Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] Get DRI working with Radeon 9600/M10 (deprecated)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HighOnBonsai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.6.14-rc1 (-rc2, rc3) are in portage. I have had now problems so far with all of this kernel versions (neither with PCMCIA nor with suspend-to-ram) - thats strange! 2.6.14* is masked unstable on ppc though (just as 2.6.13 is):

http://packages.gentoo.org/search/?sstring=vanilla-sources


Christopher
_________________
Are YOU high - on bonsai?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtbag
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 508
Location: NC

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 3:18 pm    Post subject: almost worked, but not quite.. Reply with quote

did everything listed above on my gentoo box, and got x up and running, but I see

penguinpower X11 # env LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose glxinfo | grep -i direct
libGL: XF86DRIGetClientDriverName: 4.0.1 r300 (screen 0)
libGL: OpenDriver: trying /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/dri/r300_dri.so
drmOpenByBusid: Searching for BusID pci:0000:00:10.0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is 4, (OK)
drmOpenByBusid: drmOpenMinor returns 4
drmOpenByBusid: drmGetBusid reports pci:0000:00:10.0
libGL error:
R300 DRI driver expected DRM version 1.17.x but got version 1.16.0
libGL warning: 3D driver returned no fbconfigs.
libGL error: InitDriver failed
libGL error: reverting to (slow) indirect rendering
direct rendering: No
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
penguinpower X11 #


I did some googling and someone suggested to do
This actually caused by ColorTiling, swich it off in xorg.conf Option
"ColorTiling" "0"

but I already have

Option "ColorTiling" "false" # True has trouble with latest xorg


-DB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Xorg.0.log I get many errors like :

drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
drmOpenDevice: Open failed
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
drmOpenDevice: Open failed


and at the end:

(II) RADEON(0): [drm] drmOpen failed
(EE) RADEON(0): [dri] DRIScreenInit failed. Disabling DRI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighOnBonsai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@dirtbag:

Quote:
did everything listed above on my gentoo box, and got x up and running, but I see

penguinpower X11 # env LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose glxinfo | grep -i direct
libGL: XF86DRIGetClientDriverName: 4.0.1 r300 (screen 0)
libGL: OpenDriver: trying /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/dri/r300_dri.so
drmOpenByBusid: Searching for BusID pci:0000:00:10.0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is 4, (OK)
drmOpenByBusid: drmOpenMinor returns 4
drmOpenByBusid: drmGetBusid reports pci:0000:00:10.0
libGL error:
R300 DRI driver expected DRM version 1.17.x but got version 1.16.0
libGL warning: 3D driver returned no fbconfigs.
libGL error: InitDriver failed
libGL error: reverting to (slow) indirect rendering
direct rendering: No
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
penguinpower X11 #


I did some googling and someone suggested to do
This actually caused by ColorTiling, swich it off in xorg.conf Option
"ColorTiling" "0"

but I already have

Option "ColorTiling" "false" # True has trouble with latest xorg


-DB


Did you also try to compile DRM to compile DRM from CVS as I suggested in my newer posts in this thread? Report back!

@fuoco:

Quote:
In Xorg.0.log I get many errors like :

drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
drmOpenDevice: Open failed
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
drmOpenDevice: Open failed


and at the end:

(II) RADEON(0): [drm] drmOpen failed
(EE) RADEON(0): [dri] DRIScreenInit failed. Disabling DRI.


Is the radeon kernel module loaded? What gives "lsmod"?

Christopher
_________________
Are YOU high - on bonsai?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes of course radeon module is loaded.


Code:
# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ipt_MASQUERADE          1504  1
iptable_nat             5220  1
ip_nat                 12464  2 ipt_MASQUERADE,iptable_nat
ip_conntrack           35828  3 ipt_MASQUERADE,iptable_nat,ip_nat
ip_tables              17408  2 ipt_MASQUERADE,iptable_nat
tun                     7264  1
mol                    50340  1
ipv6                  247528  6
radeon                111236  0
drm                    62488  1 radeon
agpgart                23676  1 drm
cpufreq_ondemand        4668  0
cpufreq_userspace       2508  0
cpufreq_powersave        608  0
snd_seq                45272  0
snd_seq_device          5612  1 snd_seq
snd_powermac           34340  1
snd_pcm                72388  1 snd_powermac
snd_timer              17956  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    40100  7 snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_powermac,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               5252  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          6536  1 snd_pcm
eth1394                15528  0
appletouch              4640  0
evdev                   7680  1
mousedev                9212  1
ide_cd                 38404  1
cdrom                  39676  1 ide_cd
ohci1394               31860  0
ieee1394               77168  2 eth1394,ohci1394
sungem                 28804  0
sungem_phy              7488  1 sungem
i2c_keywest             7424  0
therm_adt746x           7400  0
unix                   20500  484
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighOnBonsai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And what does dmesg say when you insert the radeon module? Do you load the radeon module by /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 or is it loaded automatically by X?


Christopher
_________________
Are YOU high - on bonsai?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HighOnBonsai wrote:
And what does dmesg say when you insert the radeon module? Do you load the radeon module by /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 or is it loaded automatically by X?


Christopher



I let X auto load the radeon module. When I load it I get in dmesg:
Code:
Linux agpgart interface v0.101 (c) Dave Jones
[drm] Initialized drm 1.0.0 20040925
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighOnBonsai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmesg on my system also says:

Code:
[drm] Initialized radeon 1.17.0 20050311 on minor 0:


I dont see this in your output - there is something strange going on...

I assume you are not using the drm kernel modules from CVS, are you? What is your kernel version?


Christopher
_________________
Are YOU high - on bonsai?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuoco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm not using cvs kernel modules, just the one from the kernel. This is vanilla 2.6.14-rc5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtbag
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 508
Location: NC

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ HighOnBonsai:

yes, I did exactly as you instructed and downloaded both the mesa and the DRM drivers from CVS..

I even removed the drm dir and redownloaded them from CVS.
did make clean in /usr/src/r300/Mesa

and tried again (make linux-dri in /usr/src/r300/Mesa dir)
and it appears that the r300_dri.so in
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 2377762 Oct 28 10:41 /usr/src/r300/Mesa/lib/r300_dri.so
is the same as
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 2377762 Oct 24 21:51 /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/dri/r300_dri.so

how can I tell the CVS versions of what im downloading/compiling to make sure?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighOnBonsai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can try to checkout an older version of Mesa and drm (mine is from 27th of Sep). To do so, backup your old version:

Code:
mv /usr/src/r300 /usr/src/r300.backup


Now lets checkout this old version and follow the steps of the howto:

Code:
cd /usr/src
mkdir r300
cd r300
export CVSROOT=":pserver:anonymous@cvs.freedesktop.org:/cvs/mesa"
cvs checkout -D "27 Sep 2005" Mesa
export CVSROOT=":pserver:anonymous@cvs.freedesktop.org:/cvs/dri"
cvs checkout -D "27 Sep 2005" drm


This does not checkout any versions after 27th of Sep. Follow now the instruction of the howto again.

Ah yeah: Always nice to have a look at:

Code:
man cvs


Report back!


Christopher
_________________
Are YOU high - on bonsai?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spinner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does this r300 driver work also on my 9200(r200) @ mac mini ? Will I see any difference with the drivers from http://r300.sourceforge.net/ rather than with the one Xorg provides ?

I have drm and dri enabled and working. (checked with glxinfo)

The problem is that my damn card is AGP and runs in x1 mode and not in x4 mode !!!
I have tried manually to change it from xorg.conf to x4 mode but it did not work :(

Any solution for the above ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, the r300 driver has nothing to do with the r200 chipset. That site is actually not really updated either, the r300 driver is now part of the DRM project.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighOnBonsai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I should update the HOWTO. I am currently very busy (master studies), but I hopefully soon! :-/


Christopher
_________________
Are YOU high - on bonsai?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electroarts
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a quick update from my end: tonight I emerged and compiled 2.6.14-gentoo-r2, and removed the following from my /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6:

Code:
uninorth_agp
agpgart
radeon


To use the normal kernel drivers instead of all the stuff I had tried through this thread. As if by magic, glxinfo now reports:

Code:
direct rendering: Yes


Am I too quick in suggesting that this thread is now obsolete? ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighOnBonsai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At least I hope that my howto will become obsolete soon, as it is very complicated and cumbersome! ;-) I will check this ASAP (busy Master studies prevent my from updating the howto :-( )


Christopher
_________________
Are YOU high - on bonsai?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gnomeza
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a bump to let people know that DRI, DRM, EXA and Composite extension are all working smoothly for my Powerbook 1.25Ghz, Radeon 9600 M10 with standard portage ebuilds.

My current configuration is:
Code:

sys-kernel/vanilla-sources-2.6.15_rc7
x11-base/xorg-x11-7.0-r1
x11-base/x11-drm-20051223


Using xorg OpenGL.

Relevant sections of xorg.conf:
Code:

Section "Module"
        #Load  "bitmap"
        Load  "dbe"
        Load  "dri"
        Load  "drm"
        Load  "extmod"
        Load  "freetype"
        #Load  "GLcore"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "int10"
        Load  "record"
        #Load  "speedo"
        Load  "type1"
        Load  "xtrap"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
        Option "Composite"      "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "CardDRI"
        Driver      "radeon"
        #BusID       "PCI:0:16:0"
        Option     "AGPMode"            "4"     # <i>
        Option     "UseFBDev"           "On"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DMAForXV"           "true"         # [<bool>]
        #Option     "XaaNoScanlineImageWriteRect"
        #Option     "XaaNoScanlineCPUToScreenColorExpandFill"
        Option     "AccelMethod"        "exa"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
        Mode  0666
EndSection


lsmod:
Code:

radeon                120872  1
drm                    80732  2 radeon
uninorth_agp            9032  1
agpgart                31900  2 drm,uninorth_agp


Excerpts from Xorg.log
Code:

...
(**) Extension "Composite" is enabled
...
(II) Loading extension GLX
...
(WW) ****INVALID IO ALLOCATION**** b: 0xf0000400 e: 0xf00004ff correcting
(EE) end of block range 0xefffffff < begin 0xf0000000
...
(WW) RADEON(0): Video BIOS not detected in PCI space!
(WW) RADEON(0): Attempting to read Video BIOS from legacy ISA space!
(WW) RADEON(0): Unrecognized BIOS signature, BIOS data will not be used
...
(**) RADEON(0): Using EXA acceleration architecture
...
(WW) RADEON(0): Enabling DRM support

   *** Direct rendering support is highly experimental for Radeon 9500
   *** and newer cards. The 3d mesa driver is not provided in this tree.
   *** A very experimental (and incomplete) version is available from Mesa CVS.
   *** Additional information can be found on http://r300.sourceforge.net
   *** This message has been last modified on 2005-08-07.

drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is 7, (OK)
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is 7, (OK)
drmOpenByBusid: Searching for BusID pci:0000:00:10.0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is 7, (OK)
drmOpenByBusid: drmOpenMinor returns 7
drmOpenByBusid: drmGetBusid reports pci:0000:00:10.0
...
(II) RADEON(0): Direct rendering enabled


FWIW, full logs and configs are at http://l003026.zseriespenguins.ihost.com/~gnome/gentoo/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moijbt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone know if it works for the DRI on a Radeon 9550 ? :mrgreen:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gnomeza
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see why not. 9550 and 9600Pro share the same RV350 core.

Further to my earlier post, I should note that X crashes whenever I attempt to resume it when EXA is enabled. Bah.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum