Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Native Airport Extreme Drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 22, 23, 24 ... 40, 41, 42  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
worthawholebean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing changed with the patch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizard69
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 178
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I sucessfuly tested the broadcom driver with my Linksys WMP54G it works a charm at last i can stop using ndiswrapper. In favor of a proper kernel driver thx for the great work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nibiru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Try upgrading udev.


tnx but I have udev 087, it should be the latest stable. should I try an unstable one?

EDIT: I've put 090 and now it seems to work. Is that the best choice? ;)

thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

worthawholebean:
You applied the patch to the kernel driver, recompiled the driver, unloaded the old one and reloaded the driver? Are you sure you enabled debugging as suggested in the first post? If so, check your dmesg to see if the driver printed anything. If that didn't show anything, can you please provide the output of: lspci -vvn | grep -i 14e4

nibiru:
The udev releases are sort of tied to the kernel releases, so usually, upgrading udev when upgrading your kernel is a good idea. Glad it's working for you.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml


Last edited by JoseJX on Wed May 10, 2006 1:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cerberos86
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2003
Posts: 581
Location: Padova

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do bcm43xx driver and softmac work with WPA-PSK ...?
I can bring interface up and scan for APs but wpa_supplicant continue to connect and disconnect...

Thx u all
_________________
Account jabber: cerberos@jabber.org
"I'm using the hand..." ~ Guybrush Threepwood ~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nibiru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

nibiru:
The udev releases are sort of tied to the kernel releases, so usually, upgrading udev when upgrading your kernel is a good idea. Glad it's working for you.


I see, thanks.

I can't use the net.eth1 rc script anymore. I don't know why but dhcp just does not work early at boot.

I have to wait some time before it works. Then I can activate the connection manually or issue a:

Code:

/etc/init.d/net.eth1 start


I'll have to investigate ASAP wether this is just a matter of time or not...

8) 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grexe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 29
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 3:22 pm    Post subject: need WMP54G config Reply with quote

wizard69 wrote:
I sucessfuly tested the broadcom driver with my Linksys WMP54G it works a charm at last i can stop using ndiswrapper. In favor of a proper kernel driver thx for the great work.

Wow... lucky you:) Would you please share your kernel-config (PM me if you don't want to flood the forum) and explain what setup you use (versions, softmac/devicescape?, firmware?) as I have the same model but no luck sofar (I have the PC-Card-Version on PPC, did not yet try the PCI-Version on my x86-"server").

Thanks for sharing your success-story! :)
_________________
There are two states of gentoo boxes: compiling and turned off...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizard69
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 178
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Grexe i can't post you my .config at the moment because i am at work and my wlan box is at home but i am using vanilla-sources-2.6.17_rc3 with the new kernel driver and softmac from the kernel. I use ifplugd to bring up the device in my case eth2 and i used the Linksys firmware from my windows driver. I haven't tried WPA with the driver yet. But i successfully connected to a nearby AP without encryption and downloaded a few 100 megs. And kismet + airodump also worked with the driver in monitor mode. The only log messages by the driver were that my firmware is to old i was thinking of changing it tonight to a more recent version from linksys. And i still need to test WPA supplicant this week. If you need more infos PM me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toufou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 326

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi

I did exactly things like is write in the first page (ibook 1.2 acces point linksys wap54G)

everything is working until dhcpcd

iwconfig give me:
Code:
eth0      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:"linksys"  Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency=2.437 GHz  Access Point: Invalid
          Bit Rate=11 Mb/s   Tx-Power=15 dBm
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


iwlist eth0 scan
Code:
eth0      Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:16:B6:4F:4C:B1
                    ESSID:"linksys"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                    Mode:Master
                    Channel:11
                    Encryption key:off
                    Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                    Extra: Rates (Mb/s): 1 2 5.5 6 9 11 12 18 24 36 48 54
                    Quality=100/100  Signal level=-164 dBm
                    Extra: Last beacon: 33ms ago


my /var/log/messages give me, when I do ifconfig eth0 up
Code:

May 10 13:59:00 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: PHY connected
May 10 13:59:01 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: Radio turned on
May 10 13:59:01 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: Chip initialized
May 10 13:59:01 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: DMA initialized
May 10 13:59:01 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: 80211 cores initialized
May 10 13:59:01 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: Keys cleared


with dhcpd eth0
Code:

May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: Radio turned off
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: DMA 0x0200 (RX) max used slots: 0/64
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: DMA 0x0260 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: DMA 0x0240 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: DMA 0x0220 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook dhcpcd[8929]: timed out waiting for a valid DHCP server response
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: DMA 0x0200 (TX) max used slots: 0/512


I use the firmware wl_apsta
My connection is open in managed mode

and lsmod:
Code:
# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
eth1394                22596  0
sungem                 37604  0
sungem_phy             10112  1 sungem
ohci1394               41520  0
ieee1394              118512  2 eth1394,ohci1394
bcm43xx               446292  0
ieee80211softmac       38112  1 bcm43xx
ieee80211              56244  2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac
ieee80211_crypt         7840  1 ieee80211



what's wrong with me ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dontpanic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

toufou wrote:
hi

I did exactly things like is write in the first page (ibook 1.2 acces point linksys wap54G)

everything is working until dhcpcd

....

with dhcpd eth0
Code:

May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: Radio turned off
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: DMA 0x0200 (RX) max used slots: 0/64
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: DMA 0x0260 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: DMA 0x0240 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: DMA 0x0220 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook dhcpcd[8929]: timed out waiting for a valid DHCP server response
May 10 14:02:27 Mathieu-ibook bcm43xx: DMA 0x0200 (TX) max used slots: 0/512


I use the firmware wl_apsta
My connection is open in managed mode


same problem for me.
everything seems to be working fine, but i can't get an IP adress by dhcpcd. I am using the Broadcom 4311 chipset (Dell Inspiron 6400) using the kernel 2.6.17-r3 kernel including the PiranhaP.patch.

any ideas?

dmesg, iwconfig, iwlist ... output ist analog to toufou's posting (only difference ist the 4311 instead of 4306 chipset), no need to repeat it i think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the looks of it, neither of you has actually associated. You can't use dhcp unless you've associated. If you have softmac debugging turned on, you'll see something like this when you associate:

Quote:

SoftMAC: Associate: Scanning for networks first.
SoftMAC: Start scanning with channel: 1
SoftMAC: Scanning 14 channels
SoftMAC: Scanning finished
SoftMAC: Queueing Authentication Request to 00:0c:41:d6:72:ae
SoftMAC: cannot associate without being authenticated, requested authentication
SoftMAC: Sent Authentication Request to 00:0c:41:d6:72:ae.
SoftMAC: Open Authentication completed with 00:0c:41:d6:72:ae
SoftMAC: sent association request!
SoftMAC: associated!


If you don't see this, you're not actually connected, tools like dhcp won't work.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toufou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 326

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't understand "you're not associated" (I'm french so maybe problem is here ;))
associated with what ?
what's wrong ? what can I do to reapair it ?

@+
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fugee47
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 196
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 2:51 pm    Post subject: wpa-psk Reply with quote

i have the bcm43xx with wpa-supplicant working.
When i just load the modules and start wpa_supplicant, it looses connection after some time, but after setting the device to 11M it works without these disconnects. :D :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
e-ipi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

toufou wrote:
I don't understand "you're not associated" (I'm french so maybe problem is here ;))
associated with what ?
what's wrong ? what can I do to reapair it ?

@+
.


Your wireless card and your router haven't established a connection. Try diffferent rates:

Code:
/sbin/iwconfig eth1 channel X rate 9M essid "nimportequoi"


Check with dmesg for messages like this:

Code:
 ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth1: link becomes ready


if you don't see a message like that, try again, but with a slower rate, or perhaps move your ibook closer to your router, or take your router out of that metal filing cabinet the cat knocked it into. (From what you posted, these don't seem to be your problem, but sometimes cats and spouses can cause mysterious difficulties.)

But... lately I find that dhcpcd ethX sometimes doesn't work even when I'm associated. (I'm using the drivers in 2.6.17-rc3) In these cases, I remove the bcm43xx and softmac modules and then re-insert them. That has worked every time -- so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marvin5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 162
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I am having serious trouble to get the WLAN running. I tried different firmware versions but nothing really seems to help. When I load the module, everything looks fine (I think):
dmesg:

bcm43xx driver
PCI: Enabling device 0001:10:12.0 (0004 -> 0006)
bcm43xx: Chip ID 0x4306, rev 0x2
bcm43xx: Number of cores: 6
bcm43xx: Core 0: ID 0x800, rev 0x2, vendor 0x4243, enabled
bcm43xx: Core 1: ID 0x812, rev 0x4, vendor 0x4243, disabled
bcm43xx: Core 2: ID 0x80d, rev 0x1, vendor 0x4243, enabled
bcm43xx: Core 3: ID 0x807, rev 0x1, vendor 0x4243, disabled
bcm43xx: Core 4: ID 0x804, rev 0x7, vendor 0x4243, enabled
bcm43xx: Core 5: ID 0x812, rev 0x4, vendor 0x4243, disabled
bcm43xx: Ignoring additional 802.11 core.
bcm43xx: PHY connected
bcm43xx: Detected PHY: Version: 1, Type 2, Revision 1
bcm43xx: Detected Radio: ID: 2205017f (Manuf: 17f Ver: 2050 Rev: 2)
bcm43xx: Radio turned off
bcm43xx: Radio turned off

However, if I then try to do ifconfig eth1 up, I get a kernel panic.
I am using vanilla-sources-2.6.17_rc3 on a 12" PowerBook 867 MHz.

Thanks!

marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you take a photo of the kernel panic or transcribe it somehow?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marvin5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 162
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Can you take a photo of the kernel panic or transcribe it somehow?

A photo is here:
http://www.rimon.de/temp/panic.jpg
Thanks in advance!

marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toufou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 326

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi

ok, it's working for me

e-ipi, i try with alls channels but no more so, i remember that my acces point is in G only. I change it and.. it's good.

Thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

marvin5:
That should be fixed in _rc4 by this netdev patch: "re: Machine check in bcm43xx_phy_initg"

It was a bug in the specs and is fixed now.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marvin5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 162
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:

That should be fixed in _rc4 by this netdev patch: "re: Machine check in bcm43xx_phy_initg"

Thanks a lot! Going to give it a try as soon as it hits the portage tree.

marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can try renaming the _rc3 ebuild _rc4, that usually works.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marvin5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 162
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, thanks a lot, everything is working fine now (with wpa_supplicant btw).
Now if someone can get nvidia to publish a driver for ppc, I can finally throw Mac OS X away :-)

marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GNUtoo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 1919

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are the firmware open-source? or is there any open-source firmware?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

marvin5:
I can't help you there, but there is a new project called nouveau (http://nouveau.sourceforge.net/) which looks promising.

new_to_non_X86:
No, there is no open-source firmware. The "firmware" consists of a bunch of initial values and a MIPS derivative for programming a broadcom custom DSP. It is unlikely that we'll work on the DSP since it would be extremely difficult and time consuming. That said, the only real issue with firmware right now is redistributing it (which we can't). It's already cross platform (it doesn't run on your computer, it's uploaded to the card) and easy to get (read the README).
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GNUtoo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 1919

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so my memory is very bad
i thoat having seen a firmware in portage

by the way some such as the prism have open-source firmware(so they can program the chip)
http://prism54.org/freemac.html
this has lend to project like this one:
http://prism54.org/mustumbler.html

I do not know a lot about wireless card but you seems to say that a proprietary firmware isn't a risk for my privacy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 22, 23, 24 ... 40, 41, 42  Next
Page 23 of 42

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum