Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Unable to reach network after chroot to /mnt/gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ironmyke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:29 am    Post subject: Unable to reach network after chroot to /mnt/gentoo Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm feeling a little stupid right now, as I have tried to do this install now three times with the same result. I have read the 10-step instructions and followed them, but I still end up with the same problem:

As long as I am not chroot'ed in the /mnt/gentoo directory I have network access and can ping any site.

As soon as I do the chroot, I can no longer resolve anything outside of the network that the machine is on.

I have tried searching the forums here with no luck, and am hoping someone could point me in the right direction to change this. I am trying to install 2005.0 (since 2005.1 causes my machine to reboot every time it loads the image - I see nothing, just hear a beep and it reboots).

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=6, and at the step Code Listing 6: Updating the Portage tree it never resolves the update sites.

Any ideas?

-mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EzInKy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 1734
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure you followed this step?

Code:

Copy DNS Info

One thing still remains to be done before we enter the new environment and that is copying over the DNS information in /etc/resolv.conf. You need to do this to ensure that networking still works even after entering the new environment. /etc/resolv.conf contains the nameservers for your network.

Code Listing 3: Copy over DNS information

(The "-L" option is needed to make sure we don't copy a symbolic link)
# cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf


If not, exit the chroot environment and do so.
_________________
Time is what keeps everything from happening all at once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ironmyke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep - checked the resolve.conf file each time, and even added other nameservers.

The funny thing is that I can ping as far as the nameserver as well, which is really odd.


--edit

Just checked again, and as soon as I exit the chroot'ed environment, I can ping again. I didn't have to do anything other than exit, and the machine has been running overnight.

At one point I thought it might be a permissions thing, but no luck there either. I don't get it...

-mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EzInKy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 1734
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ironmyke wrote:
Yep - checked the resolve.conf file each time, and even added other nameservers.

The funny thing is that I can ping as far as the nameserver as well, which is really odd.


--edit

Just checked again, and as soon as I exit the chroot'ed environment, I can ping again. I didn't have to do anything other than exit, and the machine has been running overnight.

At one point I thought it might be a permissions thing, but no luck there either. I don't get it...

-mike


You're saying you can ping from chrooted environment? Did you try a known ip like yahoo?

Code:

# ping www.yahoo.com
PING www.yahoo.com (68.142.197.84) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 68.142.197.84: icmp_seq=1 ttl=50 time=57.3 ms

# ping 68.142.197.84
PING 68.142.197.84 (68.142.197.84) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 68.142.197.84: icmp_seq=1 ttl=50 time=60.1 ms

_________________
Time is what keeps everything from happening all at once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ironmyke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, it is really weird:

In non-chrooted environment: (/)

- I can ping machines on same network
- I can ping my ISP and it's nameservers
- I can ping google, yahoo, etc.
- nameservers are listed in /etc/resolve.conf

As soon as I go in to the chrooted environment (# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash):

- I can ping machines on same network
- I can ping my ISP and it's nameservers
- I can't ping google, yahoo, etc.
- nameservers are listed in /etc/resolve.conf

As soon as I leave the chrooted environment (# exit):

- I can ping machines on same network
- I can ping my ISP and it's nameservers
- I can ping google, yahoo, etc.
- nameservers are listed in /etc/resolve.conf

So the network connection is fine, it seems to have an issue resolving the hosts. I cannot for the life of me figure out why.

The weirdest thing about it is that I am not bringing the connection down and up again when I chroot, but I have tried dropping it and bringing it back up, and that still makes no difference.

-mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ironmyke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The one thing I neglected to point out was that I am using a static IP network at home rather than using DHCP. I don't know if this causes any differences in the install process (I don't see that it should), but I figured I should point it out.

Manual configuration is set at:

IP: 192.168.1.99
Broadcast IP: 192.168.1.255
Gateway IP: 192.168.1.1 (router, firewall disabled during the install process)

Nameservers set in /etc/resolve.conf as well as /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolve.conf

Is there something I am missing?

BTW, I am at work, and all of this is from memory from last night, but I did it three times, so I am positive that these are the settings.

Also, I have been using RedHat products (5.1 up to Fedora Core 3), and have used Mandrake in the past (8.0 and 9.0 I believe), as well as older distro's (Slackware 7.x, etc). I feel that I have used things enough to be fairly competent with installing, but this has really been frustrating me. The 2005.1 CDs just caused my machine to continuously reboot (I never even got to a UI - just hit enter at boot: and the machine reboots continuously), so I decided to go with 2005.0 to install. I have been using the http://gentoo.osuosl.org/ site to grab the stage file.

-mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ironmyke wrote:
Yep - checked the resolve.conf file each time

Note the spelling of the file in the handbook - it should be resolv.conf, not resolve.conf. :wink:

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads in favour of resolve problems.
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum