Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Did MSFT take over the Internet? Bad URLs goes to microsoft?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xtaski
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2004
Posts: 168
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 6:50 pm    Post subject: Did MSFT take over the Internet? Bad URLs goes to microsoft? Reply with quote

I accidentally copy/pasted this URL into a web page I wrote (obviously the double http://http:// was a typo when I copy/pasted):

http://http://www.gartner.com/DisplayDocument?id=406459

The Odd part is that when I clicked on the bad URL, www.microsoft.com came up?? What the heck? I'm using Firefox on Gentoo Linux... I can guarantee I do not have any preferences set to microsoft.com... Can anyone explain?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mnemia
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 476

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When a site isn't found in DNS in Firefox, it searches Google's "I'm feeling lucky" to get the site to go to. In this case, it is searching for "http". Try typing that into Google and you will see why it goes to Microsoft - they are the first search result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChristyMcJesus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried it. http://http//www.gartner.com/DisplayDocument?id=406459 returns no documents. http//www.gartner.com/DisplayDocument?id=406459 brings up an infoworld article.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monkeh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 1656
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends on your settings, both browser and DNS server. For me it just brings up a 404 from my router.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tln
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 1501

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a bit puzzled as to why a Google search on "http" would bring forth Microsoft.com as the first result...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Omega21
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 788
Location: Canada (brrr. Its cold up here)

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im very suprised that Mozilla decided (stupidly) to rely on an external source with their browser. I also am disappointed that they use
Google internally like that.. :(
_________________
iMac G4 1GHz :: q6600 //2x 500GB//2GB RAM//8600GT//Gentoo :: MacBook Pro//2.53GHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChristyMcJesus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Omega21 wrote:
Im very suprised that Mozilla decided (stupidly) to rely on an external source with their browser. I also am disappointed that they use
Google internally like that.. :(

Why? It's actually very convenient. I'm sure you can turn it off if you don't like it. I don't know where that setting can be found since I have never gone looking for it since I have never wanted to turn it off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtaski
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2004
Posts: 168
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so I get why this happened now:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=http%3A%2F%2F&btnG=Google+Search

Firefox automatically uses a google search for "http://"

I'm surprised microsoft.com shows up first - why? I would think Google/Firefox of all companies would not send everyone by default to microsoft.com...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LucaSpiller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Sep 2004
Posts: 188
Location: Censorship Land (aka England)

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to change what search engine it used have a look at browser.search.defaulturl in about:config.
_________________
:: Luca :: Mac Fag :: Original Macbook, 2g RAM :: Closet Linux user (seasoned with salt and pepper) :: C2D E4400 @ 2ghz, 4g RAM (only 3.2g detected under 64bit...), Nvidia 9600GSO ::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtaski
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2004
Posts: 168
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can figure out how to not use Google in Firefox but I don't want to ... I'm curious as to why Google points "http://" to microsoft as #1? It's not even "paid for"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hans0r
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 122
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

duh! because they invented the internet! :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mnemia
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 476

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't be suprised if it was because of those stupid looking pages that IIS sends by default for 404, 403, etc. They probably contain the URL (and hence the word http) and I think they link to microsoft.com (don't have one handy to check). That might cause them to get highly ranked by Google since those error pages are extremely numerous and spread out over a large number of different servers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amne
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 6378
Location: Graz / EU

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This has been discussed a couple of times, e.g. here.
Moved from OTW to Duplicate Threads.
_________________
Dinosaur week! (Ok, this thread is so last week)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum