Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Botched Install on OldWorld, Can't Boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dgooding
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 2:31 am    Post subject: Botched Install on OldWorld, Can't Boot Reply with quote

I'm attempting to install 2005.1 on an OldWorld (PowerMac 7600/132). I booted from 2005.0 CD (after a bit of help) and was well on my way to that magical first reboot. Well, during the partitioning of the machine, following the instructions in the handbook (http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/2005.1/handbook-ppc.xml?part=1&chap=4#doc_chap2), I ended up with a partition scheme like the following:
Code:
/dev/sda1 - 32k - Apple_partition_map
/dev/sda2 - 512M - swap
/dev/sda3 - 16G - root

I was about to setup the bootloader when the machine froze during a compilation. I couldn't bring it back, my only option was to reboot. Well, because of the partitioning scheme from earlier, my machine is now a big paper weight. I can't boot from the LiveCD (as I need OS9/BootX to boot from CD) and I can't put OS9 back on the machine because I can't boot from the OS9 install disk (as I need OS9 to boot from CD). I don't have another Mac available. I've tried booting from the Debian floppies (boot.img and root.img) with no luck.

What do I do now?
_________________
-dustin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Syntaxis
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 511
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 3:20 am    Post subject: Re: Botched Install on OldWorld, Can't Boot Reply with quote

dgooding wrote:
I've tried booting from the Debian floppies (boot.img and root.img) with no luck.

You might want to elaborate a little. For instance, exactly what error messages did you get, if any? I'd also recommend asking the folks on debian-boot@lists.debian.org for assistance.
_________________
The Debian User Forums - help them grow!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dgooding
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No error. Just an "Ocean of Black".

Is there some magical key sequence I have to type for it to boot from floppy?

-dustin
_________________
-dustin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stimuli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was under the impression that booting up from the OS 9 cd was as simple as holding the C key on the keyboard?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dgooding
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, no.

The OS that is loaded sees that 'C' is being pressed and switches the boot sequence from the HD to the CD. Without the OS there to receive the 'C' key, it can't switch over. This supports the reason why OS9/BootX is needed to boot from the Gentoo LiveCD.

As near as I can tell, there is no hardware-only based way to make this OW PowerMac boot from something other than the primary hard drive.

Why is this so recursive? Back in the day, what did someone do when their HD crapped out on their OW Mac? Is it true what they say, "You can't upgrade/fix a Mac, just throw it away and buy a new one."

Anyone else know of a way?
_________________
-dustin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The OS9 install CD should boot on an OW Mac, it boots fine on my 8500. I'm not sure why yours isn't (is it a copied CD?), but this is the correct way to reinstall OS9 (hold down c and boot off of the CD.) Quik/miBoot boot an OW mac by pretending to be an OS9 System folder. BootX uses the running OS to bootstrap into Linux.

As for your problem, the older 2.4 kernel debian floppies should boot, but I haven't had any luck with the 2.6 floppies so that's why we don't have any for Gentoo yet.

Good luck.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dgooding
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not a copied CD. Right out of the box with the big orange '9' on it. It even says "To start up from this CD, hold down the C key as the computer starts up." But no luck.

I've tried the holding the following keys at power-on:
c ... boot from cd
apple + option + p + r ... reset PRAM
apple + option + o + f ... boot into Open Firmware
apple + option + shift + delete ... boot from something other than the startup disc (like a CD)

All these options did the same thing. Nothing. No changes on the monitor (that was previously working fine). The monitor isn't even getting a signal (flashing green light, not a solid one). I hear things spinning (CD, HD, etc) but nothing ever happens on the screen.

Am I doing something wrong?
_________________
-dustin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you get the flashing ? on a disk when you just start the machine? Or any other indication that there is something happening? If not, I'd suspect there's a hardware issue.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dgooding
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not a copied CD. Right out of the box with the big orange '9' on it. It even says "To start up from this CD, hold down the C key as the computer starts up." But no luck.

I've tried the holding the following keys at power-on:
c ... boot from cd
apple + option + p + r ... reset PRAM
apple + option + o + f ... boot into Open Firmware
apple + option + shift + delete ... boot from something other than the startup disc (like a CD)

All these options did the same thing. Nothing. No changes on the monitor (that was previously working fine). The monitor isn't even getting a signal (flashing green light, not a solid one). I hear things spinning (CD, HD, etc) but nothing ever happens on the screen.

Am I doing something wrong?
_________________
-dustin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you mean to post that again? :p
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dgooding
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, no. I didn't mean to post that again. I wonder how that happened? I don't remember hitting "back" and "submit" again. Whatever.

I get no flashing-?-on-a-disk, or anything of the sort on the monitor. The monitor isn't receiving a signal from the Mac.

In fact, I know the monitor is working because I'm using it right now on my x86 machine to type this. The PowerMac has one of those Mac-to-VGA adapters. It was working yesterday (before I reboot) and has been for forever.

I don't know what kind of hardware issue could have happened. I haven't moved/touched the machine other than the disc drive and the power button.

And like I said, I hear things in the machine spinning up (like the HD and CD) but nothing ever spits out to the monitor.
_________________
-dustin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidgurvich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are truly desperate...

Remove HD from your machine
Install in similar, working machine as 2nd HD
Install OS9 on your HD.
Reinstall in your machine.

Hope.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidgurvich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There appears to be a red reset button on the motherboard for some OW macs. Perhaps yours is one of them.
Press it with the machine on if you have one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stimuli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've installed new HD's on OW macs by putting in the (blank) HD and booting from an OS 9 CD, and using it to install an OS on the HD. Sounds like a deeper issue to me.

My vote is for a video card issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum