Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Native Airport Extreme Drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 40, 41, 42  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're going to support the "debug" USE flag in bcm43xx, you need to check for DEBUG_FS.

My ebuild has:

Code:

use debug && CONFIG_CHECK="$CONFIG_CHECK DEBUG_FS"
ERROR_DEBUG_FS="${P} requires Debug Filesystem support (CONFIG_DEBUG_FS) for building with USE=\"debug\"."

_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, it'd be useful if you applied the /proc/net/wireless statistics patch - it's needed for some userspace tools.
_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, it looks like you forgot to build/install the crypt_wep module.

I've updated my tree to follow the gentoo.org ebuilds with all the above fixes.
_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Other than that, it works great - it gets a DHCP address a lot faster than the previous version. Thanks!
_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, those changes are now in the ebuild. If you've already installed this version, please re-emerge it to get the fixes. Thanks for the fixes ecatmur.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My card is a Broadcom 4306. It's a Compaq laptop. Any idea why the card might be resetting like that? The 20060105 driver didn't do that...

Here's my card: 00:09.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)

I synced and tried the new ebuilds...everything is working correctly there now. I got rid of my portage overlay. However, I'm still having the same issue with the driver. For the heck of it, I tried to associate with my neighbor's unsecured network...DHCP times out there just like it did with the older driver. If I try to associate with mine (WEP), bam, it dies as soon as I try DHCP or generate any network traffic, and I have to reboot to get another shot at it. Also, it looks like the /etc/init.d/net.xxx scripts are going to need to be modified. They do the scanning/association before bringing up the interface, which doesn't seem to work with this driver (though it does with ndiswrapper). So I have to do ifconfig eth0 up before trying to use the scripts. Any ideas? I'm lost here...I'm so incredibly close to being able to uninstall ndiswrapper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running baselayout 1.12.0_pre15-r1, and it brings up the interface before scanning. I have
Code:

sleep_scan_eth0="1"

in /etc/conf.d/wireless to make it wait one second to let the driver load firmware etc.

The one other thing I have had to do is add an iwconfig command to set the rate. My card (Airport Extreme, late 2005 iBook G4) gets very unhappy if I don't set the rate; it appears to associate but doesn't actually do so, and gives "SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such device" if I down and up the interface. I then have to reboot to get it working again; that's when it doesn't hang the kernel.

This is also in /etc/conf.d/wireless:
Code:

iwconfig_eth0="rate 11M"

_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like I'm going to need to update my baselayout...the problems you describe are exactly what's happening to me. If I do ifconfig eth0 up ; iwconfig eth0 essid linksys, wait for it to seem to associate, then dhcpcd eth0, it hangs and times out. If I bring up the interface and then use /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start I get the error you mentioned and have to reboot. All of the networks around me are 54g though, should I just set my rate to 54? Not all of the access points I use are 54, but my home one is. Don't have any more time to fool with this right now, time to go to work. I'll fiddle with it some more when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougthug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to compile the new ieee80211softmac so I can compile the new bcm43xx. When I try to emerge ieee80211softmac, I get:

Code:

* ieee80211softmac-0.1 requires that you disable the in-kernel version of the IEEE802.11 subsystem (CONFIG_IEEE80211).
* Please check to make sure these options are set correctly.
* Failure to do so may cause unexpected problems.
* Once you have satisfied these options, please try merging
* this package again.


When I run my genkernel with --menuconfig and try and set 'Generic IEEE 802.11 Networking Stack' to 'n', it does nothing. I can change it between 'y' and 'm', but not 'n'. I'm using gentoo-sources-2.6.15-r1. Is there a dependency I'm not aware of or am I trying to disable the wrong thing or what? Any help is appreciated. Thanks. Oh, and I pre-apologize if I'm posting in the wrong place :).

Doug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's strange...it sounds like you're at the correct option. I don't use genkernel so I can't really comment on that, but menuconfig let me disable that option. I'm using vanilla-sources-2.6.15.1. You are using a 2.6.15 or later kernel aren't you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougthug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I'm using gentoo-sources-2.6.15-r1.


...;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops...didn't see that. That's odd, it lets me disable that option, but like I said I don't use genkernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prometheanfire
Developer
Developer


Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 87
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was using gentoo-sources-2.6.15-r1 but just tried it with vanilla-2.6.15.1
I keep on getting an error in dmesg

Code:
bcm43xx: Error: Microcode "bcm43xx_microcode5.fw" not available or load failed.


I have the drivers in /lib/firmware
I have used the drivers that were used in ndiswrapper

lspci says my card is
Code:
03:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 03)


I used this driver http://www.linuxant.com/driverloader/drivers.php (the one on top, 64bit)

To anyone who has the same card in 64bit, do you think I can just get the firmware files? :wink:
_________________
-- Matthew Thode (prometheanfire)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dougthug wrote:

When I run my genkernel with --menuconfig and try and set 'Generic IEEE 802.11 Networking Stack' to 'n', it does nothing. I can change it between 'y' and 'm', but not 'n'. I'm using gentoo-sources-2.6.15-r1. Is there a dependency I'm not aware of or am I trying to disable the wrong thing or what? Any help is appreciated. Thanks. Oh, and I pre-apologize if I'm posting in the wrong place :).


IEEE80211_DEBUG, and the various IEEE80211_CRYPT_xxx depend on IEEE80211; drivers are IPW2100, IPW2200 and HOSTAP. Check you've turned all of them off.
_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any idea if specifying the rate will fix my strange problems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougthug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it, thanks to ecatmur's direction. Network device support -> Wireless LAN (non-hamradio) -> IEEE 802.11 for Host AP (Prism2/2.5/3 and WEP/TKIP/CCMP) needed to be set to 'n', then I was able to set Generic IEEE 802.11 Networking Stack to 'n'. My kernel is compiling now. Thanks a lot :).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougthug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it all working. Blows my mind away, but it's all working. Next step, make sure it keeps working :). After that, put WPA back in place on my wireless network. Good work to those who did it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ecatmur wrote:
I'm running baselayout 1.12.0_pre15-r1, and it brings up the interface before scanning. I have
Code:

sleep_scan_eth0="1"

in /etc/conf.d/wireless to make it wait one second to let the driver load firmware etc.

The one other thing I have had to do is add an iwconfig command to set the rate. My card (Airport Extreme, late 2005 iBook G4) gets very unhappy if I don't set the rate; it appears to associate but doesn't actually do so, and gives "SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such device" if I down and up the interface. I then have to reboot to get it working again; that's when it doesn't hang the kernel.

This is also in /etc/conf.d/wireless:
Code:

iwconfig_eth0="rate 11M"


No good here...the driver still crashes even if I set those two options and then run the net.xxx script. I'm still using the older baselayout...so I have to do ifconfig eth0 up ; /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start. The driver crashes when DHCP is attempted, and I can't raise the interface again (SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such device) without rebooting. Associating manually and setting the IP manually instead of DHCP also does not work, even with an unsecured access point. I'm very very far from having any type of wireless access with this driver so far...the only thing I've ever gotten it to do successfully is scan. I'm lost at this point, I guess I'm going to have to go back to ndiswrapper for awhile.

Additional note: Oddly enough, the crash only seems to happen if I'm connecting to my WEP enabled network. If I try to connect to my neighbor's unsecured network, with the options you suggested above, softmac just says authentication timed out, and DHCP times out...the driver doesn't actually crash like it does with my network.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Additional update: I updated my baselayout to the latest ~x86 version (1.12.0_pre15-r1)...now I'm not getting those strange crashes when I try to use the net.xxx scripts for wireless. I seem to be able to associate with access points now, I don't see any more errors in the kernel log. However, I can never actually communicate with anything. DHCP times out, if I set a static address, I get destination host unreachable if I try to do anything, so it's still not working...I can't think of anything else I can check. I tried all of your earlier suggestions.

Update: I did eventually get one error in the kernel log, from bcm43xx: Failed to suspend mac!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just installed the new ebuilds, and on-boot connection seems smoother now. An oddity though: KWifimanager icon shows permanently 'N/A' in the system tray. If I expand the app it shows all the essid, rate etc. info, though. Bizarre - more a problem with KWifimanager than with the driver though, I guess ;)

(Previously the applet icon used to flash constantly between 100% and 0% and sometimes 'N/A', if you were wondering)

Looks good so far. Now let's hope it's a bit better with the ad-hoc connections...


EDIT: Heck, I nearly forgot.... My LEDs are on! The Activity lamp is almost constant (rather than just flashing in sync with net activity), but I am seeing the occasional flicker in it. Bit of calibration required perhaps? But Good Work Fella!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wintrmute
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mthode wrote:
I was using gentoo-sources-2.6.15-r1 but just tried it with vanilla-2.6.15.1
I keep on getting an error in dmesg

Code:
bcm43xx: Error: Microcode "bcm43xx_microcode5.fw" not available or load failed.


I have the drivers in /lib/firmware
I have used the drivers that were used in ndiswrapper

lspci says my card is
Code:
03:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 03)


I used this driver http://www.linuxant.com/driverloader/drivers.php (the one on top, 64bit)

To anyone who has the same card in 64bit, do you think I can just get the firmware files? :wink:


It might not be the firmware that's the problem.
Check
emerge -avn udev hotplug coldplug
and install/upgrade any that it lists.

Then make sure that hotplug and coldplug are starting, too:
rc-update add hotplug default
rc-update add hotplug boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BennyP
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 497
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

will loading the firmware affect use of the card in os x?
_________________
Could it be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wintrmute
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BennyP wrote:
will loading the firmware affect use of the card in os x?


Nope, it'll be fine. The firmware is reset everytime you reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prometheanfire
Developer
Developer


Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 87
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

both hotplug and coldplug start and are updated.
_________________
-- Matthew Thode (prometheanfire)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akumadaimao
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:37 pm    Post subject: Broadcomm BCM4318 Reply with quote

Hi, I've read through this thread and everything else I can get my hands on regarding this card/chipset. It's a Belkin PCMCIA F5D7010 which, according to lspci, is ... well, here's the output:

lspci -vv:
Code:
02:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Belkin Unknown device 7010
        Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
        Status: Cap- 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
        Latency: 64
        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 10
        Region 0: Memory at 22000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]



I tried using ndiswrapper for days and days and had no luck, so now I'm giving the bcm43xx module a shot. Thus far I've had a lot more luck, but I'm still having a problem.

Preliminaries:
kernel: 2.6.15-gentoo-r1
bcm43xx: 0.0.1-r20060125
SoftMAC: 0.1-r20060125
Firmware: Extracted from wl_apsta.o v3.130.20.0

Obviously the card is recognized, and modprobe bcm43xx loads the module and brings eth1 into existence. I can do ifconfig eth1 up and both the lights (power and activity) come on. Using iwlist eth1 scan shows me my AP and once I have brought the card up and set the appropriate essid, I do iwconfig eth1 ap off and the card automatically selects the correct AP MAC and channel. Nothing unusual appears in dmesg.

So, everything ought to be working fine, but when I dhcpcd eth1, it times out and brings the card down. Using dhcpcd -doB eth1 does the same thing. I can set an IP address manually and ping it from within the machine, and I can route add default gw 192.168.1.1 as well, but attempting to ping 192.168.1.1 at this point results in a Destination Host Unreachable message.

Here's some relevant output:

dmesg (after running dhcpcd):
Code:
pccard: CardBus card inserted into slot 0
bcm43xx driver 0.0.1
PCI: Enabling device 0000:02:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:02:00.0 to 64
SoftMAC: Authentication timed out with 00:0f:b5:6e:c8:a6


iwlist eth1 scan:
Code:
eth1      Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:0F:B5:6E:C8:A6
                    ESSID:"midgard"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11bg
                    Mode:Master
                    Channel:9
                    Encryption key:off
                    Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                    Extra: Rates (Mb/s): 1 2 5.5 6 9 11 12 18 24 36 48 54
                    Quality=100/100  Signal level=-69 dBm
                    Extra: Last beacon: 20ms ago


iwconfig eth1:
Code:
eth1      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:"midgard"  Nickname:"Broadcom 4318"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency=2.452 GHz  Access Point: 00:0F:B5:6E:C8:A6
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=2346 dBm
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0



ifconfig eth1 (after trying dhcpcd, failing, and setting addr manually):
Code:
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:50:97:5D:BB
          inet addr:192.168.1.13  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:9 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:243 (243.0 b)  TX bytes:192 (192.0 b)
          Interrupt:10 Base address:0x8000


route:
Code:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth1
loopback        localhost       255.0.0.0       UG    0      0        0 lo
default         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth1


Not sure where to go from here. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions?

Regards,
Akuma
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 40, 41, 42  Next
Page 15 of 42

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum