Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Yabootconfig and chroot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
echo6
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 587

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 2:55 pm    Post subject: Yabootconfig and chroot Reply with quote

OK I've managed to compile my kernel emerge yabootconfig, following the guide suggests I quit out of my chroot environment which I do in order to ruin
Code:
yabootconfig --chroot /mnt/gentoo


My kernel is called kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6, which yaboot can not locate by using /boot/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 but /mnt/gentoo/boot/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 works as I am outside the chroot environment. I have no ramdisk, when running mkofboot I get a warning.
Code:
Warning: `nvsetenv' could not be found, nvram will not be updated


Does it matter that I have supplied /mnt/gentoo/boot/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 for the path to the kernel and should I be concerned about this warning?


Last edited by echo6 on Fri Sep 02, 2005 11:33 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That warning is no problem.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
echo6
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 587

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply. Bootloader does not appear to have been written correctly, Yaboot is not comming up on reboot instead I'm booting straight into OSX.

Code:
livecd ~ # mac-fdisk -l /dev/hda
/dev/hda
        #                    type name                  length   base      ( size )  system
/dev/hda1     Apple_partition_map Apple                     63 @ 1         ( 31.5k)  Partition map
/dev/hda2              Apple_Free Extra                 262144 @ 64        (128.0M)  Free space
/dev/hda3               Apple_HFS Untitled            61177793 @ 262208    ( 29.2G)  HFS
/dev/hda4         Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap               1600 @ 61440001  (800.0k)  NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hda5         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap                 2097152 @ 61441601  (  1.0G)  Linux swap
/dev/hda6         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root                53671487 @ 63538753  ( 25.6G)  Linux native

Block size=512, Number of Blocks=117210240
DeviceType=0x0, DeviceId=0x0


Code:
livecd ~ # cat /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.18.4.1 2005/01/31 23:05:14 vapier Exp $
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail / tail freely.
#
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>          <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda6               /               ext3            noatime         0 1
/dev/hda5               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro       0 0
#/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto          0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
proc                    /proc           proc            defaults        0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
shm                     /dev/shm        tmpfs           nodev,nosuid,noexec     0 0


Any ideas why Yaboot is not working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
/dev/hda4         Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap     
The Apple_Bootstrap partition should be the second partition. Use mac-fdisk the re-order the partitions. Then rerun yaboot-config
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
makaveli87
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 311
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar problem.
I edit /etc/yaboot.conf
Try it.
_________________
GoogleTalk: romanovic@gmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
echo6
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 587

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I've used mac-fdisk to change bootstrap patition swapped from 4 to 2.

I edited yaboot.conf to reflect this change rebooted and ran yabootconfig --chroot /mnt/gentoo. It's booted to Linux, but for some reason it deleted the entry to macosx so I edited yaboot.conf and used ybin -v -b /dev/hda2 -C /etc/yaboot.conf to re-initialise the bootstrap.

I get a small menu with the two options linux and x for macosx but this quickly dissappears, when I press x MACOSX is not booting :-(

Code:
boot=/dev/hda2
device=/pci@f4000000/ata-6@d/disk@0:
partition=6
root=/dev/hda6
timeout=30

install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6
        label=Linux
        read-only

macosx=/dev/hda3


Ah! ok found the problem, moving the bootstrap partition also incremented the partition for macosx!

Got it all working now, thanks for the help :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
echo6
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 587

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:-(

After re-installing X to restore the wireless I can no longer get yaboot to fixup the bootsrap!

Any ideas what am doing wrong?

Code:
livecd ~ # ybin -v
ybin: Finding OpenFirmware device path to `/dev/hda2'...
ofpath: Unable to determine sysfs mountpoint
ybin: Unable to find OpenFirmware path for boot=/dev/hda2
ybin: Please add ofboot=<path> where <path> is the OpenFirmware path to /dev/hda
2 to /etc/yaboot.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
echo6
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 587

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, ok putting ofboot=hd:2 in the yaboot.conf file solved it.

I must admit Yaboot has to be one of the most frustrating bootloaders out there!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silvervein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

where in /ect/yaboot.conf did you put in

Code:
ofboot=hd:2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silvervein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:04 pm    Post subject: Nevermind Reply with quote

Nevermind I figured it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xytras
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And thanks a bunch for letting everybody with the same question participate in your wisdom :evil:
_________________
"A nerd is someone who uses a telephone to talk to other people about telephones." (Douglas Adams)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
etyrnal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Location: right here

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nixnut wrote:
That warning is no problem.


if it can't set the nvram, how can OF be notified of where to boot from?

is there a way to check to see that /dev/hdc2 (my boot parition) was actually set up properly?

can i even use hdc2? my root is one hdc3 and swap is on hdc4

i've gotten through basically everything except the yaboot nightmare =)

doesn't the boot device have to be set in the PRAM somehow?

if i know i have everything else correct, is there a way i can just startup into Open Firmware and point the cpu to the hdc2 bootloader partition?

am i just plain missing a concept here?

i'd love to post my yaboot.conf , fstab, and partition table here, but i have no interconnectivity between the machine i', typing on and the B&W G3 that gentoo is 99% installed on.
_________________
---
http://etyrnal.no-ip.com - cerebral music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum