Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kdeedu is needed by something...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alienjon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1689

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 9:51 pm    Post subject: kdeedu is needed by something... Reply with quote

Ok, I tried posting this last night but I can't find my post now (I don't think it went through, for some reason) so I'll try again.

It all started at some point last week. I wanted to install a program (kstars) and check it out. Unfortunately I can't have that or it's dependency (libkdeedu) installed at the same time as kdeedu. Since I don't use those tools I just unmerged kdeedu and was able to install kstars and libkdeedu without a hitch.

Then I synced my portage tree (a few days later) and then went to update my system (emerge -uND world) but I get an error that kstars and libkdeedu is blocking kdeedu from installing (which it says it is going to do a new install from)

Since I want to do a --deep update I have a feeling that kdeedu is the dependency of something still installed on my system, but how do I find out what that program is? Maybe there's some way that I can tell my computer "No! Bad computer, don't install that!"

In case it helps at all, here's what I get when I 'emerge -uNDpv world':

Code:

Calculating world dependencies ...done!
[blocks B     ] =kde-base/libkdeedu-3.4* (is blocking kde-base/kdeedu-3.4.1-r1)
[blocks B     ] =kde-base/kstars-3.4* (is blocking kde-base/kdeedu-3.4.1-r1)
[ebuild   R   ] dev-java/blackdown-jre-1.4.2.02  +browserplugin -mozilla* 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] dev-java/blackdown-jdk-1.4.2.02  +browserplugin +doc -mozilla* 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] kde-base/kdeedu-3.4.1-r1  +arts -debug -kdeenablefinal -xinerama 0 kB
[ebuild     UD] media-libs/cal3d-0.10.0 [0.11.0_pre20050823] 0 kB

Total size of downloads: 0 kB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SinoTech
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 2579
Location: Neunkirchen / Saarland / Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use the "-t" switch to get a tree like dependency view. Then you should be able to see what package needs kdeedu as dependency.
The wholeupdate command should look like this
Code:

$ emerge -vptuDN world


Mfg

Sino
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
feivelda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 480
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can try a
Code:
emerge --update --deep --newuse --tree world --pretend --verbose

You should see what is causing the kdeedu package. If you don't need this, just unmerge the package needing kdeedu and check again.
You can also try a
Code:
emerge --depclean --pretend
and look if you need the packages specified there.
I think, you are trying to mix monolithic and meta ebuilds from kde.

Edit: Ok, someone was fast :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienjon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1689

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I tried the -t option but it wasn't very clear at first what the issue is, so I -uND every package except kdeedu to see what was left (ya, its a long way around, but I was curious :-p) Anyway, this is what my 'emerge -uNDpvt world' looks like now:

Code:
These are the packages that I would merge, in reverse order:

Calculating world dependencies ...done!
[blocks B     ] =kde-base/kstars-3.4* (is blocking kde-base/kdeedu-3.4.1-r1)
[blocks B     ] =kde-base/libkdeedu-3.4* (is blocking kde-base/kdeedu-3.4.1-r1)
[nomerge      ] kde-base/kde-3.4.1  -accessibility
[ebuild  N    ]  kde-base/kdeedu-3.4.1-r1  +arts -debug -kdeenablefinal -xinerama 0 kB
[nomerge      ] games-rpg/planeshift-0.3.011  -debug
[nomerge      ]  dev-games/cel-0.99_pre20050823  -debug +python
[nomerge      ]   dev-games/crystalspace-0.99_pre20050823  -3ds -debug +mikmod +mng +openal +truetype +vorbis
[ebuild     U ]    media-libs/cal3d-0.11.0_pre20050823 [0.10.0] -debug 0 kB

Total size of downloads: 0 kB


Does this mean that kdeedu is a dependency of kde? If so, do you have any ideas what I can do? (Or what I should do?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UncleOwen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 1493
Location: Germany, Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kstars is part of kdeedu. If you already had the latter installed, why did you install the former?

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/kde-split-ebuilds.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienjon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1689

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... You know, in retrospect it seems to have been a combined problem. I have a monolithic KDE installed (thanks for the link by the way :D) and didn't even know that there was a split ebuild. Because of that I did a search for kstars and saw that it wasn't installed (I can see now that if I had used the split ebuilds I would have known it was already on the system) So I now don't feel bad at all on taking it off and re-installing kdeedu once again (since it will be part of it)

On the other hand... I really like this idea of split kde ebuilds (not to mention that I would like to stay with the times, so to speak) so maybe I'll just forget about it and just unmerge kde and then emerge the split version this weekend.

I hear that unmerging kde can be a problem (I had a friend who had an issue with it) but if I have any issues that the forums can't already help me with, I'll post that separately from here.

Thanks again :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads in favour of GF8: Why is <y> getting pulled in when I emerge <x>?
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum