Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
airport and conf.d/net[runlevel] [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1564
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:05 pm    Post subject: airport and conf.d/net[runlevel] [solved] Reply with quote

Hello.

I have setup a runlevel wlan-schanz with /etc/conf.d/net.wlan-schanz, which should be possible with the new baselayout.
But starting /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start doesn't work, because it's already up?
net.eth1 is a symlink to net.lo
Code:
net.eth0 -> net.lo*
net.eth1 -> net.lo*
I think this is becaue net.lo is already in the bootlevel.

The german forum told me, that maybe because airport was a pcmcia-device. Is it? lspci doesn't show the airport.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme


Last edited by Massimo B. on Sun Sep 25, 2005 7:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you run ifconfig is eth1 listed? ifconfig with no other paramters should show you the devices that are currently up.

Using a symlink to the network startup script is suggested (and not the problem) because the startup script should get the device name from the name of the symlink when it is started (the name of the called program actually.)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1564
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wrote an airport script, that is part of every wlan runlevel and starts before net.eth1.
As soon as airport is loaded, there is an interface eth1 and therefore net.eth1 doesn't start anymore.
I tried a workaround with net.eth1 stop right after loading the airport module.
but eth1 still doesn't come up.
Manually net.eth1 restart after rc wlan-... works so far.
Code:
depend() {
        before all
}

start() {
        ebegin "Lade Airport-Modul"
        modprobe airport
        eend $?
        /etc/init.d/net.eth1 stop
}

stop() {
        ebegin "Schalte Airport ab"
        iwconfig eth1 power off
        eend $?
        ebegin "Entlade Airport-Modul(e)"
        rmmod airport
        rmmod orinoco
        rmmod hermes
        eend $?
Code:
# tree /etc/runlevels/wlan-slscity/
/etc/runlevels/wlan-slscity/
|-- airport -> /etc/init.d/airport
|-- net.eth1 -> /etc/init.d/net.eth1

_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1564
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The second problem is:

Starting the runlevel for lan and wlan works so far and the IP settings are going to be set.
But the ESSID settings are not used.
net.wlan-schanz looks like:
Code:
config_eth1=( "192.168.10.22/24" )
routes_eth1=( "default via 192.168.10.200" )

key_bxgrbn="s:XXXXXXXXXXXXX"
essid_eth1="bxgrbn"

iwconfig_eth1="nick bxgrbn@gmx.de rate auto power max period 3"

No error message appears and IP is set. But the ESSID is wrong even after /etc/init.d/net.wlan-schanz.eth1 restart .
I have to do manually iwconfig eth1 essid bxgrbn , then the key also, and sometimes again the essid to get it working with the right accesspoint because there are others around.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1564
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Concerning this second problem:
Where do you put your WLAN-settings (such as ESSID, IP settings are working), when it doesn't care about my settings in net.xxx? I remember that it was working before the new baselayout with all it's changes.
Do I need to set the channel? I think ESSID should be sufficient.

What I noticed: When handling manually with iwconfig to set the essid and key, sometimes the essid is set and also displayed, but I can see on the signal level of wavemon that the wrong AP is connected (which has a different essid). If I enter essid and key several time again the levels are correct and I can ping through.
There are 3 different wireless networks around, with channels 1, 4, 6, 10(which is mine), so enough space between the channels.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using the new baselayout, there should be a file, /etc/conf.d/wireless change your settings there.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1564
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was not about the baselayout.
The solution was a new iwconfig, but emerge -au world did'nt inform me about that.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum