Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: qmail vpopmail courier-imap qmail-scanner (09/2005)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
krull
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DNAspark99 wrote:
I havn't seen it mentioned anywhere, and having to figure it out myself took a while longer than it probably should have, so I'll just mention what I learned here: qmail-scanner and spamassassin 'learning' was not working correctly, so, several headaches later, I fixed it by unifying the ~/.spamassassin dirs and changing some permissions to allow qscand access, even tho after a few 'learnings' some files were overwritten with 'default' ownerships/permissions, but it works now.... can anyone explain 'why'? what was I missing before? (spamassassin wasn't catching *anything* before I did this, now works like it should)



I donno if this helps, I just added a universal path for bayes in spamassassin's local.cf so far it seems to work:

Code:
nano -w /etc/spamassassin/local.cf

Add:
bayes_path /etc/mail/spamassassin/bayes


I also downloaded the whole spamarchive.org and let bayes learn the archive! it's going to take my install 9 days to do all! :D omg... anyone see any benifits to this?

Also is there a way for me to 'transfer' a spamassassin bayes from another installation to this new one? (I have an MDaemon server whos bayes learned our 'allowed' mails etc, already...)

This would save me time if this can be done....

- KrulL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krull wrote:
Also is there a way for me to 'transfer' a spamassassin bayes from another installation to this new one? (I have an MDaemon server whos bayes learned our 'allowed' mails etc, already...)

This would save me time if this can be done....

To copy bayes data from another installation you copy all files in the .spamassassin subfolder of the homedir of the user spamassassin runs as. (if your old install run spamassassin as spamd and your new one run as qscand you do: scp root@oldserver:~spamassassin/.spamassassin/* root@newserver:~qscand/.spamassassin)
You probably need to restart spamd after this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

^and1 wrote:
With my installation i only can do smtp with ssl(as written here), but not without. Is it possible do get work both at the same time?
And the other problem ist, that all passwords stored in the vlog are cleartext, thoug i only connect with ssl. Is this correct so?


Not quite sure what you're asking...
If you set USE="notlsbeforeauth" when installing qmail it will not require tls for smtp-auth.
If you're problem is that you want to alow some clients to relay mail through the smtp server without smtp-auth you just add their ip address in the tcp.qmail-smtp file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^and1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

everything works fine now, but is there any possibility to avoid, that vopopmail ist writting the passowrds of smtp-auth in cleartext into the vlog table in the db?

thx petterg for your answer (it solves my problem) :)

andi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guide updated
Modified the config of squirrelmail to reduce the delay when displaying huge mailfolders. (more than 200 mails in the folder)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

^and1 wrote:
everything works fine now, but is there any possibility to avoid, that vopopmail ist writting the passowrds of smtp-auth in cleartext into the vlog table in the db?

andi



hmmm
I had no idea that that happened. Anyone figured out any way to stop this from happening?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m4chine
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 271
Location: Ventura, CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off, great howto, thanks for the contribution.

When I first read this howto, I was discouraged when reading there was a bug in outlook/outlook express that prevented TSL communication, but I was willing to struggle with it because I simply cannot tell my clients they cannot use the most popular mail clients out there for windows.

So I got everything up and running and now for the testing. I first got Evolution worked with TSL/SSL, great. Then I moved on to Outlook/Outlook Express, sure enought I got a 454 error, tls not available due to temporary reason. I do some googling and come accross some similar errors suggesting av problems. Sure enough, I'm running Symantec Antivirus Corp with Internet Mail protection enabled. So I disable Internet Mail protection, close and reopen Outlook Express and shibby, I can send/receive mail via TSL/SSL pop3/smtp.

I would revise this howto to include this information and remove the bug warning, I have sucessfully sent encrypted mail in outlook express with this configuration. Thanks again for the howto.
_________________
never trust a man who can count to 1023 on his fingers.

-m4chine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

m4chine wrote:
First off, great howto, thanks for the contribution.

When I first read this howto, I was discouraged when reading there was a bug in outlook/outlook express that prevented TSL communication, but I was willing to struggle with it because I simply cannot tell my clients they cannot use the most popular mail clients out there for windows.

So I got everything up and running and now for the testing. I first got Evolution worked with TSL/SSL, great. Then I moved on to Outlook/Outlook Express, sure enought I got a 454 error, tls not available due to temporary reason. I do some googling and come accross some similar errors suggesting av problems. Sure enough, I'm running Symantec Antivirus Corp with Internet Mail protection enabled. So I disable Internet Mail protection, close and reopen Outlook Express and shibby, I can send/receive mail via TSL/SSL pop3/smtp.

I would revise this howto to include this information and remove the bug warning, I have sucessfully sent encrypted mail in outlook express with this configuration. Thanks again for the howto.


I'll include that in the guide.
Thanks

Oh, btw - which version of outlook and symantec AV did you use? Which version of windows and Office? Service Pack?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AxelTerizaki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello.

I posted this in the MySQL update thread, but I guess it won't get much response there, so I'm trying it here, too:

This is not entirely MySQL related, but it happened right after I upgraded from 4.0 to 4.1

vpopmail doesn't seem to work anymore with qmail somehow O_o.
It authentificates quite well with courier-imap though, no problems logging and reading IMAP folders, but with qmail, I just get those in the logs:

Code:
Oct 20 17:39:10 twilight vpopmail[12142]: vchkpw-smtp: vpopmail user not found xxxx@xxxx-xxxx.net:123.123.123.123
Oct 20 17:39:10 twilight vpopmail[12142]: vchkpw: can't write MySQL logs



Anyone have any clues on hwo to fix this? I can login with the vpopmail user fine under MySQL, and of course, I recompiled vpopmail, since for example, vuseradd works fine (I can add users to my virtual domains this way)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlackB1rd
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 131
Location: /Europe/Netherlands/Haarlem

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been configuring my mailserver for almost a week now, and it still doesn't work as it should be :(
The receiving part is finally working, but now I get all the mails twice: once without and once with going through the qmail-scanner filter. But okay, I'd might figure that out.

But what is really annoying me is that the sending part doesn't work at all. I don't get an error message, it simply doesn't deliver the queued messages. I get the following from the /var/log/qmail/qmail-send/current log:

Code:

@400000004358ac1512e16984 delivery 104: deferral: Sorry,_I_wasn't_able_to_establish_an_SMTP_connection._(#4.4.1)/


I am able to connect through telnet with other mail smtp hosts. So it's not a firewall issue.

Please help me, it's really driving me nuts!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AxelTerizaki wrote:
Code:
Oct 20 17:39:10 twilight vpopmail[12142]: vchkpw-smtp: vpopmail user not found xxxx@xxxx-xxxx.net:123.123.123.123
Oct 20 17:39:10 twilight vpopmail[12142]: vchkpw: can't write MySQL logs



Have you read the upgrade notes in the mysql doc? (I read those a while ago, and figured not to upgrade mysql on any productions server.)
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/4.1/en/upgrading-from-4-0.html

Have you tried to delete the vpopmail user in mysql, then rerun the grant commands and flush privileges?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BlackB1rd wrote:
I've been configuring my mailserver for almost a week now, and it still doesn't work as it should be :(
The receiving part is finally working, but now I get all the mails twice: once without and once with going through the qmail-scanner filter. But okay, I'd might figure that out.

But what is really annoying me is that the sending part doesn't work at all. I don't get an error message, it simply doesn't deliver the queued messages. I get the following from the /var/log/qmail/qmail-send/current log:

Code:

@400000004358ac1512e16984 delivery 104: deferral: Sorry,_I_wasn't_able_to_establish_an_SMTP_connection._(#4.4.1)/


I am able to connect through telnet with other mail smtp hosts. So it's not a firewall issue.

Please help me, it's really driving me nuts!


What did you have to do to make the recieving part work? What was the errors you got? (I'm thinking the two problems might be related.)

Are you able to send mails using sendmail?

What happens when you run the contrib/test_installation script included in the qmail-scanner tarball?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlackB1rd
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 131
Location: /Europe/Netherlands/Haarlem

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

petterg wrote:

What did you have to do to make the recieving part work? What was the errors you got? (I'm thinking the two problems might be related.)

Are you able to send mails using sendmail?

What happens when you run the contrib/test_installation script included in the qmail-scanner tarball?


I don't really know what i did to get the receiving part working (i've done so many things). But I now figured out that sending from another email domain than registered in vpopmail does actually work.

So if the sender is e.g. blackb1rd@domain2.com, which domain part isn't listed in vpopmail, it works flawlessly. But when sending as blackb1rd@domain1.com, which has a vpopmail domain part, i get the error message as described above. Doesn't make sense to me?

edit: i'll try to see if that script can sort things out.
edit2: I get the following when running test_installation.sh -doit:
Code:

server qmail-scanner-1.25 # ./contrib/test_installation.sh -doit
QMAILQUEUE was not set, defaulting to /var/qmail/bin/qmail-scanner-queue.pl for this test...
QMAILQUEUE was not set, defaulting to /var/qmail/bin/qmail-scanner-queue.pl for this test...

Sending standard test message - no viruses...
done!

Sending eicar test virus - should be caught by perlscanner module...
done!

Sending eicar test virus with altered filename - should only be caught by commercial anti-virus modules (if you have any)...

Sending bad spam message for anti-spam testing - In case you are using SpamAssassin...
Done!

Finished test. Now go and check Email for root@localhost


Seems to be good, but I don't get any email. But where should it deliver root@localhost, since I didn't specify localhost as a domain in vpopmail? Or is it supposed to handle localhost as local?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nazzy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ARRG!

qmail r16 has done something stupid with auth, and everything has gone fubar

Anyone else having this problem?
Anyone got a suggestion for a fix?




Please?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AxelTerizaki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If this is what I think it is, it got introduced in r15... There is a new USE flag "notlsbeforeauth" or something like this. Enabling it solved my auth problems with SMTP a few months ago when r15 got stable in the portage tree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AxelTerizaki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

petterg wrote:

Have you read the upgrade notes in the mysql doc? (I read those a while ago, and figured not to upgrade mysql on any productions server.)
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/4.1/en/upgrading-from-4-0.html


Yep, I followed the upgrade guide to the letter. Everything went smoothly with the upgrade, really, all my other apps (php, pure-ftpd, etc) work fine after reemerging. I did reemerge courier-imap, qmail, and vpopmail too.

Quote:
Have you tried to delete the vpopmail user in mysql, then rerun the grant commands and flush privileges?


I didn't delete it, but I've rerun the grant and flush statements yes. I'll try to recreate the vpopmail user but I doubt it'll really be useful: courier-imap works reall yfine with vpopmail and I can check all my mailboxes on the server without any noticeable problems.

The ONLY problem comes from SMTP right after MySQL's upgrade.
Of course, I'm tempted to downgrade to MySQL 4.0 but that'd be too easy, right? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nazzy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AxelTerizaki wrote:
If this is what I think it is, it got introduced in r15... There is a new USE flag "notlsbeforeauth" or something like this. Enabling it solved my auth problems with SMTP a few months ago when r15 got stable in the portage tree.


Actually it is enabled :/

I'm getting auth failed errors because, worryingly, it seems that vpopmail/qmail has lost it's concept of what email addresses and accounts there are ... result being that some emails are getting "No such mailbox" bounces :/



yet imap lets me login quite happily :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BlackB1rd wrote:
Seems to be good, but I don't get any email. But where should it deliver root@localhost, since I didn't specify localhost as a domain in vpopmail? Or is it supposed to handle localhost as local?


Gahh, Sorry.

You need to edit the script a litle.... line 112-113 (or somewhere close to those linenumbers) reads:
Quote:

echo ""
echo "Sending standard test message - no viruses..."


Right in front of those you should put a line reading
Quote:

RECIP="user@the_domain_you_want_to_test.com"


Save and run it again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desti²
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nazzy wrote:
ARRG!

qmail r16 has done something stupid with auth, and everything has gone fubar

Anyone else having this problem?
Anyone got a suggestion for a fix?


Please?!



Ditto :-/
I have downgraded to r15 and will stay there until someone found a fix. :oops:
_________________
Linux Users Everywhere @ climateprediction.net


Last edited by Desti² on Mon Oct 24, 2005 10:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nazzy wrote:
I'm getting auth failed errors because, worryingly, it seems that vpopmail/qmail has lost it's concept of what email addresses and accounts there are ... result being that some emails are getting "No such mailbox" bounces :/

yet imap lets me login quite happily :(


Try to telnet the smtp server. Try this both from the server localhost, from a pc with IP alowed to relay and from a pc NOT alowed to relay. Try it both with receiver adress being in your servers domain and some yahoo/hotmail/whatever adress you have. From localhost and allowed ip's it should work. For not allowed ip's you should only be allowed to send to your servers domain.

Code:

# telnet smtp.yourdomain.net 25

Here S: means you should type in. R: Expected reply
Code:

            R: 220 smtp.yourdomain.net ESMTP
            S: HELO your.client.isp.net
            R: 250 smtp.yourdomain.net

            S: MAIL FROM:<senders@address.tld>
            R: 250 OK

            S: RCPT TO:<user@recievingdomain.net>
            R: 250 OK

            S: DATA
            R: 354 go ahead
            S: Date: 25 Oct 2005 22:33:44
            S: From: John Public <senders@address.tld>
            S: Subject:  Testing smtp
            S: To: user@recievingdomain.net
            S:
            S: Some random text
            S: .
            R: 250 OK

            S: QUIT
            R: 221 smtp.yourdomain.net


What we are looking for here are error messages.

Oh, and also - you could try to create a new domain (don't need to register at any dns server). Give the new domain a user. Try to send mails to that user from webmail at localhost. Any errors while creating domain/user or sending mail?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nazzy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try this tomorrow ... I'll have to bind the server to a spare ip so it doesn't try downloading any of the mail thats queued remotely .... i had to take the server down to avoid loosing incomming emails :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m4chine
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 271
Location: Ventura, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

petterg wrote:
Oh, btw - which version of outlook and symantec AV did you use? Which version of windows and Office? Service Pack?


I tested this with:

Outlook Express v6.00.3790
Symantec Corp. 9.0.3.1000
Windows Server 2003 Ent. SP1

and I did not have Office installed on that machine. I have tested this on the full blown Outlook 2003 SB on client machines, but I don't have the computers in front of me for version numbers.

As a precaution I did turn off Internet Mail Protection on other AVs and have had no problems yet. I will post any more finding here when they come in.

Hope this helps someone.
Cheers,
_________________
never trust a man who can count to 1023 on his fingers.

-m4chine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nazzy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am currently considering abandoning qmail in preference of postfix in order to run VHCS control pannel :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petterg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 500
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

m4chine wrote:
I tested this with:

Outlook Express v6.00.3790
Symantec Corp. 9.0.3.1000
Windows Server 2003 Ent. SP1


Well, I think the bug was related to the outlook (express) shiped with Office XP (windows XP).

It should be fixed in 2003.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AxelTerizaki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, following my recent problems with the MySQL upgrade, I discovered that all of a sudden I could send mails to the server without SMTP-Auth... :/

So, basically if I disable SMTP Auth in thunderbird, I can send mails just fine, which is quite disturbing. Even relay works!

Though, I didn't touch my tcp.qmail-smtp file ever since I installed it. here is how it looks like now:

Code:
:allow,QS_SPAMASSASSIN="",RBLSMTPD="",QMAILQUEUE="/var/qmail/bin/qmail-scanner-queue"
194.242.112.151:allow,QMAILQUEUE="/var/qmail/bin/qmail-scanner-queue",RBLSMTPD=""


Technically, this allows relay from everyone, BUT, it wasn't working before if people weren't authentified, but now it doesn't ask for auth anymore!

Anyone have any clues?

USE flags for qmail-1.03-r16:
-gencertdaily -logmail +mailwrapper -noauthcram +notlsbeforeauth (-selinux) +ssl

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 2 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum