Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Ncurses console gui all messed up
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Godsmacker777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 205
Location: Fenway area, Boston Massachusetts :O)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 3:51 am    Post subject: Ncurses console gui all messed up Reply with quote

Hey folks,

So I've been poking around #gentoo and #gentoo-ppc a little over the last few days. I'm not sure if this is a ppc specific issue or just a general config problem..but either way, I thought I might have better luck here for now.

Ok..I have a 12" G3 iBook 500mhz, ati-r128 running gentoo-sources 2.6.12-r6. I have done a clean install..I noticed the problem just after I finished all of the install. X has not been emerged and I don't plan on it..so all of this is from the console.

Ncurses doesn't "look right." The character blocks that house the single pixel white border around windows are black instead of the blue (with the white border inside). I don't know if that really makes any sense; if there is a way to take a screenshot in the console I will definitely do so.

I'm not sure if this is a kernel/driver problem or general config. I have been through everything that I can think of. I can post my kernel config or any other needed files. Any help or direction is greatly appreciated..thanks guys

~Jason
_________________
Why must we hear what system you're running gentoo on, especially if all you've got is a measly gig of ram or 3gHz processor?

I want to see signatures boasting 25 cpu clusters and blade severs, or a big 'ole onyx..anyone running gentoo on an onxy??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you changed your console fonts?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Godsmacker777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 205
Location: Fenway area, Boston Massachusetts :O)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

per your suggestion I reset the console font (from in the kernel) from 8x18 to 8x8.

Loading the kernel and most of the way through init the font is 8x8...towards the end of init the font gets changed to 8x16..but that is nothing I changed - so I assume this was/is a default.


EDIT: Another piece of info - Ncurses based apps look fine through ssh. I don't know if that is because the settings on my workstation are being used and not those on my laptop.
_________________
Why must we hear what system you're running gentoo on, especially if all you've got is a measly gig of ram or 3gHz processor?

I want to see signatures boasting 25 cpu clusters and blade severs, or a big 'ole onyx..anyone running gentoo on an onxy??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Godsmacker777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 205
Location: Fenway area, Boston Massachusetts :O)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

::poke::
_________________
Why must we hear what system you're running gentoo on, especially if all you've got is a measly gig of ram or 3gHz processor?

I want to see signatures boasting 25 cpu clusters and blade severs, or a big 'ole onyx..anyone running gentoo on an onxy??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can reproduce this now in the console on one of my machines. Can you please make a bug in bugzilla?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Godsmacker777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 205
Location: Fenway area, Boston Massachusetts :O)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

YAY!!!!

I am so not crazy now!


ok sorry..I'm done now. Yes I will definitely post a bug report. I will post the bug # here later.

:O)
_________________
Why must we hear what system you're running gentoo on, especially if all you've got is a measly gig of ram or 3gHz processor?

I want to see signatures boasting 25 cpu clusters and blade severs, or a big 'ole onyx..anyone running gentoo on an onxy??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Godsmacker777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 205
Location: Fenway area, Boston Massachusetts :O)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I filed a bug report here: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=107235
_________________
Why must we hear what system you're running gentoo on, especially if all you've got is a measly gig of ram or 3gHz processor?

I want to see signatures boasting 25 cpu clusters and blade severs, or a big 'ole onyx..anyone running gentoo on an onxy??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cenrim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had an similar prob sometime ago, I think I simply downgraded ncurses and it looked fine again.. :oops: :wink:

for an (framebuffer)console screenshot you can use fbgrab

edit: typos.. *cleans up*
wait a sec, I reboot to gentoo.. needed airport


Last edited by Cenrim on Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Godsmacker777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 205
Location: Fenway area, Boston Massachusetts :O)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried reemerging ncurses. I'm pretty sure I actually updated it from the original install...so technically I have had the problem with 2 versions of ncurses, Ncurses-5.4-r6 (the current) and what ever I updated from.

This g3 uses the ati radeo r128..I'd be willing to bet this has something to do with it.


thanks for mentioning fbgrab..I'll check it out.
_________________
Why must we hear what system you're running gentoo on, especially if all you've got is a measly gig of ram or 3gHz processor?

I want to see signatures boasting 25 cpu clusters and blade severs, or a big 'ole onyx..anyone running gentoo on an onxy??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think it's the r128 since I can reproduce on a radeon. It could be an endianness issue with unicode characters, I'm building a test chroot without unicode now, I'll let you know if I find anything.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Godsmacker777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 205
Location: Fenway area, Boston Massachusetts :O)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my mistake..you said radeon to me, and I heard rage.

oh well..we'll see
_________________
Why must we hear what system you're running gentoo on, especially if all you've got is a measly gig of ram or 3gHz processor?

I want to see signatures boasting 25 cpu clusters and blade severs, or a big 'ole onyx..anyone running gentoo on an onxy??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum