Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox 1.5 released
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ion Silverbolt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firefox 1.5 Does anybody notice the mouse cursors change to the default X11 theme while over a webpage area? Odd.

(Fixed. Looks like a GTK problem. I fixed it by editing the ~/user/.icons/default/index.theme file and setting the default icon set. )

[Icon Theme]
Inherits=pGentoo-24
Comment=Pinux's Gentoo cursors
Example=arrow


Last edited by Ion Silverbolt on Wed Nov 30, 2005 4:42 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boorad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone getting an MD5 error?

Code:

> emerge -a mozilla-firefox

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies   ...done!
[ebuild     U ] www-client/mozilla-firefox-1.5 [1.0.6-r5]

Do you want me to merge these packages? [Yes/No] y

...

!!! Digest verification Failed:
!!!    /usr/portage/distfiles/embed-typeaheadfind.patch
!!! Reason: Failed on MD5 verification

_________________
Mind the Gap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrApples
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2002
Posts: 511

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

boorad wrote:
Anyone getting an MD5 error?

same happened here, must be bad on the mirror

remove the file from distfiles and resync and itll be fixed
_________________
http://www.whatsinyourbox.org -- Technology discussion, news, and more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Read also the thread, created from anarchy - https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-403846.html for all this questions and problems around firefox:
anarchy wrote:
So we do not need another thread I would like to keep all 1.5 release info in one thread this will help those searching for solutions to problems they are encountering, while at same time gives us one thread to view for all our info. If everyone who is using or has comments would leave them here it would help me the most as I am one doing all portage bumps and fixes at the moment.

And there is an answer of course to this question, delete the patch from /usr/portage/distfiles/embed-typeaheadfind.patch and emerge.
Probably the mods should merge the threads:)
_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boorad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gergan Penkov wrote:
And there is an answer of course to this question, delete the patch from /usr/portage/distfiles/embed-typeaheadfind.patch and emerge.
Probably the mods should merge the threads:)

Ding, ding, ding. We have a winner. Thanks - I didn't see the other thread.

Cheers,
BA
_________________
Mind the Gap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ldoe3000
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 78
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Compiled fine, but for some reason it took two tries, plus I had to delete the patch mentioned above and re-emerge. It took about 20 minutes to compile everything. FYI
_________________
Athlon64 3500+ MSI Neo2 Platinum
2X74 WD Raptor Raid 0
2X512MB Crucial Ballistix
ATI x800XT PE (8.18.6)
SB Audigy 2 ZS
Dell 24" Widescreen LCD
Dual boot: Gentoo x86_64 2.6.13-r4 , Windows XP x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 992

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running it right now (in Win32). Seems really good. They definitely have improved the settings dialog. It's a lot easier now.

Cheers

mic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marcus0263
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 177
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BitJam wrote:
The Mountain Man wrote:
hb0mb wrote:
My laptop gets so hot when compiling I leave half of it hanging out my window lol. Otherwise I get temp errors from gcc.

Sounds like you need one of these. My wife got one last summer and it did wonders for her crash-happy Toshiba.

I just velcro'ed a couple of sticks of wood to the bottom of my laptop computer. This gives it about 1/2" of space underneath for airflow. I've also installed the Gkrellm fan controls and I have them cut in sooner than they normally do.

I got this which I was skeptical at first, but now believe it is a must have for any laptop user, especially if you run Gentoo.
_________________
Reject The Herd
"Where Thought Crime is Committed"
www.rejecttheherd.net
Gentoo Powered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ianwilder
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 121
Location: georgia.usa.earth

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone know what the crazy wide status bar at the bottom featuring a red carat is about?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thaswiftness
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2005
Posts: 34
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was having an issue with red carats and characters in general on several dialogs. Then I noticed that the previous version 1.07? was iconified. I closed it and restarted Firefox and all is working properly now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nbkolchin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 290
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just upgraded. new Firefox (Deer Beer) version is slow as hell. For example on gmail, at first lines appear, then text. Scrolling window toggles 100% cpu usage. This is unacceptible.

My configuration: AthlonXP 2500+, 1gb RAM.

[ebuild R ] www-client/mozilla-firefox-1.5 -debug +gnome +ipv6 +java +mozdevelop +mozsvg -xinerama +xprint

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Longfield
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 358
Location: Switzerland, Fribourg (la Glâne, les vrais)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrApples wrote:
boorad wrote:
Anyone getting an MD5 error?

same happened here, must be bad on the mirror

remove the file from distfiles and resync and itll be fixed


Same for me too, realy wrong on the mirror !

I removed the file, one emerge --fetchonly mozilla-firefox, one ebuild /usr/portage/www-client/mozilla-firefox/mozilla-firefox-1.5.ebuild and then it all went smooth !
_________________
longfield@swissjabber.ch
Cardinal powered !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:39 am    Post subject: Firefox 1.5 questions Reply with quote

So, assuming we manage to have Firefox e-build. (assuming i put firefox under ~x86)
We install it using emerge.
I gather firefox has an auto update feature.
Will we be disabling that feature in the e-build ? Any Firefox initiated updates would render the e-build corrupt (unmerging firefox would leave the newer files lying around)

By the way, do we have e-builds for Firefox extensions? How do we handle unmerging firefox, do we leave all those extensions lying around polluting our nice gentoo systems that we have worked so hard to establish?

Just curious.
_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonfr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1006
Location: Iceland

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did install new firefox version and it says "Deer Park" all over the place. Why is that ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Mountain Man
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ion Silverbolt wrote:
Firefox 1.5 Does anybody notice the mouse cursors change to the default X11 theme while over a webpage area? Odd.

(Fixed. Looks like a GTK problem. I fixed it by editing the ~/user/.icons/default/index.theme file and setting the default icon set. )

[Icon Theme]
Inherits=pGentoo-24
Comment=Pinux's Gentoo cursors
Example=arrow

Yes, I ran into the same thing and fixed it the same way.
_________________
I suck at signatures.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ctrl+Alt+Del
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 326
Location: .de

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

firefox checks all extensions for known issues at startup and deactivates them if there are any. No problem there, and since you don't emerge extension but install them from within firefox, it's not really a gentoo issue :) (they are stored in ~/.mozilla somewhere btw.)

Auto-Update will not work unless you run it as root, since your average user should not be able to write to /usr or /opt.
Not sure, but a binary installer should never install files into /usr/bin or /usr/share, only /usr/local since that is the place where you can place stuff that is not covered by the package mangement.
Unless the Firefox installer is created by a mental midget, there shouldn't be any problems, as long as your launch the executable with a full path like /usr/local/bin/mozilla-firefox.
The Only issue that could arise are profile corruptions, which in turn would be firefox issue, and not one gentoo has to deal with.

Hope that helped :)


Last edited by Ctrl+Alt+Del on Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:50 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sadako
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 3789
Location: sleeping in the bathtub

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not 100% sure, but unless you're actually running firefox as root, the autoupdate feature shouldn't have the necessary permissions to alter the files with the main install directory, only within your home directory.

That particular function has always seemed like a windows-only feature to me, but yeah, I do think it would be a good idea to have it disabled upon install.

edit: beaten to the post by a matter of seconds. Damn it. :evil:
_________________
"You have to invite me in"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ctrl+Alt+Del
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 326
Location: .de

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strike! 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meranto
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2005
Posts: 129
Location: Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just updated from 1.0.7 to 1.5 and if I try to launch firefox I get:

Code:
No running windows found
firefox-bin exited with non-zero status (1)


what is this?

I already restarted the pc and reemerged mozilla-launcher, but it didn't help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jernst
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:05 pm    Post subject: Fonts in slashdot are ugly Reply with quote

Hello,

Could someone explain me why the fonts used in slashdot look so ugly with firefox 1.5 ?
screenshot

They look fine in Opera and Firefox 1.07 and other websites look fine in firefox 1.5...

Any hint ? Do you experience the same issues ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamuru420123
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Oct 2005
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

meranto wrote:
I just updated from 1.0.7 to 1.5 and if I try to launch firefox I get:

Code:
No running windows found
firefox-bin exited with non-zero status (1)


what is this?

I already restarted the pc and reemerged mozilla-launcher, but it didn't help


Try renaming ~/.mozilla folder to ~/.mozilla-old and start firefox-bin again. Maybe some of the plugins and/or extensions of firefox-1.0.7 are conflicting with the new one.

Just did an 'emerge-webrsync' after a long time and 'emerge mozilla-firefox-bin'. Looks great. The switchproxy tool is no longer working (saying it doesn't support this version), but overall, feels great. Is it just me, or is the startup time less for 1.5?

Quote:
Just emerged Firefox 1.5...and it's called Deer Park?! What's up with that? Deer Park shows up in the title bar and menus!


Looks like they changed it ... I'm getting 'Mozilla Firefox'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ianwilder
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 121
Location: georgia.usa.earth

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

regarding the wide status bar and a red carat issue:

thaswiftness wrote:
I was having an issue with red carats and characters in general on several dialogs. Then I noticed that the previous version 1.07? was iconified. I closed it and restarted Firefox and all is working properly now.


nah, that wasn't it in this case... even started it as root once as i saw that to be a "solution" to some firefox 1.5 trouble. It's actually been happening ever since, i believe rc2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meranto
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2005
Posts: 129
Location: Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alamuru420123 wrote:
meranto wrote:
I just updated from 1.0.7 to 1.5 and if I try to launch firefox I get:

Code:
No running windows found
firefox-bin exited with non-zero status (1)


what is this?

I already restarted the pc and reemerged mozilla-launcher, but it didn't help


Try renaming ~/.mozilla folder to ~/.mozilla-old and start firefox-bin again. Maybe some of the plugins and/or extensions of firefox-1.0.7 are conflicting with the new one.


Unfortunately that dit not work, it does the same as root also
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasvk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 597

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems nothing but problems to me. Seems like I'm going to wait a while until it's all cleared out lol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

meranto are u using the mozilla-firefox-bin?
if so try the source-one as there are many critical patches, which did not make it in the final release.
_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum