Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] fix_libtool_files and libstdc++ problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zyzzyva100
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:27 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] fix_libtool_files and libstdc++ problems Reply with quote

So I must have inadventantly updated by default gcc, and during an emerge --update --deep --newuse world, I started getting compile errors.

Code:

libtool:link:  cannot find the library '//use/lib/gcc-lib/i386-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.5/libstdc++.la'
make[1]: *** [tifficc] Error 1
make[1]:  Leaving directory '/var/tmp/portage/lcms-1.13-r1/work/lcms-1.13/tifficc'

make: *** [all recursive] error 1

!!! ERROR: media-libs/lcms-1.13-r1 failed
!!!src_compile, Line 48, Exitcode 2
!!! emake failed


I figured that something was wrong with gcc itself, so I ended up migrating to gcc 3.4.4. Well, that worked fine, but I am still getting the same error. From what I have read around the forum, I just need to use the Fix_libtool_files.sh (or Fix_libtools_files.sh, tried both, neither work) in order to fix this problem. I am sure that the issue I am having is the same one described in a bunch of threads, but I can't figure out how to fix it.

I emerged libtool and it the script still doesn't work. I am running it as su from konsole, and I just get bash: command not found.

Anybody know how I can get this working so I can try to fix my gcc problem?


Last edited by Zyzzyva100 on Sat Sep 24, 2005 10:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2915
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:37 am    Post subject: Re: Fix_libtool_files.sh won't work, can't compile after upd Reply with quote

Zyzzyva100 wrote:
I just need to use the Fix_libtool_files.sh (or Fix_libtools_files.sh, tried both, neither work)

Neither work because neither are the correct command names.

Hint: In linux commands almost never ever begin with a capital letter.
_________________
Murphy's Law of Gentoo installation: If a compile can fail, it will.

MacGillicuddy's Corollary: At the most inopportune time.

Please search and read the FAQs before posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zyzzyva100
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, well chalk up the capital letter posted here to a typo, I was using a lowercase f when I actually tried it. I tried again just to me sure, it still doesn't work, still says command not found.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2915
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps, type in "fix" (without quotes) and then hit Tab 2 - 3 times, and see if something with "libtool" as part of the name turns up in the list. :?
_________________
Murphy's Law of Gentoo installation: If a compile can fail, it will.

MacGillicuddy's Corollary: At the most inopportune time.

Please search and read the FAQs before posting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chtephan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 266
Location: Offenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge -1 libtool

Unfortunately /usr/bin/libtool has a hardcoded path to libstdc++. Normally programs create their own libtool script but some packages use the one in /usr/bin. Perhaps fix_libtool_files.sh should also fix libtool itself, it currently doesn't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zyzzyva100
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm, ok so if I type in fix and tab, all I get is fixmswrd1 fixpackages.

I tried emerge -1 libtool again, and still nothing. Since my libstdc++ is screwed up is there anything I can do here to fix this?

Can I just rebuild the needed libraries? Or will emerge -e world do it (I already tried emerge -e system).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kallamej
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 27 Jun 2003
Posts: 4920
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zyzzyva100 wrote:
Hmmm, ok so if I type in fix and tab, all I get is fixmswrd1 fixpackages.

Did you do that as root? It's supposed to live in /sbin and belongs to sys-devel/gcc, at least for stable x86.
_________________
Please read our FAQ Forum, it answers many of your questions.
irc: #gentoo-forums on irc.freenode.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zyzzyva100
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I tried to run it from console as su, maybe thats the problem.

Or it could be because I am running the 2.6.13-r2 kernel. I will have to see when I get home from classes.

I suppose if this doesn't do it I will just reinstall and go back to the latest stable kernel. I can install and then emerge kde-meta overnight and be back and up and running by morning. In the end its not worth the time to save a 3 day old install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zyzzyva100
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, its fixed now. I just kept searching for different terms in the error and finally found the thread i needed.

What I wasn't aware of was the --oldarch option.

So what I needed to do was fix_libtools_files 3.3.5 --oldarch i386-pc-linux-gnu.

Solved going into title now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kallamej
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 27 Jun 2003
Posts: 4920
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zyzzyva100 wrote:
Well, I tried to run it from console as su, maybe thats the problem.

It is good practice always to use "su -", otherwise you don't get a proper root environment. Moving from Portage & Programming in favour of the FAQ GF18: Emerge fails after upgrading gcc. libstdc++.la missing
_________________
Please read our FAQ Forum, it answers many of your questions.
irc: #gentoo-forums on irc.freenode.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum