Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot mkfs.ext3 on /dev/hda4 [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
duanecu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 27
Location: South Bend, IN, USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:02 pm    Post subject: Cannot mkfs.ext3 on /dev/hda4 [solved] Reply with quote

I'm trying to format the /dev/hda4 partition using mkfs.ext3 and it tells me:
Quote:
Could not stat /dev/hda4 -- No such file or directory
And I just got through preparing it with mac-fdisk!

History:

I booted the iMac from the ppc (32-bit) CD holding down the 'C' key, and just went ahead and used fdisk and just started making my partitions. I did this mistakenly due to using Gentoo on Intel PCs. I realized my mistake and decided to read the instructions for PPC. So I then used mac-fdisk and followed the intructions to make a boot thing, a swap, and a root partition on /dev/hda4. I saved it with a 'w' and quit.

Then I run:
Code:
mkfs.ext3 /dev/hda4
(and also mkfs.ext2) cannot see my root partition. I've rebooted also, and I've did the 'i' to initialize the partition table and start all over and I still get the same error.

Anyone have any suggestions?


Last edited by duanecu on Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seank
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 686

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unless you made 4 partitions, your root should be on /dev/hda3. Handbook does it like this:

/dev/hda1 - /boot (small, 32M partition)
/dev/hda2 - swap space
/dev/hda3 - / (root partition)

Take a look at the partition layout again and make sure 1 is for /boot, 2 is for swap and 3 is for / (root) (if you want to follow the handbook).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duanecu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 27
Location: South Bend, IN, USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:25 pm    Post subject: Solved Reply with quote

Thanks for the tip! And that solved the issue. But boy, that is confusing. I can see clearly above my command line where mac-fdisk left behind the printed partition tables. It says I have a /dev/hda4 marked for root. And my swap is /dev/hda3. But afterwards, I just brought each number down one, as per your advice and they both worked for the ext3 and swap formating.

But as for the intructions, and I'll quote (using copy and paste):
Quote:
Code Listing 3: Applying a filesystem on a partition

# mkfs.ext3 /dev/hda4


Is inacuate.

And if I may quote Gilligan's Island:
Quote:
Maryanne is not Maryanne anymore. She's Ginger.
Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duanecu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 27
Location: South Bend, IN, USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:35 pm    Post subject: Bug in mounting also Reply with quote

And I noticed there is another bug in the intructions. When mounting, these are what the intructions say:
Quote:
Code Listing 6: Mounting partitions

# mkdir /mnt/gentoo
# mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/gentoo
But this what you actually have to do if you follow the intructions to the T:

Code:
# mount -t ext3 /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
(The /mnt/gentoo directory is already made)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you've got an iMac, you have a new world system. The partition layout should be:

Code:
1: Apple Partition Map
2: Bootstrap Partition
3: Swap
4: Root


So your root should be /dev/hda4. If you created partitions with fdisk first, both the Apple partition information and the PC partition information are probably still on the disk. Your best bet to clear up the confusion is to write 0's to the first megabyte of the disk to get rid of all of the partition information and start over.

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda count=2000


So, the handbook is right. :p Sorry for the confusion.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duanecu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 27
Location: South Bend, IN, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:13 pm    Post subject: dd worked Reply with quote

Thanks, JoseJX, for the DD trick. I opted to not do that since it was working. Then I had trouble with yaboot, I couldn't get yaboot to boot the system at all. So I went back and wrote the zeros, then used mac-fdisk to re-initialize the hard disk (the 'i' command).

And now it's working just like the handbook says it should.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum