

Anyway, this is a CHRP machine as far as I know, which probably won't work with the ppc32 kernel. Your best bet is to compile a CHRP kernel with the appropriate hardware support. Sorry, we don't really support these machines, but it should boot okay with some work. :)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum