Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
SELinux chroot failes with "Illegal Instruction"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pely
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:15 pm    Post subject: SELinux chroot failes with "Illegal Instruction" Reply with quote

Trying to install SELinux on a AMD K6-3 with 374 MB RAM.

Tried various kernels on LiveCD hardened-x86-2005.1.iso with stage1-x86-2005.1.iso (also tried stage2 and stage3).

I always get failing "chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash".

Are all the hardened stages unsuitable for AMD K6?

Is there an other solution then finding other hardware?

An ordinary stage1 gentoo installation works fine.

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-=GGW=- $ol!d $n4>|e
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you sure you made a /mnt/gentoo.. sorry for the silly question but a little more info is needed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pely
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot for your response!

I followed the handbook. And I have installed quite a few machines with ordinary stage1 gentoo so it's not unfamiliar to me.
To my knowledge the only difference with SELinux so far would be to mount the selinuxfs.

But yes I prepared the partitions with ext3 for /,
created /mnt/gentoo,
mounted /mnt/gentoo,
cd /mnt/gentoo,
downloaded and uncompressed stage1,
mounted /mnt/gentoo/boot,
mounted /mnt/gentoo/proc and
mounted /mnt/gentoo/selinux.

I am tempted to mount an even older pentium motherboard to have a go or is there an other solution?

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pely
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With a pentium3 it worked fine.

It is probably impossible to use hardened-x86-selinux-20050726.tar.bz2 for AMD K6-3!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grueni
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 4:15 pm    Post subject: Hi ! I'm having the same problem... Reply with quote

On a Pentium.

I think it's according to the libs out of the tarball.

When you try "/mnt/gentoo/bin/bash" - it works. (Then the "normal" Libs will be used)
When you copy the libs from /lib to /mnt/gentoo/lib - chroot works also - but it's a very crude try.

I think the Files from stage1.tar have been built with the provided CFLAGS "-march=pentiumpro" - and I can't get the reason, why they did it. Especially a stage1-Install could be nice with "-march=386" - so everybody could use it.

I now try to do a bootstrap on a different pc (a pentium4) - in a chrooted environment and to copy the binaries afterwards back to the pentium. Maybe the same could work for you ? My problem is, that I don't have selinux on the P4 - but I want to try it on the pentium. Would this work or am I just wasting my time ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grueni
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 4:17 pm    Post subject: Hi ! I'm having the same problem... plus a different one ;-) Reply with quote

On a Pentium.

I think it's according to the libs out of the tarball.

When you try "/mnt/gentoo/bin/bash" - it works. (Then the "normal" Libs will be used)
When you copy the libs from /lib to /mnt/gentoo/lib - chroot works also - but it's a very crude try.

I think the Files from stage1.tar have been built with the provided CFLAGS "-march=pentiumpro" - and I can't get the reason, why they did it. Especially a stage1-Install could be nice with "-march=386" - so everybody could use it.

I now try to do a bootstrap on a different pc (a pentium4) - in a chrooted environment and to copy the binaries afterwards back to the pentium. Maybe the same could work for you ? My problem is, that I don't have selinux on the P4 - but I want to try it on the pentium. Would this work or am I just wasting my time ?

Now to the different prob:
When using a "normal" Install-CD, you could provide "console=ttyS0,19200,8,n,1" to LILO. On the hardened-CD, this works /different/. You get ttyS0 as console - yes.. But you don't get a shell there (as in the "normal" Installation), so you've got to edit "blind" the inittab if you don't have a spare monitor (as me). I also don't get the point why this is changed from the "normal" Installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pely
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for trying so hard.
I gave up after succeding with the pentium.
The K3 is again stored away. I am sory I have no time to play with it right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads.
See https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-97894-highlight-chroot+illegal+instruction.html
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum