Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Update to libflac and failure of revdep-rebuild...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
robnotts
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 4:10 pm    Post subject: Update to libflac and failure of revdep-rebuild... Reply with quote

Did anyone else have problems with the recent upgrade of libflac, and the failure of revdep-rebuild to pick up the packages to rebuild that were linked?
It became apparent that something was wrong when kde failed to make lots of noises, and amarok stopped loading/playing.

revdep-rebuild asked me to rebuild these packages... sdl-sound, tunepimp, easytag, rezound, vorbis-tools... which I did... but still no sound from kde... and amarok still not working...

Going into /usr/kde/3.4/lib/, /usr/kde/3.4/bin/, /usr/bin/ and running ldd *, gave me these packages that would fail due to missing libflac... and these were not picked up by revdep-rebuild... akode, xmms, xine-lib, alsaplayer, juk, nautilus, kdemultimedia-kioslaves, kaudiocreator, amarok, k3b, sound-juicer...

Once all of these had been emerged, sounds were popping all over the place in kde!

Question... why didn't revdep-rebuild pick these up?

Rob.
_________________
---

Gentoo Phenom][ X4 955 on AMD790 + Geforce 220GT 8GB/1.75TB (Desktop)
+ MythTV (3xFreeview,1xFreesat HD) on 1080p
Gentoo Turion64 X2 Geforce 6150 2GB/120GB (Laptop)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I just noticed it with amarok. Recompiling amarok didn't help. Had to recompile tunepimp to fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knightperson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I ran into the same thing. Audacity was the first thing to crash, but re-emerging it seems to have fixed that problem. Re-emerging amarok, however, did NOT fix the problem. I did a search for libFLAC, and found that I have version 5 and version 7 installed, but amarok is insisting on version 6, which is missing. Creating a softlink from libFLAC.so.6 to libFLAC.so.7 seems to have brought amarok back from the dead, though.

About a week ago I also had scrollkeeper 3.14r1 (I think) fail. The temporary solution for that one has been to put that version of scrollkeeper in package.mask, but that's not a solution I'm thrilled about. Is it possible to get a slightly confused portage or compiler on my system that would account for this sort of behavior? Most other things happily update, but I've now had two fail in less than a week, and that's making me nervous.

Oh, system is X86_64, mostly stable, but I'm using 10-15 things from the unstable tree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

knightperson, did you recompile tunepimp?

My problem with amarok and libFLAC.so.6 was identical and that fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Erdie
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 2036
Location: Heidelberg - Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem with juk, oggenc, ogg123 concerning the libaries libOggFLAC,libcurl and libFLAC.
I fixed it by creating some symlinks in /usr/lib

Erdie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robnotts
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Although symlinks were an option, I decided to re-emerge the affected packages... but the question still remains... why did revdep-rebuild not pick these up? There was something similar happened with mysql, and mod_php for apache.

Rob.
_________________
---

Gentoo Phenom][ X4 955 on AMD790 + Geforce 220GT 8GB/1.75TB (Desktop)
+ MythTV (3xFreeview,1xFreesat HD) on 1080p
Gentoo Turion64 X2 Geforce 6150 2GB/120GB (Laptop)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because the idea behind revdep-rebuild is totally broken, it is as simple as this.
revdep-rebuild uses ldd, which spits out output, which is not the correct one for this sort of use. It resolves also some of the libraries on which the library in question depends. So in turn revdep-rebuild shows that sth is broken, which in fact is not true - simply because it is some of the dependant libraries, which are broken.
You could verify this with the help of readelf -d library and ldd library :)
btw I started coding sth as revdep-rebuild in python, but recently have not enough time to make it fully functional, as there are some quirks in the way the ldconfig handles some border cases.
_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knightperson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't need to do anything with tunepimp. Adding the symlink fixed the problem, but I ran revdep-rebuild anyway. It compiled two packages, but I don't remember what they were. The symlink was unchanged, but as long as that works I'm OK with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using symlinks is risky, simply because the versioning is there to show sth and this is that probably the libraries are not compatible. So it could work but it could break the things totally.
_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

knightperson wrote:
I didn't need to do anything with tunepimp. Adding the symlink fixed the problem, but I ran revdep-rebuild anyway. It compiled two packages, but I don't remember what they were. The symlink was unchanged, but as long as that works I'm OK with it.

I meant did you try it first before the symlinks.

Like Gergan Penkov said, although making symlinks does work sometimes, it is a hack and can cause problems later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knightperson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I hadn't tried recompiling tunepimp before making the symlink, as that's not a solution that occurred to me. Granted, making a symlink from one version to another is a hack, but I'm pretty new to Gentoo and portage, and I have no idea what the "official" fix is to a situation like that. Since portage is supposed to handle version conflicts and all, is there an official solution to something that officially doesn't happen?

I'm still hoping for some kind of explanation for why I've run into two emerges in the last week that failed to compile!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Portage is not supposed to handle this type of conflicts, it is revdep-rebuild, which should handle it. Although I've said that the idea behind revdep-rebuild is broken, it is for now the only tool, which could help you and I've spoken of some border situations so most of the time it will work ok. To say the truth it failed only two or three time for the last year and I'm using ~arch.
So your friend is after each emerge -uD world to run revdep-rebuild and not to wait till it is too late.
And I think if you have found a bug like this one, you could always post a bug report about it.
And I strongly recommend using stable till you feel comfortable with portage and the system administration :)
_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Erdie
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 2036
Location: Heidelberg - Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gergan Penkov wrote:
Portage is not supposed to handle this type of conflicts, it is revdep-rebuild, which should handle it. Although I've said that the idea behind revdep-rebuild is broken, it is for now the only tool, which could help you and I've spoken of some border situations so most of the time it will work ok. To say the truth it failed only two or three time for the last year and I'm using ~arch.
So your friend is after each emerge -uD world to run revdep-rebuild and not to wait till it is too late.
And I think if you have found a bug like this one, you could always post a bug report about it.
And I strongly recommend using stable till you feel comfortable with portage and the system administration :)


I do not use ~arch, but my dependencies were broken anyway. So what should I do until an "official" fix is out? Sometimes I need oggenc, which means I have to look for a workaroud. Therefore I created symlinks to the new version of libFLAC and it did work. Do I have another chance?

BTW: How can I prevent revdep-rebuild to reemerge my openoffice-bin everytimes?

Erdie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robnotts
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I sorted the openoffice one by emerging openoffice-bin-2.0... lovely program, providing you use USE="-java".
Rob.
_________________
---

Gentoo Phenom][ X4 955 on AMD790 + Geforce 220GT 8GB/1.75TB (Desktop)
+ MythTV (3xFreeview,1xFreesat HD) on 1080p
Gentoo Turion64 X2 Geforce 6150 2GB/120GB (Laptop)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
BTW: How can I prevent revdep-rebuild to reemerge my openoffice-bin everytimes?

There is a bug about this and the new version will correct this.
you could also run revdep-rebuild with the -pv switch to see what has to be rebuild but not actually rebuild it.
and as a solution I will take the Headrush's advice, but first remove the link.
_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fcgreg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 264
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 2:30 am    Post subject: Re: Update to libflac and failure of revdep-rebuild... Reply with quote

robnotts wrote:
Going into /usr/kde/3.4/lib/, /usr/kde/3.4/bin/, /usr/bin/ and running ldd *, gave me these packages that would fail due to missing libflac... and these were not picked up by revdep-rebuild... akode, xmms, xine-lib, alsaplayer, juk, nautilus, kdemultimedia-kioslaves, kaudiocreator, amarok, k3b, sound-juicer...

Once all of these had been emerged, sounds were popping all over the place in kde!

Thanks all for the thread. I was having these same problems and this set me on the right track.

revdep-rebuild was broken for me as well. Therefore, I had to use Rob's method to find the broken apps/libs. I checked/fixed them one-by-one so I could diagnose each symptom and its fix.

FYI: The specific app that was breaking all of the KDE system notifications (and related) was "kde-base/akode". The others apps Rob mentioned will most likely be broken as well, if you have them installed.
_________________
Greg T.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robnotts
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad to be of service... and glad it got you up and running again... I like these forums... you can usually find the answer to most problems...
Rob.

:roll:

PS: Early int he morning here... got to go and get turned into a pincushion by the doctors... may not be able to type later! :?
_________________
---

Gentoo Phenom][ X4 955 on AMD790 + Geforce 220GT 8GB/1.75TB (Desktop)
+ MythTV (3xFreeview,1xFreesat HD) on 1080p
Gentoo Turion64 X2 Geforce 6150 2GB/120GB (Laptop)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Erdie
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 2036
Location: Heidelberg - Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried Headrushs advice, but this did not help. At first i removed the symlink an i reemerged tunepimp. Unfortunatle no effect ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fcgreg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 264
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:15 pm    Post subject: Read the rest of the post Reply with quote

Erdie wrote:
I tried Headrushs advice, but this did not help. At first i removed the symlink an i reemerged tunepimp. Unfortunatle no effect ..

Headrush was addressing something specific... but that is probably NOT the only package you have to recompile. Please read the rest of this thread. The fix has undoubtedly been discussed already -- specifically by Rob and myself.

For example, from what you previously posted you will definitely need to recompile Juk as well. You'll also probably have to recompile "kde-base/akode".

If you do this and you're STILL having problems, then please tell us exactly what still isn't working for you.
_________________
Greg T.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robnotts
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally, I would recommend that you search through your bin/lib directories and recompile those packages that fail... try
Code:
ldd * | less

and search for found which will give you the library that failed, along with the program/library that would fail...

Creating symlinks whilst a temporary fix, may cause you problems in the future... but your risk I suppose.

Rob.
_________________
---

Gentoo Phenom][ X4 955 on AMD790 + Geforce 220GT 8GB/1.75TB (Desktop)
+ MythTV (3xFreeview,1xFreesat HD) on 1080p
Gentoo Turion64 X2 Geforce 6150 2GB/120GB (Laptop)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Erdie
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 2036
Location: Heidelberg - Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I have to go through all bin and lib dirs and seach for broken dependecies. My hopefully last question ist, how can I find out, to which package certain applications belong to? For example, I want to recompile oggenc but so far I do not know which ebuilt contains oggenc. Is there an easy way to find this?

thanks
Erdie
_________________
Desktop AMD FX-4300 12GB RAM, Asus GF GTX 650. Sound RME Multiface + PCI + Cardbus, 2x RME Quadmic, 1x Behringer ADA8000 + ganz viele Modellflugzeuge, ein Tandem, Rennrad und DFXL ;)
2x IBM Thinkpad T60
Zotag Mag Mini Atom
Raspberry Pi 1 + 2 + Zero W
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fcgreg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 264
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erdie wrote:
... For example, I want to recompile oggenc but so far I do not know which ebuilt contains oggenc. Is there an easy way to find this?

You bet... Use "equery", which is part of Gentoolkit (which is probably already installed on your system). You want the "equery belongs" command, which tells you which packages a given file belongs to from your filesystem. For example, to find the package(s) owning oggenc, you could run the following command:
Code:
equery belongs /usr/bin/oggenc

Which should produce something like the following output:
Code:
~ # equery belongs /usr/bin/oggenc
[ Searching for file(s) /usr/bin/oggenc in *... ]
media-sound/vorbis-tools-1.0.1 (/usr/bin/oggenc)


HTH.
_________________
Greg T.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Erdie
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 2036
Location: Heidelberg - Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot, this worked for me.

Erdie
_________________
Desktop AMD FX-4300 12GB RAM, Asus GF GTX 650. Sound RME Multiface + PCI + Cardbus, 2x RME Quadmic, 1x Behringer ADA8000 + ganz viele Modellflugzeuge, ein Tandem, Rennrad und DFXL ;)
2x IBM Thinkpad T60
Zotag Mag Mini Atom
Raspberry Pi 1 + 2 + Zero W
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Gentoo on AMD64 to Multimedia as this isn't specific to AMD64.
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pistos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 175
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just quietly mentioning that I had a problem playing audio with ogg123 (it complained with: "ogg123: error while loading shared libraries: libOggFLAC.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"). This thread helped me out: I used ldd on /usr/lib, /usr/bin, /usr/kde/3.4/bin and /usr/kde/3.4/lib to find my "not found"s, and equery to find the package for ogg123 (vorbis-tools). Re-emerging flac and vorbis-tools worked for me (I suspect I didn't need to reemerge flac).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum